We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Hotel Kugel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kugel
Ranked #95 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

An older hotel but full of character with great (and very personable) service from the staff at the front desk; they always had maps and travel guides on hand to make recommendations, give directions, or look something up for you. A nice breakfast room and the food was fresh and filling. The room itself was actually quite big with big windows and bright light. The bathroom was decent; not huge, but clean. The tram runs right in front of the hotel with stops near-by, but noise wasn't a problem. The hotel itself is just a short ride (or walk) from the museums and palace. Decent price too. One drawback: No wi-fi. To use my computer, I had to go down to the dining room, wait in line with some other guests, and hook up to their land line.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDTrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABC2412, Manager at Hotel Kugel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear guests! Thank you for for your pleasent words and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
As we are a historic building installing WIFI was not so easy for us but we are now proud to say that the whole hotel and all rooms and facilities are fully equipped with our high speed WLAN/WIFI connection! And this all is free of charge!
We are sorry that this service was not yet accessable in October 2011 but we do hope that on your next trip you pass by Hotel Kugel and enjoy WIFI for free!
All the best,
Christina from the Hotel Kugel

Liebe Gäste!

Wir freuen uns, Ihnen mitteilen zu dürfen, dass wir seit 1. Jänner 2012 im gesamten Hotel und in den Zimmern kostenfreies WLAN anbieten können!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    133
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
57
206
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It was quite nice to stay in this family-run place. Definitely not a chain-hotel; more like a B&B! The breakfast was very nice. Very good front desk staff, especially Alexander who went out of his way to be helpful and accommodating. I like the location since it was convenient to take public transportation. Too bad the wifi only worked in the lobby area -- so i used my iPad there! I would stay there again despite the tiny bathroom!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beebahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this hotel. Rooms are nicely decorated.....very European. There is a tram that runs on the street outside the hotel, so can be a bit noisy. It does not run all night however. Owner & staff are very helpful. Made suggestions on what to see & how to get there. Recommended excellent restaurant for schnitzel. Nice breakfast room with more than adequate breakfast. Hotel was a little further from centre of Vienna than we had hoped, but 20 minute walk was fine in the nice weather. No WIFI......would have been nice.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are 'hostel-like'. May want to request upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annonymous46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed here for a three nights in September. The positives: good value, excellent location, helpful staff and good buffet breakfast. The negatives: no wi-fi access and can be noisy (trams ran from about 0530 - 2300 most days). The hotel rooms seem a little worn but not uncomfortable. Overall good value and location, but no wi-fi access was a real irritant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baldman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed for five nights in July. Staff was great. Breakfast was solid. Room was spacious and clean. Some areas of the hotel could use some renovation; starting to look and feel worn out. Some street/tram noise but tolerable. Easy walk to Mariahilferstrasse, Museum Quarter, and the Hapsburg sites. Would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in Room 339, which was definitely not as nice as the photos make canopy rooms out to be on the website. The problem with putting such lovely looking rooms online is that people may feel let down when they arrive and find that theirs looks nothing like what they have seen. Overall our room looked a bit tired. We did have a four poster bed, made of metal rather than wood. The beige carpet looked rather tired with some stains. The wall paper didn't match the rest of the room and paint was peeling off the windowsills. All of this would have been fine if we hadn't been expecting a room looking like, for instance, numbers 223/233/346 etc on the website. To avoid disappointment of customers, I think it may be an idea to have photos of every room available on the website - and realistic ones without the soft fuzzy lighting. I suspect we may have been unlucky with the room as other reviewers here don't seem to have had the same experience as us.

Overall I would describe our stay as functional rather than enjoyable. Breakfast was adequate.

Pros:
* Walking distance to Museum Quarter
* Tram stop right outside and less than 10 minute walk to U-Bahn.
* Very friendly and helpful reception staff.

Cons:
* Very hard beds - this of course is personal preference but my mum and I found them rather uncomfortable. However the young man on reception found us two extra quilts that we slept on, which helped.
* Downside of tramstop being so near is the noise. We were in a room facing onto the road and were expecting city noise. Due to lack of AC we had the window open all night as well. Buses and trams seem to run for most of the night - great for getting around but not so good for trying to sleep! I used earplugs and could still hear them. We did still manage to sleep (my mum even without ear plugs somehow) but I would definitely recommend asking for a room off the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank WanderingLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Clean, tidy room within walking distance of all Vienna sights. Great value. Breakfast was magnificent. Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Secure parking nearby.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomadAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 361 in Vienna
600 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#92 of 361 in Vienna
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#43 of 361 in Vienna
402 reviews
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#96 of 361 in Vienna
595 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#22 of 361 in Vienna
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kugel

Property: Hotel Kugel
Address: Siebensterngasse 43, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Vienna
#32 Family Hotel in Vienna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kugel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever slept in one of the cozy romantic canopy bedrooms at Hotel Kugel in Vienna? Have you ever tried its regional, organic-breakfast in the bright breakfast room? Have you ever strolled around Hotel Kugel to explore many little shops and restaurants? No? Then it's definitely time to come over! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kugel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing