We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Vienna”
Review of Mailberger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mailberger Hof
Ranked #170 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Real Vienna”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Central location in a quiet street just off the main shopping area and close to the Opera. Great breakfast suitable for all tastes is served next to the pleasant courtyard. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a traditional feel. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    103
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
34
115
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

A little run down yet centrally located on a narrow and quiet street between two major streets – very convenient walking distance to most attractions. Were upgraded to a roomy suite. Lack of A/C could be a problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IZB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is in a great location in the Inner Ring of Vienna. Quite lane off of the main Stephensdomplatz. The room is reasonably roomy with a small, but nice courtyard on the inside of the hotel. Breakfast is top notch with complimentary Champagne and multiple choices of breads and meats. European breakfast in a nutshell!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derodenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great service, very friendly staff, great breakfast...
Despite the earlier reviews the hotel was a pleasant surprise. Located minutes from old Vienna centre with all that it has to offer.
One minor issue was parking - not possible on site.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriceaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

What a lovely hotel and what friendly staff. They could not do enough for us. Our rooms were spacious and rather than being described as shabby, they were decorated in smart antique old viennese style. We had mini bar and well equiped bathroom with hairdryer.
The air conditioning unit although portable and extracted through the window worked well. It was over 32 degrees daily during our stay and it worked well. The lift although small worked well. The staff in particular Mark, stephen and I think the young lady was called Katherine could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was eaten either in the dining room or when warm, which was almost daily in the courtyard was deliciious, always fresh, The scrambled eggs were just cooked enough so that when they were left in the chaffing dish they did not end up as rubber frisbys. This is a big thing for me as I hate well done eggs. This is a lovely old world hotel right in the middle of the city within walking distance of historic Vienna. Parking is not difficult at the end of the street and you can get parking permits from the hotel. We would love to visit this hotel and Vienna again soon.

Room Tip: If you like old world Vienna in the centre of town this is the hotel for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuStrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I've booked a standard double room with breakfast and the hotel gave me an apartment which is massive and very comfortable.The hotel has a great location, just a minute walk to Stephansplatz and Opera. The breakfast served in the hotel was excellent even it had Moet Champagne...I recommend everyone this hotel without any hesitation...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anil_talasli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We chose Hotel Mailberger Hof as it was in the very heart of the old town in Vienna. Our plans kept on changing for Vienna but we were sure that we wanted to spend near Stephenplatz, for whatever time that we get.

This family run hotel is well located in the pedestrian zone of Vienna and only 5 mins walking distance from the Opera-House and the St Stephen’s cathedral. The hotel’s history dates back to the 14th century. Originally the house was composed of two gothic, gable houses which in the 17th century were converted to a small boroque palace complete with horse stables, coach-house and it’s own chapel. It used to be owned by the Knights during this period and later on in 1976, this was converted into a first class hotel. The entire building is now classified as a historical monument and is under preservation order. To our liking, we found the furnitures and decor very artistic in nature. It gave us a feeling that we are really staying in Vienna as the decor was made typically in Viennese style. The breakfast was sumptuous and service up to the mark. We do not mind staying in the same hotel if we ever go back to Vienna.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anindo_Aditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#188 of 360 in Vienna
395 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#73 of 360 in Vienna
689 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mailberger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mailberger Hof

Property: Mailberger Hof
Address: Annagasse 7, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#122 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mailberger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 14th-century building in a quiet side street of the Karnterstrasse shopping street, the family-run Hotel Mailberger Hof is located in the heart of Vienna. A Nespresso coffee machine is available in the lounge for free. This baroque-style non-smoking hotel offers individually designed rooms with many amenities, including a minibar and a safe. Some rooms have air conditioning, while the others feature mobile air conditioners. In fair weather, you can have breakfast in the peaceful courtyard. Free WiFi is available in the entire building. The Graben and Kohlmarkt shopping streets, St. Stephen's Cathedral, and 2 underground stations, are only a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mailberger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mailberger Hof Vienna
Mailberger Hof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing