We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location, friendly, efficient staff. Great value”
Review of Schweizer Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schweizer Pension
Ranked #14 of 115 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is our second time to stay at this pension, the last time 5 years ago, both trips were for New Years, and we stayed a week each time. The hotel is run by Anita and her son, Gerald. They are both friendly, helpful with ideas for things to do in Vienna. They gave us explicit instructions by email for travel from airport to hotel, and Anita was here to meet us when we arrived around 8:00 p.m. The room is very spacious, beds are comfortable with down comforters and pillows. We appreciated the free WiFi, and the small bottle of sparkling wine with 2 glasses and a card left for us on New Years Eve. Price is very reasonable, a short 10 minute walk to the center of Old Vienna, close to Ubahn trains, and bus to airport.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DollyG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Schweizer Pension
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

The pension was in a great location. It is also just a short walk from the metro station. The Schweizer Pension website gives amazing directions to this place from the metro station. Considering the central location of this place, it is a good deal. The family who runs this place is very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was amazing!!! The only flaw was our toliet in the room. It smelled so bad that I would rather prefer to use a public bathroom. :( Other than the bathroom situation, this place was good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here here Nov.12-14. Finding the pension is easy as it is near the center of the old town. Gerald met us and showed us the room which was spacios with high ceilings and great windows looking out on the street. we faced west which let in a lot of light but I see it could be hot in the summer. The bathroom is small as it is an add on, but we've stayed in smaller. Anita was not here but Gerald more than answered any questions we had. I'd say the breakfast is above average. There is a book of rules you must abide by, but most are just common sense and not a problem. We had 2 very quiet,restful nights.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank columbusJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Schweizer Pension for three nights in early October 2011, and we loved it! Our time in Vienna was part of a two week tour of Europe, and Schweizer Pension was by far the nicest place we stayed. We were greeted warmly by Anita, who made sure we had information to help us with our stay. The also offer a laundry service, which was very nice, as it was the mid-way point on our trip. The room was huge with lots of storage space for our things. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the bathroom/shower were small but adequate for us. I think that there was some type of restaurant or bar down below our room, because on the weekend nights we were there, it was pretty loud out on the street until pretty late at night. Breakfast was good--traditional Viennese (cheese, bread, jam, tea or coffee) and very adequate for us. One morning we took a day trip to Salzburg and left the Pension before breakfast. We mentioned this to Anita the day before, and she packed us breakfast to take with us on the train! Free wifi is also available and subway and tram stop is nearby. Appreciated the lift in the building after days of much walking. Klaus was extremely helpful in getting us to the airport early in the morning--he directed us to a nearby bus stop which is serviced by a nice and affordable coach which goes directly to the Vienna airport. Overal loved our experience at Schweizer Pension!

Room Tip: May want to ask for room off the street if noise is an issue for you
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We were guests for three nights at the Schweizer Pension in September and were very pleased with our choice. Our room was huge, the largest one we stayed in during our European trip and extremely clean. The weather was very warm upon arrival and we were aware there was no air conditioning but by simply asking, Klaus immediately brought in a fan which we found made the room very comfortable. The breakfasts were very nice and Klaus was very helpful offering suggestions on where to eat which proved to be spot on. The location, as others have said is terrific and we found the price very reasonable for Vienna. I would definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wheretogonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This pension is very clean and is in an extremely convenient location. All of the city-center sights are within walking distance, and the underground is within easy walking distance also. The old building has a real Viennese feel. The Klaus family (mother and son) are very nice and helpful. The breakfast is good, with excellent quality breads, marmalade, cheeses, etc. We had a large double room with bath that is very comfortable, although the street noise (late night bar patrons) on that side can be annoying if the temperature requires the windows to be open. With the windows closed, the noise goes away. The price is reasonable for a good place in the 1st District. All in all, this is a good choice in Vienna.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdtravelers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We found the twin room facing the street to be very hot and rather noisy at night. There is no air-conditioning and no fans. A bit expensive for what it is. The breakfast was just adequate and not much help from owner re getting around Vienna.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suthfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#68 of 361 in Vienna
766 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#25 of 361 in Vienna
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#186 of 361 in Vienna
254 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Inner City
Benediktushaus Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schweizer Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schweizer Pension

Address: Heinrichsgasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $83 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schweizer Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schweizer Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizer Pension Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing