We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and centrally located with great breakfast !!”
Review of Schweizer Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schweizer Pension
Ranked #15 of 115 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Title says it all. The place is spotless although the decoration is a bit on the plain or tacky side.
If you fly into Vienna it is a five minute walk from the airport bus stop. Eventhough it is not right smack in the center with the excellent public transportation system you are ten minutes ride from Opera House, Cathedral, etc. Or you can walk to a lot of places.
Big and tasty breakfast included. Guten appetit !!!

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, you have with or without private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParisWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

We just returned from spending four nights at the Schweizer Pension in Vienna. Location was within walking distance to all the major sights. Arriving at Westbahnhof it is easy to get to this pension. You change in Volkstheater and get off at Shottenring. Anita operates a very well run pension. She is dedicated to her family operation. Very hard working and wants to please. It is spotless. We did have a share bathroom and shower. Never had to wait for either. I would bring a light robe to make it easier after taking a shower. free wifi, it only worked in the common area and not in our room. Breakfast is filling and you can take leftovers for lunch. I would stay here again. Excellant value for within the inner ring of Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wlbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and it was a great start to our vacation. We were fortunate in that our room was ready when we arrived from our overnight flight. Klaus introduced himself and let us know we had an upgrade available if we wanted it. It turned out to be the corner room that, had renovation to the facade not been taking place, would have looked out over the little square across the street. He was very helpful during our stay, offering suggestions on where to go, occasionally helping with my recollection of high school German, and even making sure the guests were aware of the time change on the weekend (just wish I had read his note). Our room was fully self-contained and was delightful, even more so after Klaus cut the plastic that was covering our window. Breakfast consisted of a selection of breads, meats, cheeses, and cereals, all of which were very good. It is close to two metro stations as well as the ring tram, and it's a leisurely 20 minute walk to Stephansplatz.

We would highly recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plutotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is our second time to stay at this pension, the last time 5 years ago, both trips were for New Years, and we stayed a week each time. The hotel is run by Anita and her son, Gerald. They are both friendly, helpful with ideas for things to do in Vienna. They gave us explicit instructions by email for travel from airport to hotel, and Anita was here to meet us when we arrived around 8:00 p.m. The room is very spacious, beds are comfortable with down comforters and pillows. We appreciated the free WiFi, and the small bottle of sparkling wine with 2 glasses and a card left for us on New Years Eve. Price is very reasonable, a short 10 minute walk to the center of Old Vienna, close to Ubahn trains, and bus to airport.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DollyG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The pension was in a great location. It is also just a short walk from the metro station. The Schweizer Pension website gives amazing directions to this place from the metro station. Considering the central location of this place, it is a good deal. The family who runs this place is very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was amazing!!! The only flaw was our toliet in the room. It smelled so bad that I would rather prefer to use a public bathroom. :( Other than the bathroom situation, this place was good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here here Nov.12-14. Finding the pension is easy as it is near the center of the old town. Gerald met us and showed us the room which was spacios with high ceilings and great windows looking out on the street. we faced west which let in a lot of light but I see it could be hot in the summer. The bathroom is small as it is an add on, but we've stayed in smaller. Anita was not here but Gerald more than answered any questions we had. I'd say the breakfast is above average. There is a book of rules you must abide by, but most are just common sense and not a problem. We had 2 very quiet,restful nights.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank columbusJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Schweizer Pension for three nights in early October 2011, and we loved it! Our time in Vienna was part of a two week tour of Europe, and Schweizer Pension was by far the nicest place we stayed. We were greeted warmly by Anita, who made sure we had information to help us with our stay. The also offer a laundry service, which was very nice, as it was the mid-way point on our trip. The room was huge with lots of storage space for our things. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the bathroom/shower were small but adequate for us. I think that there was some type of restaurant or bar down below our room, because on the weekend nights we were there, it was pretty loud out on the street until pretty late at night. Breakfast was good--traditional Viennese (cheese, bread, jam, tea or coffee) and very adequate for us. One morning we took a day trip to Salzburg and left the Pension before breakfast. We mentioned this to Anita the day before, and she packed us breakfast to take with us on the train! Free wifi is also available and subway and tram stop is nearby. Appreciated the lift in the building after days of much walking. Klaus was extremely helpful in getting us to the airport early in the morning--he directed us to a nearby bus stop which is serviced by a nice and affordable coach which goes directly to the Vienna airport. Overal loved our experience at Schweizer Pension!

Room Tip: May want to ask for room off the street if noise is an issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#63 of 359 in Vienna
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Time Out City Hotel Vienna
Inner City
Pension Dr. Geissler
Pension Dr. Geissler
#22 of 115 in Vienna
234 reviews
Hotel Fabrik
#11 of 115 in Vienna
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schweizer Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schweizer Pension

Address: Heinrichsgasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $84 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schweizer Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schweizer Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizer Pension Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing