We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #28 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel with my girlfriend for four nights in early March. Everything was really good and we left without a single complaint. The interior of the hotel is nice and smart, the rooms are of a good size and with everything you will require, and the breakfast is excellent. We also found the staff to be extremely helpful. They arranged for us to visit Salzburg on one of the days, which helped us a lot as we wanted to go but had made no plans before arriving. Every person we encountered on the reception was friendly and helpful. The location is also excellent. There is a train from the airport to the Praterstern station just a couple of minutes away, an underground line to the centre of Vienna (3 stops), and we found the walk into the middle along the river is actually a very nice way to do it too (it takes about 20 minutes). Overall - top marks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T0m1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

I visited Vienna early March 2012. The hotel is cosy and also the breakfast is very good. One of the best parts is a wonderful location: very close to railway station and U Bahn and Linie 1 to City Center. There are also several affordable and tasty restaurants near by.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harrivassu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Nice staff eager to help. The room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Close to the Praterstern with good communications, yet not in the busy city center. The hotel has kept an oldfashioned style like heavy room keys and the reception interior.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We reach there at late night. When we reach the reception, they greet us with our name and in Chinese (our dialect) which we feel a warm welcome. The room is small but ok with fridge(not working), safety box and free wifi. Breakfast is good and lots of choices. the reception is great at service and able to valuable information if you need it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan_d_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My wife and I visited this place in December 2011 for the Christmas markets and found it to be ideally located for that due to the close proximity of the Praterstern train station just a two minute walk away.
From here you can get a train speedily to and from the airport and St Stephens Square (the centre of Vienna) is only 3 stops away.
Don't be alarmed by being so close to the station as its very clean and safe and you don't get any noise.
The street of the hotel has a lovely chocolate shop / coffee house on the corner towards the station and the Gasthaus pub is opposite which serves its own beer and authentic local food. As you leave the hotel and turn left on the opposite side of the street is a small modern bar that serves home made pitta breads. I can't recall the name but it isn't the Italian, Chinese or chophouse!
We used to enjoy walking into the city centre which took around 15 minutes and during December there were lovely rum punch bars on the street corners serving warm punch and sausage sandwiches - superb!
On one such walk we discovered an excellent and reasonably priced restaurant called Elf which is on an alley way just off Fleischmarkt. This was where we had the best food of our trip and they also had some excellent local wines.
Overall we loved Vienna and the hotel is a great place from which to explore it.
The hotel was clean and tidy and the breakfast was comprehensive in terms of food type and hot and cold choices. The staff were great too. The room was maybe a touch narrow but otherwise we had no complaints at all.
Get there and enjoy it!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times in the past year or two as it's close to the office I visit and to a railway station on the line from the airport, is very good value and has been reliable and consistent.

The hotel is on a major road so rooms at the front can be noisy when the window is open. It's about 200m from Praterstern station - U-Bahn line 2 and trains on various S-Bahn lines including S7 which goes to Vienna International Airport. (Don't bother with the CAT train from the airport. The S7 line gets you to Praterstern about 10 minutes slower and for a fraction of the price. The S7 trains run every 30 minutes. CAT trains don't go to Praterstern)

I have always been treated politely and helpfully by the front desk and bar staff, who inevitably speak perfect English.

The rooms are slightly old-fashioned and quite small, but they are immaculately clean and have everything I need, including free WiFi. Breakfast is the usual fresh, tasty and varied continental meal.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms overlooking Praterstrasse; they can be noisy when the window is open, although t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wakeupjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I always enjoy my stay here, courtyard rooms are very quiet, spotlessly clean - the hotel everywhere is very clean. I stay in many hotels in UK for business each week and I think they should send their staff for training here! The rooms vary in size but I was lucky enough to be upgraded this time to one of the smart new "Superior Plus" rooms, very good indeed and worthy of at least 4 star. Modern bathroom with classy new shower, wood floor, very comfortable beds.
Location fantastic- train from Airport 5 mins walk away, Underground and trams less than 5 mins walk, can walk to city centre in 15 minutes, through nice old Vienna streets. Got a Coach to Brno in Czech for 8 euros very close to hotel, brand new coach with leather seats, videos and free coffee- "StudentBus".
Staff friendly and helpful as always, free PC in the reading room, nice quiet reading room with some nice books for browsing if weather too bad to go out, and Sauna/ small gym downstairs which hardly seems to be used, a shame as its very clean and new.
Breakfast good, would be nice to have some tomato with the sliced peppers and cucumber to add to some cold meat or cheese, but plenty and always stocked up. Hot bacon and scambled egg tasty, will boil an egg for you if you ask.
Staff don't change, they all stay on which in the Hotel industry is quite something, I've been staying there for more than 4 years and I its same reception staff, so they must be happy employees and looked after by the management. A great hotel in Vienna, but dont tell to many people as I want to be able to get a bed their next time I go!

Room Tip: Courtyard for quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uktallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,712 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 358 in Vienna
1,376 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,896 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#18 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $106 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing