We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ambassador
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Austria Classic Hotel Wien(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$257
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$264
US$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$202
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
283
240
76
19
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
240
76
19
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneuer marktgreat locationthe main pedestrian streetopera housetwo sinksfirst flooreuropean standardsrooms are hugehigh ceilingsthe heart of the cityclassic hotelhotel restaurantold world charmjunior suitemajor attractionscomfortable roomsthe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights in this very old hotel. The hotel is very good condition with big rooms. Good service, very good variety at breakfast. Check in was very quick. Hotel has free WiFi in all of its territory.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marxius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed 4 nights at Ambassador. Couldn't ask for a better location - right in the middle of the shopping street. Room is large and clean. Furnitures are a bit dated. Fast free wifi which is great. There is construction going on at the hotel and on the second day we were woken at 730 am. But we were out most day so the noise did not really bother us. We had 3 meals at Nautilus Fischestaurant in Naschtmarkt approximately 20 walks from the hotel. Must try the fish soup and grilled octopus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Right on Kartner Strasse, the pedestrian street that connects Stephansplatz to the Opera, you can't get a better location. The hotel has 2 addresses because there are entrances on both sides of the Hotel - the car entrance is the one on Neuer Markt, a lovely square with fountain and an interesting french style inexpensive cafe called the Bol. I lived in Vienna for 2 years, have stayed at the Hotel twice, love the renovated 100 year old large rooms and the traditional but modern decor. Breakfast is 25 Euros (worth it) but there are many places nearby. The Nordsee Restaurant across the street on Kartner is self serve, very high quality and very reasonable for lunch or Dinner. Peek and Clopenberg, 6 floors of spectacular shopping, is directly across on Kartner. The only thing that is small is the cozy lobby.

Room Tip: You can ask for rooms overlooking the square or Kartner Strasse (my favourite)
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This was my second time in Vienna (which I love, and I was on the Ringstrasse last time. I won't mention the hotel name here last time but it was nice and a good experience). This time I wanted to stay a little closer to Stephansplatz, so I kind of booked big on location, although the photos looked beautiful and the reviews were great.

LOVED this hotel. Very elegant, on a great cobblestone street. Saying the Ambassador is "close to everything" would be a huge understatement. You could very easily find yourself walking down Kaertner Strasse and thinking "I would love it if my hotel was on this street". -- guess what -- this one is.

And their rates are extremely good for the quality of this hotel. I will definitely stay here my next trip to Vienna. I can't give them 5 stars but 4 definitely

Room Tip: Ask for a room, if you can, facing Kaertner Strasse
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This hotel is ideally placed in midst of the shopping arena. The size of the room was large and bathroom was clean.
The only drawback i noticed were that breakfast was quite exorbitant.
Nevertheless the hotel offers a good value for money at Euro 150 per night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews