We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classical Vienna”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #151 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Classical Vienna”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Very nice accommodation in the heart of Vienna. I stayed at the Hotel Ambassador 2 days during the weekend.
All the major attractions are at walking distance and underground is very close (<2 minute walk).
A classical style hotel with classical furniture.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Large bathroom with all comforts.
I didn't try the restaurant so I cannot comment about it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavio_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    219
    65
    16
    16
See reviews for
114
237
42
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights in this very old hotel. The hotel is very good condition with big rooms. Good service, very good variety at breakfast. Check in was very quick. Hotel has free WiFi in all of its territory.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marxius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed 4 nights at Ambassador. Couldn't ask for a better location - right in the middle of the shopping street. Room is large and clean. Furnitures are a bit dated. Fast free wifi which is great. There is construction going on at the hotel and on the second day we were woken at 730 am. But we were out most day so the noise did not really bother us. We had 3 meals at Nautilus Fischestaurant in Naschtmarkt approximately 20 walks from the hotel. Must try the fish soup and grilled octopus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Right on Kartner Strasse, the pedestrian street that connects Stephansplatz to the Opera, you can't get a better location. The hotel has 2 addresses because there are entrances on both sides of the Hotel - the car entrance is the one on Neuer Markt, a lovely square with fountain and an interesting french style inexpensive cafe called the Bol. I lived in Vienna for 2 years, have stayed at the Hotel twice, love the renovated 100 year old large rooms and the traditional but modern decor. Breakfast is 25 Euros (worth it) but there are many places nearby. The Nordsee Restaurant across the street on Kartner is self serve, very high quality and very reasonable for lunch or Dinner. Peek and Clopenberg, 6 floors of spectacular shopping, is directly across on Kartner. The only thing that is small is the cozy lobby.

Room Tip: You can ask for rooms overlooking the square or Kartner Strasse (my favourite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This was my second time in Vienna (which I love, and I was on the Ringstrasse last time. I won't mention the hotel name here last time but it was nice and a good experience). This time I wanted to stay a little closer to Stephansplatz, so I kind of booked big on location, although the photos looked beautiful and the reviews were great.

LOVED this hotel. Very elegant, on a great cobblestone street. Saying the Ambassador is "close to everything" would be a huge understatement. You could very easily find yourself walking down Kaertner Strasse and thinking "I would love it if my hotel was on this street". -- guess what -- this one is.

And their rates are extremely good for the quality of this hotel. I will definitely stay here my next trip to Vienna. I can't give them 5 stars but 4 definitely

Room Tip: Ask for a room, if you can, facing Kaertner Strasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This hotel is ideally placed in midst of the shopping arena. The size of the room was large and bathroom was clean.
The only drawback i noticed were that breakfast was quite exorbitant.
Nevertheless the hotel offers a good value for money at Euro 150 per night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The hotel Ambassador was superbly located near St Stephensdom, close to transit, historic sites, restaurants, and shopping. The rooms were large and nicely furnished, the bathroom modern with classical touches and with all the amenities. The breakfast buffet was generious, however, it would be helpful if a sign were made available letting guests know that hot breakfasts (eg scrambled eggs) were also available--a minor point, but given the variety of languages spoken by guests. It is a quiet, classic and beautiful hotel, with superb amenities; the front desk was very friendly, although some of the staff were not entirely familiar with the city sites/information--I suspect they may have been hospitality students. Not a big deal since Vienna is very easy to get around, and one of the most organized cities we have visited. A delightful experience, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room with a view on a non smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 394mariam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#46 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#182 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#111 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing