We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious haven close to the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Ranked #1 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Spacious haven close to the centre”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We found this B&B using trip advisor and it definitely lived up to the previous reviews. The B&B is located very close to a metro station and so is very handy for exploring the centre of Vienna. The owners were welcoming and accommodating, providing us with maps, metro tickets and information. We had a large double room, with very comfortable bed, armchairs, heaps of storage and a great bathroom with corner bath and a separate WC. We visited in February and so absolutely adored the underfloor heating which made the room so cosy and welcoming after a day in the snow-covered city. There is air con for the summer months! The breakfast is very good. You may sit in a light, white-furnished room or in the attached white conservatory, which we really enjoyed. There is a good selection of breads, cheeses, meats, pastries, jams, yoghurts and so on, together with freshly squeezed orange juice and delicious fruit salad and cut fruit. The scrambled eggs were also delicious and we recommend the hot chocolate to drink plus wrapped chocolates available as part of the breakfast.
When returning to Vienna, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ScotConvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    67
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
139
286
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St-Bruno-de-Montarville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

HI,

we were there 5 nights in september & early october 2011;
this B & B is absolutely stunning. Our hosts are really going the extra
5 miles to help you and make you feel at home. The room we had was huge,
lots of outside lighting, you have a lot of storage and the bathroom is very roomy.
It is very close to the Rochugasse U Bahn.

In our 15 years of travelling, we have never seen a room like this.
Ulla is working hard to make people feel at home. No wonder they are getting praised so much.

We warmly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitreHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My sister and I stayed at S&S in October and could not have been more pleased. The room was very spacious and comfortable! A chair and couch that was actually comfortable to sit on. Plenty of storage space and a nice large bathroom.

The breakfast room was very charming - loved, loved, loved the breakfast. A great way to start the day. The metro stop was so close.

The owners were fabulous!

Just wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at the S&S during Christmas. From the time we booked back in Sept. we were helped by Ulla with all arrangements and questions. Beeing that time of the year, we wanted it to be special and it was. The room was big and clean. Toilette spacious and the bathtub huge!! The breakfast was excelent and any question we had during our stay was answered promptly. Location is excelent and if you travelling with your car, you can just park it and forget about it during your stay. The subway station is about 2 minutes away. All and all great place to stay. I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Viena.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_and_CQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

First thing I have to stay is the owner is wonderful and super helpful. Thank you Ulla! Apartment is nice and clean. Located on a cozy street. We enjoyed our two nights in September. We would definitely stay here again, however. It was pretty warm during our stay and since the rooms offer no AC we had to leave our window open. We were on the first floor and our window faced the street. There is a subway/metro down the street. We had people waking us up very late at night from them talking loud and walking directly beneath our window. If i were to stay there again I would definitely ask for another room facing the other direction. Ulla was so kind that she gave me direction for parking in a structure that allowed overnight parking for a few euros a night! Almost impossible to find in europe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the street or atleast not on the first floor preferably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Great location, quiet environment, yummy breakfasts, excellent facilities (the room, the linens, huge tub/shower, etc.). Ulla & her husband really take care of travelers well. The only clarification: if having a fireplace is a dealbreaker for you, specify that when making the reservation; the garden flat is comfortable if understandably awkwardly arranged but has no fireplace. There is a lift but there is a flight of stairs in the entryway and shallow level changes on the lowest floor with the breakfast room; travelers in a wheelchair *might* be allowed ground level to the lift from the outside, but that would be through special arrangements with Ulla; it might not be possible but I would inquire.

Room Tip: Garden flat is on lowest level close to breakfast room but noise is not a problem. No fireplace in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Expat11431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

First, my sincere apologies for writing a really late review of S&S. We stayed at Spiess and spiess, Vienna on our honeymoon in June 2011. I made reservations at the Spiess&Spiess based on trip advisor reviews and am I glad I did it.

Finding the place was very easy ( it is just few steps away from the entrance/exit of the Hainburger Strasse Exit of Rochusgasse station U-Bahn) and to my surprise the room was a huge apartment with a even more spacious bathroom and a nce little Balcony too. Thanks to our wonderful host Ms.Ulla, we had no difficulty in finding places to eat and moving around in Vienna. The breakfast is delicious and the proximity to the u-bahn makes S&S accesible to all parts of the city very easily.

Spiess &spiess is such a good B&B that I would say the experience of staying here was definitely better than any star hotel for the mere reason that you get to interact with a warm host who is more than willing to help you experience the place to the maximum.

Definitely a recommended place to stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcookie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
749 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,300 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 362 in Vienna
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Property: Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Address: Hainburger Strasse 19 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned boutique hotel / B&B in the hearth of Vienna. Spacious, bright, and elegantly furnished rooms of timeless beauty with heated stoneware flooring and large bath tubs in all rooms are what makes us special. Very comfortable beds, Air-conditioning, and included breakfast are standard. In one of the best residential areas of Vienna, located in a quiet back street in a (in 2002) remodeled old (originally built just before 1900) house of classical style, yet directly at an underground stop just a few minutes away from all important places in Vienna, we are the perfect place for your stay in Vienna - no matter if for business or pleasure (or both). Allergy friendly hotel according to ECARF-Standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiess And Spiess Appartement
Spiess & Spiess Appartement Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing