We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Liechtenstein
Ranked #32 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Good budget hotel, centrally located near public transportation (trams, buses, Schottentor metro station); if you like to walk, you can get to many major attractions in 10 minutes. Staff was nice and helpful, on our arrival they gave us a map and directions. Breakfast consisted of cheese, ham, bread, pastries, orange juice, cereal, milk, coffee (delicious!) and yogurt (loved it!). The breakfast room is small and you need to get there early so you can get a table. We got a quadruple room and it was located in another building a block away, but we didn't mind walking every morning to eat breakfast. The entrance doesn't give you a good first impression (I think they are fixing up the building), and the rooms are simple but clean. Some people have complained about noise from the street - we didn't hear a thing. I recommend Pension Liechtenstein if you want to be close to historic district and don't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chapintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    66
    40
    7
    6
See reviews for
34
47
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We recently visited the Pension Liechtenstein on the Horlgasse in Vienna. It is an excellent choice to stay. You will have the convenience of a hotel, good breakfast in the morning and the staff is willing to help you with all your requests. Nice rooms with wooden floors and the beds are alright. The only think that may bother you, is the rooms on the front side (we had one). It can be really noisy, because of the ongoing traffic. But take some ear plugs in the night and you will hear nothing anymore.

You can easily walk to the center it is nearby. But also in the area of the Horlgasse there are great places to eat. So if you would like to see some more than touristic restaurants you can do it in the area where you stay:)

Have fun, Ivette & Wilco

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband, two teenage children and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June. We chose this hotel because of its reasonable price (333 Euros total for a quadruple room, which included breakfast). We also chose it due to its proximity to the Ringstrasse and the historic district. Most of the historical sites were within a very easy walk of the hotel. A subway stop was also close by. Parking was also cheap--5 Euros per day for onstreet parking, right in front of the hotel. Parking was free on the weekends. Buffet breakfast was consistent with what you will get at any B&B in Europe. There were several negatives to this hotel. It is on the corner of a busy street. Because there is no air conditioning, and it was very hot in the room, we had to open the windows. Sleeping was almost impossible due to the street traffic. There was also a noisy restaurant on the street below our room. The bathroom, though modern, was extremely small. The rest of the room, though clean, was worn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up in the hotel. Perhaps street noise won't be as loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa52164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights (June 21-22, 2011), along with my brother and nephew in another room. Our rooms were actually in another building down the street and around the corner. We had a locked entrance from the street and then there were two locked rooms off of the small entry-way. Our triple room consisted of a large bedroom with a double bed, nightstand and lamp, a small table and 2 chairs and a large wardrobe and a window to the street. You walked through the 1st room to reach a 2nd bedroom and the bathroom. The 2nd bedroom was a bit smaller and had no window, so it was a bit dark for my taste (the bedside lamps did not give much light). We also had a color TV in the room and access to free WiFi. The bathroom was quite nice (it appeared to have been recently remodeled), with a shower and included a hair dryer and toiletries. Our triple room was quite comfortable and spacious and CLEAN, but it could have used a fresh coat of paint. It was actually a plus that we had our own rooms and entrance, away from the main pension. The owner is a one-man-show, I believe, and was quite helpful with carrying our bags, providing directions, etc We booked everything on-line and I communicated with the owner via email several times to confirm dates, price and get suggestions on how to get to the airport. My only complaint was that the breakfast room was quite small (4 or 5 tables) and we had to wait, so we ended up skipping the free breakfast so that we could get started on sightseeing. For a triple room, we paid 210 Euro for two nights. We felt it was a good value, a great location and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karrie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Noise from outside was a disturbing thing but it was to be compromised taking into consideration its location. Before you get panicked let me say if was not that big problem. Very close to main city… which means you have all amenities and attractions available nearby only. The people working as staffs in the hotel were professional. They cared a lot for their guests. It made us feel special. We had a nice stay that might take us back to Pensionn Liechtenstein yet again in future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evansvalikie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perak
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The pension is strategically located very near to the city centre and we just explored almost all the places of interest in Vienna on foot. As we wanted a family room for 5 we were taken to another building just 3 mins. down the road. The room looked recently refurbished, spacious and comfortable and there was a double bed and 3 single beds. Andy, the proprietor and his dad were very helpful and kind and made sure that the airport van arrived promptly to pick us up on the morning that we were leaving. I have posted more pictures in my blog re my recent trip to Vienna, Mondsee, Salzburg, Pembrokeshire and London. Although it's a blog on food and recipes there are posts on travel as well. Do feel free to browse through at www.cheah2009.blogspot.com

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheahtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2010

good location close to underground about 2 mins walk good reasonably priced restaraunts nearby, about 10min walk to hoffburg palace and meuseum quarter would have no problem in staying here again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Pension Baron am Schottentor
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Pension Liechtenstein Apartments
Serviten Quarter
Pension Gross
Pension Gross
#46 of 113 in Vienna
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Schweizer Pension
Schweizer Pension
#13 of 113 in Vienna
164 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
#21 of 113 in Vienna
94 reviews
Pension Stadthalle
#56 of 113 in Vienna
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Liechtenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Liechtenstein

Property: Pension Liechtenstein
Address: Hoerlgasse 9, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Liechtenstein 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Pension Liechtenstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Liechtenstein Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing