We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
C$100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
CanuckTraveller07
Toronto, Canada

Independence In Vienna

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 29, 2015
We recently had the pleasure of staying in Apartment number 8 of the Appartements Ferchergasse for two full weeks. It was charming, cozy and practically perfect. This suite was extremely well equipped with most of the appliances and amenities a person might need to make a stay feel comfortable: coffee maker, kettle, toaster, huge selection of dishes, glasses, cutlery, pots and pans, hair dryer, vacuum cleaner, two satellite TVs, very strong Wi-Fi, dishwasher, oven, stove, fridge/freezer, sink, massive storage space for clothes, lockable safe (although we did not use), telephone, etc. Lots of (very) hot water available at shower time. This particular unit had a separate WC. There is a washing machine onsite (ground floor) if you need to do laundry; in European fashion there is no dryer, but the apartments have a drying rack provided.

The apartments are in a very quiet residential neighbourhood but we occasionally heard the S-Bahn train go past if the street-facing windows were open. The train passes by in a matter of seconds so we did not find the sound from it bothersome whatsoever. If an apartment also faces the courtyard, as ours did during our stay, you may experience some noisy neighbours from the adjoining apartment buildings. Our peace and quiet was assaulted way too early on a couple of mornings by neighbours in the courtyard who were running lawn movers and weed whackers. The windows are heavily insulated for sound, though, so that helped when the lawn mower started up! The units seemed generally quiet from within; we did not hear our neighbours, so the apartments must be fairly well insulated against sound transfer. In the courtyard of the building there is a charming little flower-filled patio with a few small tables where you can relax, weather permitting. Not for the claustrophobic, there is a very scary little elevator which takes you to the various floors of the building. We found this elevator extremely uncomfortable and difficult to use so therefore chose to hike up the four flights of stairs to the apartment every day.

The Appartements Ferchergasse is located in what seemed to be a very safe area, predominantly consisting of residences, small businesses and stores. Though located in the suburbs, the apartments are surrounded by all amenities a person could want during a stay (bakeries, restaurants, 2-3 grocery stores, dry cleaners, a small 24/7 convenience store which is actually a gas station). Appartements Ferchergasse's web site has a full listing of all these amenities as well as their hours of operation.

The owners/managers were very helpful and were onsite in the office most mornings. Christian was amazing and ensured that all our basic needs were met, making us feel welcome in every way; he provided very helpful maps and tips for seeing the sights of Vienna and even booked a cab to/from the airport for us. We did not have the pleasure of meeting Stephanie in person during our visit although I corresponded with her many times prior to arrival and she was always extremely helpful, kind and courteous. The owners have created an absolutely fantastic web site with all the available apartments and their floor plans, and you can book the apartments directly on the site.

It's hard to think of anything negative to say about the Appartements Ferchergasse. It fits the bill on so many levels and is a wonderful place to stay. I would, though, like to mention the following things as cautions/warnings, not negatives. These are lessons learned from our stay:

1) The apartments are quite a distance from the tourist attractions in the Vienna city centre. The apartments are in the suburb of Hernals, which is a 15 to 25 minute tram ride to/from the downtown, depending on traffic. There is no such thing as a quick "dash back to the hotel" from downtown if you've forgotten something or if you want to go back to your suite to rest for a while - you always have to allow commuting time on the transit system no matter what you do. The transit, however, is very close to the apartments and some of it is available 24/7. Tram #43 around the corner from the apartments goes to Schottentor U-Bahn station every few minutes (at night, this becomes an "N" bus line that runs through the night). You can also take the U3 U-Bahn line from downtown to Ottakring station, then transfer to the S45 S-Bahn to Hernals station, which is very close to the apartments (I think this is a 24-hour line, but not sure).

2) The apartments are in the residential suburbs of Vienna, far from the tourist areas of the city. As such, there is little or no English spoken by the German-speaking natives of this area. If you are a unilingual North American (like me), such things as communicating with the locals and grocery shopping will be a considerable challenge, at least at first until you adapt.

3) This is independent, apartment–style living, not a full-service hotel with 24/7 concierge service and round-the-clock Housekeeping. If you want something done you do it yourself: there are beds to make, food to shop for, meals to prepare, floors to sweep, laundry to do, bathrooms to clean, garbage to take out to the bins, etc. During our stay, though, a housekeeping service came in weekly and changed the beds and towels, and generally cleaned/refreshed the apartment. If you do have a problem or request for the apartment, though, the management is readily available via a quick speed dial on the internal phone system.

If you're fine with these few challenges, then this is a fantastic place to stay while in Vienna. There is great value-for-dollar at the Appartements Ferchergasse; when I booked our stay I was hard-pressed to find a better deal for a long-term visit in Vienna. Full service hotels in this city are quite expensive.

Highly recommended!
Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ferchergasse, Inhaber at Appartements Ferchergasse, responded to this review
Responded Oct 1, 2015
Dear CanuckTraveller07,

Thank your for this amazing and very detailed review for our apartment and location. This feedback is really valuable for other travellers and of course also for us.

Regarding the elevator, well I know that it is really small and not that comfortable, but unfortunatelly this solution had been the best one to get an elevator into a house that was built long before elevators became standard. But am glad to read that you did not mind walking upstairs.

So again thank your for sharing all your thoughts about your stay and I really hope that Christian and I can welcome you again as our guest. Then I promise to be there by myself too.

Kind regards from Vienna
Stephanie Rank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$393
  • travelup.com
    C$309
  • Expedia.com
    C$396
  • Hotels.com
    C$395
4.7 km from Appartements Ferchergasse
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
C$117
  • Expedia.com
    C$108
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$90
  • Vio.com
    C$113
1.9 km from Appartements Ferchergasse
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
C$169
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$170
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$148
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Appartements Ferchergasse
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
C$243
  • Expedia.com
    C$244
  • Trip.com
    C$239
  • Hotels.com
    C$243
3.2 km from Appartements Ferchergasse
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
C$142
  • ibis
    C$142
  • Priceline
    C$130
  • Expedia.com
    C$143
6.2 km from Appartements Ferchergasse
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
C$105
  • Vio.com
    C$92
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$88
  • Expedia.com
    C$106
6.4 km from Appartements Ferchergasse
Bar/Lounge
AdinaHotels.com
C$214
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$205
  • Expedia.com
    C$201
  • Priceline
    C$205
6.4 km from Appartements Ferchergasse
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$105
  • ibis Styles
    C$108
  • Priceline
    C$89
  • Vio.com
    C$97
2.9 km from Appartements Ferchergasse
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
C$468
C$235
  • Hilton
    C$236
  • Expedia.com
    C$237
  • Hotels.com
    C$236
7.8 km from Appartements Ferchergasse
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
C$550
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$549
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$550
  • Tripadvisor
    C$550
4.4 km from Appartements Ferchergasse
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Vienna
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
261
56
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
261
56
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 322 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

Let's start with the cons :
1.location,far from the city
2.street noise, super close to the railway . you can't sleep with the windows open.
3 . no air-conditioning, if you come in 35 degrees outside, its a problem.
But- the price is fair and stuff is hospitality and you have the bus and train next to you.
Good choice with children as the apparent is big enough for 5.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank astalava
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ferchergasse, Inhaber at Appartements Ferchergasse, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

Dear astalava,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts about our place with other travellers.

The days in August have been unusal hot and numerous. We know that this lets the apartment become quite warm. What we can offer our guests are mobile fans as you correctly write we do not have an aircondition so far. That is also the reasaon why on no channel we set aircondition as an apartment feature. This would be not correct and not fair towards our guests. Nevertheless this point will be on our agenda for the next enhancments of the apartments.

Apart from that I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in Vienna.

Kind regards
Stephanie Rank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2015

Great place to stay. The appartments are in an old house, but well maintained. There was no requirement our appartment fell short of. The rooms were sufficiently spacious, the kitchen zone was well equipped, everything was clean, the air condition was working well. Also, you can buy vienna tickets directly at the landlady's office, which will save prolonged searching for a ticket shop.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0nna1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ferchergasse, Inhaber at Appartements Ferchergasse, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Dear d0nna1961,

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and found everything for a comfortable stay. So many thanks for giving us feedback that everything was fine.

Kind regards
Stephanie Rank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2015

Even before we arrived we sensed a not-so-friendly attitude of Christian , because a simple request to locate a Camera Accessory shop in Vienna was met with a " I do not have the time making phone calls to all distributors " . Fair enough .
After staying in 3 apartments in other cities before this , we arrived here on the last leg of our long tour . We reached our Double Bedroom apartment to find that it did not look like the one on their website . One room was tiny , the bathroom was common , and there was no balcony / outdoor seating attached . There was no soap or other basic things like tea/coffee-making ingredients , or a mini-bar on payment basis -- things we found in all our previous 3 apartments that we stayed in , during our trip . When asked , Christian rudely told us "This is an apartment , Ok . You have to go and buy everything ." So, off we had to go and stock up the basics .
Next morning, while going out to the city , we told him that we searched 61 channels the previous night, but could not find one English TV Channel . He flared up and insisted that we go up immediately so that he can show it "once and for all" . He could not find any channels either, and immediately said with anger "What did you do to this? " Unbelievable attitude .
On the date we were leaving , we asked if he could arrange a Taxi-van for the 4 of us and luggage to the Airport , 2.30 hours before our intended departure in the morning. We got a reply stating " For a minivan it is too late ( I had to know 24 hours before) .I can only organice you 2 normal cabs for EUR 36 each." Fortunately , I had found a website by then , and as soon as I got his mail, I booked an online transfer in a taxi-van for 50 Euro . So much for the attitude of the owners .
These are things which bugs me where the owners are not friendly , but rude and arrogant, and show anger if questions are asked .
Hence the Poor rating , so that other travelers will know .

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Subrata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ferchergasse, Inhaber at Appartements Ferchergasse, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Dear sdas54,

I am really sorry to read that you could not enjoy your stay in our apartment and that we did not meet your expectations towards us.


Regarding the room. As you booked via an OTA the category "Apartment for 4 person with 50sqm" it was what we arranged for you. We do not advertise this room type with balcony or outside seating, so I am really sorry to read that it did not meet your expections. All our apartments are self catering, which we clearly state at the OTAs, so we do not have neither a mini bar nor any groceries.

We are onsite every day from the morning until noon but do not have an 24hrs reception. So we always kindly ask our guests, to let us know things that do not work or need to be organised in advance so that we can assist them in the best possible way. This also refers to the taxi company which we can recommend and work together. Organising a large car 2 hours before departure (at 7 a.m. in the morning when we got the information that you need a car at 9 a.m.) can get quite difficult.

Kind regards
Stephanie Rank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2015

Location - if you are only in Vienna for 2-3 days, you may want to stay closer to the Centre. However, we stayed for 9 days so this apartment was ideal. It's located 25 minutes from the Centre by tram that runs every 2 minutes. Apartments are only a short walk from the tram stop.
Service - couple running apartments could not be more helpful, there for you with any needs you might have. 6 stars to them.
Apartment - apartments do vary but the one i stayed in was very clean, spacious, had a kitchen bench with small stove, microwave and all utensils, no dishwasher. Bathroom was spacious and shower had good pressure. Laundry is only available in some apartments.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlChern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ferchergasse, Inhaber at Appartements Ferchergasse, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

Dear AIChern,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our apartments and us. I am really happy to read that you liked teh apartment and found everything there for a comfy stay in Vienna. So thank your for sharing your impressions with other travellers, this really helps a lot.

Best wishes from Vienna
Stephanie Rank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2015

Stayed May 2015. Clean, quiet, located near easy-to-use trams/bus/train for short journey to city centre or major attractions. Helpful host who arranged taxi from airport to apartments, and can sell vienna-card for easy travel on public transport for rest of stay. He also supplied local map with local bakers, mini-supermarkets, and restaurants marked (we tried two of the suggested local Viennese restaurants and were pleased with both).

Room tip: We found the vienna-card made it easy to travel to the city centre, Schönbrunn Palace, Belvedere Palace, and purchasing the one with discounts (about 22 Euros May 2015) paid for itself over the basic travel only one.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ferchergasse, Inhaber at Appartements Ferchergasse, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2015

Dear David P,

thank you for writing Christian and me a good feedback about our place and your time in Vienna. I am happy to read that we could fulfill your expectations and everything was fine for you.

Kind regards
Stephanie Rank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews