We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a hotel, rather a hostel with little bit more privacy.”
Review of Arnes Hotel Vienna

Arnes Hotel Vienna
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arnes Hotel Vienna
Ranked #90 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not really a hotel, rather a hostel with little bit more privacy.”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I would not rate this place with the lowest mark, however I also know I will not return there, if I have a little bit more money than nothing to travel to Vienna. And I will make sure I have before traveling. :)
I think you get what you pay for in rather expensive city as Vienna is. So do not expect much. Our room was rather clean, towels were changed most of the time, although sometime we had to ask for that.
The building is old (beginning of 19th century), and undergoes renovation.
The carpets in the rooms are old and stinky. So you are better off if you get a smaller room with laminate floor. Each room has a fridge.There is kitchen with all the basic tools, so you can cook your own breakfast or lunch. The only thing, if you eat in your room, and you drop something on the floor, better make sure you let somebody know to clean it up, otherwise it will stay like that.
The water pressure in the shower was great, and although the shower door were hardly hanging in, it was fine (again - remember, we did not pay that much).
Prior to going to that hotel, some Vienese people suggested us to change the booking, saying that is not a good neighbourhood. Well that is neighbourhood mainly inhabited by immigrants, mainly turkish and muslim people. It was not one of the richest neighbourhoods, but certainly we never felt in danger or insecure. It was just fine. A feeling like in some town in Turkey.
The transportation with Vienna Centre was almost ideal, the tram stops in front of the door, U-bahn 2 tram stops away, taxi station is on the nearest intersection, and grocery store, as well as bakeries are just a few steps away.
I think this is a good enough place for students and low budget travelers.
I think the owners should invest a little money in each room, like, repairing/replacing shower doors, change silicon isolation in bathrooms, which were quite moldy, install at least the cheapest baseboards in the rooms, and that will make the appearances much more attractive.

Room Tip: You are better off if you get a smaller room with laminate floor. If you eat in your room, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ievuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    22
    5
    9
See reviews for
4
26
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olomouc
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2008

During last 4 years I spent 3 or four nights in this pension. My advice to all of you guys, which were unsatisfied, is: try another hotel, For Seasons, Holiday Inn, etc. are good enough for you, for the others, I highly recommend. For such little amount of money: clean bed, hot watter, heating and really good breakfast, bicyclist friendly pension.

MN:o)

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MNo_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szeged
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Never try this hotel.
I was there one night.
The glass was missing on the window.
The glass also was broken on the toilette's window.
The room was not the "cleanest" one.
There were no shampoo or soap in the bathroom.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leontinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2007

We stayed there for three days and it was a terrible mistake. At the tourist office we sought for a cheap hotel with good public transport connection and there was a pension Wildenauer with reasonable cheap rooms (~72E).
The hotel was very shabby and our room was dirty with all sorts of outlived furniture, dirty drapery, broken shower stuff, broken windows, etc. It was very warm at night, alas with open windows way to noisy (tram and traffic) and we had bad sleep. It remembered me of bad hotels in africa. The worst experience was a heroine ampul found at the top of a drawer.
The only positive part was a good breakfast buffet with fresh oranges and fruit etc. And indeed a good public transport connection (in front of the hotel). We were very happy to leave...

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank djf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 April 2006

I was desperate for a room for one night in Vienna as the train to Prague had been cancelled. I was not this desperate.
I booked this through an information centre at Westbanhof station in Vienna and was told it was a clean pension and it was the only triple room available. What a fibber she was!
The stairway to the room was filthy and stank putrid, the room was dusty, damp and dirty. The bedding smelt and their were hairs in the bed. It was so bad I would only sleep on top of the bed with my coat underneath me and I was also fully clothed. I did not sleep a wink as trams stopped every half an hour also. I would have worn a hat and gloves if I had them as I did not want my skin to touch any part of the bed.
The furniture was so old it was virtually collapsing.
The worst thing was the toilet. I have never in my life stayed anywhere that has had crusted faeces at the bottom of the pan and the bog brush had live faeces on it. The shower which I did not use as I may pick up legionaires disease was nearly as bad.
The towel were so threadbear and dirty that I let my face and hands drip dry.
There was also mice running around. Thank god I did not see cockroaches or that would have had me sleeping in the street.
There was also strange and grubby looking men staying there and one of them I think had not had any action in a while as he was very eager for some evening company.
The only good thing I can say about this flea pit was the owner and his son who spoke fantastic English and made us very welcome.
If you stay here make sure you are fully innoculated and heavily inebriated.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Kolbeck
#215 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Wieden
Pension Vienna Happymit
Pension Vienna Happymit
#89 of 110 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Alservorstadt
Hotel Pension Astra
Hotel Pension Astra
#55 of 110 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Vienna Inn Apartments
Vienna Inn Apartments
#26 of 110 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Angel's Place Vienna
#54 of 110 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
#23 of 110 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnes Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnes Hotel Vienna

Property: Arnes Hotel Vienna
Address: Quellenstrasse 120, Vienna 1100, Austria (Formerly Pension Wildenauer)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arnes Hotel Vienna 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Arnes Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildenauer Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing