We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best location in Vienna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ring
Ranked #29 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best location in Vienna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I don't think that you could pick a better location in Vienna. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to all of the major sites and the main shopping street. The hotel rooms are a decent size and carry Molton Brown products in the bathrooms (what a treat)! The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel does not have a concierge service, however the hotel staff do their best to try and get you dinner reservations or tickets to the opera. While I haven't stayed anywhere else in Vienna, I don't think you can beat the location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear 'EuropeanTraveler09', thank you for your review, we fully agree with you, you could not have picked a better location in Vienna...........best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    209
    49
    14
    13
See reviews for
107
474
71
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

An amazing place. Love this hotel. Convenience to shopping area via walking distance. The Wien metro just at the back of the hotel (across the road). I had a good sleep here. I will come back again for my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear 'Chloe L', great review, thank you, The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel is indeed an amazing place. We are looking forward welcoming you again in the future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

My partner and I stayed three nights at this elegant, boutique hotel and were very pleased with the accommodation. The environs are smart and attractive, the room is rather large, with nice appointments, including (at least in our room) an Nespresso machine, which I indulged as a prelude to the nice and substantial breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Our room was on the first floor facing the Ringstrasse, and we had no trouble with noise at all much to our surprise. The hotel has clearly invested in quality double windows to keep out the noise. The hotel is extremely well-located on the Ring. There is no separate concierge desk, but the friendly reception desk staff were more than capable. The hotel restaurant menu was appealing, however, we had only breakfast here as it was included in our rate. The spread was substantial and delicious, and the staff was professional and attentive. We would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazzdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear 'chazzdc', this is such a nice review! Thank you so much. Reading your review it tells everything.......so I have not much to add. Thanks again and I am looking forward welcoming you@The Ring in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I've been here for ankle congres, hotel us perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ugundlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear 'ugundlach', great review, good to read that The Ring was perfect for you. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Vienna has always been a special place for us and we like staying near the Opera House because so much of the city is walkable from there. In the past we've gone for the grand old classics like the Bristol and Imperial, but this trip we wanted something more casual and a bit less expensive. The Ring turned out to be near perfect for our needs. The rooms are large, comfortable, and extremely quiet despite being right on the ring. Location is just perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful, providing us with an excellent dinner recommendation and setting up transportation.. I'd say that the only downside is that the hotel restaurant didn't interest us, particularly at breakfast when it would have been nice to not rush out. And we didn't use the servces of the hotel enough to be truely wowed by them. So I'm knocking a star (really half though) off for not being perfect. But I'd certainly stay at The Ring again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear 'Hal B', great review, thks so much! You have mentioned what we are in your 1st sentence 'location and comfort without the stuffiness'......glad to read that your stay@The Ring turned out be the right experience. I am already looking forward welcoming you again in the very near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Excellent location on the central ring and an easy walk to all significant attractions and the main shopping street. Hotel is a bit smaller than I had expected, and slightly up its own backside in its attitude - a bit too cool for school. Rooms are well equipped and therefore a bit small for everything to fit in. The spa is one small top floor and is really just a room with gym equipment, a sauna and a steam room. I had expected it to be on a larger scale with resident therapists but everyone seemed to have to be brought in after booking - so I didn't bother.

The restaurant and bar were very expensive given with 5 minutes walk were dozens of excellent cheap equivalents.

Service was responsive and competent, although I was not happy to be charged 3 euros every time I wanted ice. I was happy to give more than that as a tip but I thought it was cheeky to be charged for ice to save them providing an ice machine.

On balance however it was smart, well run and well located so I rate it as VG.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthjfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear 'ruthjfj', thank you for your kind review. I do appreciate your comments, there are many times that guests expect the hotel to be bigger than it is.......it just offers 68 rooms and suites and is positioned as a design/boutique hotel, where all services do have the same strategy. Our spa is in fact a Day Spa and it is indeed outsourced although this runs very well, we never receive complaints and the services we offer here should fit like we hear from many guests. I am looking forward welcoming you again, either at The Ring or the Grand Hotel Wien, a larger classical hotel we also operate in Vienna, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Ring Hotel is in a very good location with access to the Opera House, the shopping district, the Gray Line Tour busses and the Kursolon; all only a three minute walk away. It has very comfortable beds, And the highlight in the hotel for me was the food and wine in the restaurant (go for the menu with wine). The restaurant decor is a little bleak but the food is magnificent. Wifi is free and adequate, The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is very good.. Staff are friendly.. In my opinion it is a perfectly good business hotel but uninspiring. I would cautiously recommend the hotel as it was nice but for a five star it just didn't leave me with any lasting loyalty. Now the annoying bits: I ordered champagne to the room for a special occasion via the hotels own website (confirmed submitted) and they said they never got it.. So no champagne on arrival, I had to ask for the shower to be fixed twice, I reserved an Xordinary Room (supposedly the better) and found that it was in the attic, hence no view of the magnificent city... from the skylight, The skylight motors are so loud you can hear your neighbour rise at 06.00. All in all it's a good hotel but with all the character of Vienna surrounding it it is bland,

Room Tip: Ask about a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear 'CMC777', thank you for your review, The Ring is not just a business hotel, it is a hotel where next to business travellers also guests from the entertainment, fashion, lifestyle and music industry do stay. It is positioned as a design/boutique hotel and the overall services do point out this strategy. I deeply do appreciate your comments on the room, the hotel, restauarnt and staff, I also do apologize for the missing champagne (this simply should not have happened) and the location of your room, a few of this category have a different view than other ones. For a possible future visit, please do look at the Grand Hotel Wien, a classical hotel which we also operate, I am looking forward welcoming you here. Best regards from Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#23 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#25 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
#18 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring

Property: The Ring
Address: Karntnerring 8, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Business Hotel in Vienna
#37 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel is one of Vienna's most hip City- and Lifestyle hotels. Since its opening in November 2007 it pampers its guests with outstanding comfort and casual luxury in every detail. You find the hotel best located, in the middle of the centre of Vienna, the famous art-, culture and shopping mile Wiener Ringstraße in front of the door. At Kärntner Ring number 8 the historic façade has been lovingly renovated. Inside guests are welcomed by a modern, straight and nevertheless sensual interior. New elements were merged with old ones - for example the 100-year old elevator and the plastered walls of the "Ring Suite", combined with modern design. The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, has 68 rooms and suites available, all luxuriously equipped and made of an inspiring mix of contemporary and classic design. Guests can choose between Casual-, Special, and X-ordinary rooms, as well as Cosmopolitan suites or the unique Ring Suite. The innovative illumination concept and the exquisitely made bathrooms complete the extensive feeling of living. The concept of warm brown and beige colors, refreshing pistachio and fiery red makes the hotel an amazing place. At the stylish hotelbar "Drings" by Le Zefire guests can expect the atmosphere of a French Club, great drinks, international music and cool people. On a regular basis live DJs will be contributing to the party feeling. The restaurant "at eight" is located on the ground floor and pampers the guests with outstanding international, toque winning seasonal aroma cuisine. Apart from the cuisine awarded with two toques, the innovative design concept impresses the guests. "Dressing up for the evening" - the restaurant at eight changes its clothes every afternoon and suits up to be the perfect evening restaurant for its guests. At The Ring Day Spa guests can shake off their stress from all-day life. The Spa, located on the 7th floor, offers an amazing view over the rooftops of Vienna. A fitness area with most modern training equipment and entertainment centre is available for the guests. Fresh fruit and water are on disposal for free. Changing rooms, safe deposit boxes, shower rooms and towels are available on location. For guests of the hotel, the fitness area is opened around the clock. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing