We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, optional buffet”
Review of Zum Martin Sepp

Zum Martin Sepp
Ranked #483 of 4,711 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: US$14 - US$55
Cuisines: Austrian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Döbling
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

In the outskirts of Vienna but easily accessible by train, this restaurant serves very good Wiener schnitzel. They have an extensive list of wines and lots of space. Parties take place here because they have several party rooms and can accommodate more than 400 guests overall in the restaurant.

Service was hit and miss. I ordered a beer to go with my meal and it was served after I had finished. The waiter seemed ticked off when I told him I no longer wanted it. But later, he gave us a tour of the wine cellar. But for the service of the beer, this would have been a 5.

Our hotel recommended this place and said the area is very trendy and busy at night. We went on a Monday and it was slow. Others confirmed that weekend nights it is a fun time to be in the area. Food was definitely worth the train ride.

Thank Norjeff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romana M, Manager at Zum Martin Sepp, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you very much for your rating. We will take care of your review in our next service training. Best regards from Grinzing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 558 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2017

We were a group of 37 people and we've paid 63 euros per person to have...thousand LITTLE FLIES in the salads, in the cups... they were everywere. Nobody even makes the effort to apologize, or to give us some new meals ( I've asked for - without success ). Shame on you, guys ! Never come again, my friends neither !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nadejda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romana M, Manager at Zum Martin Sepp, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't see that we changed the salads on the spot. As our guests were very hungry, they couldn't wait.
The mistake our waitress did was not to discuss, she tried to organize everything immediatly. As our headwaiter checked that something is wrong, he send an bulgarian native speaking waitress to you to solve the problems and the responsible person told us everything is fine except the salads.
As we are in a wine making area we have the problem in autumn when the harvest comes in, that there are fruit flies which go to all vinigar products and fruits. We always try to get the flies under control but we do not want to work with a lot of chemical products.
Maybe you know this problem also from fruits at home.
We are sorry, best regards from Grinzing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We took a taxi from the city center of Vienna to a place we'd chosen after much research, only to find it unexpectedly closed. Our taxi driver recommended Zum Martin Sepp and after checking out some TA reviews, we decided to check it out. The food was actually pretty good - my review would be a 4/5 if based on food alone, but the service...???

Servers in Vienna restaurants have a surly reputation, but our waiter set a new low bar for inattentiveness, rudeness and plain boorishness. We had to stop the very sweet-dispositioned greeter (who walked by our table seating other guests) multiple times to try to get our waiter to come by, and he'd just roll his eyes - he'd look at us as if to say, 'Yes, I know he's awful.'

When we finally were able to persuade other servers to get our server to bring us our check, we pointed out that we didn't receive some things we had ordered - wine, extra bottles of water. He pointed to his electronic device to show that, yes, they had been ordered...and we had to painstakingly explain to him - yes, but you did not BRING them to us.

In four decades of traveling and dining out, I've never, ever NOT left a tip. I typically will leave a 20% tip and sometimes more, but this was the first meal in my life I've tipped zero. It was that bad.

My advice - check the place out, but if your server looks surly and ticked off, asked to be moved to a different section and have a different server. The food is worth checking out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bhorner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romana M, Manager at Zum Martin Sepp, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback and your exact description. We are sorry and we already have changed the service employer, because you were not the only one.
We hope you giv us a second chance!
Best regards from Grinzing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Came here two times - they had good food. Big portions, so think twice about how much you are going to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank morrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romana M, Manager at Zum Martin Sepp, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you very much for our nice rating!
Best regards from Grinzing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

We picked this place because the original restaurant we were going to was closed. We should have gone home instead. We first ordered food off the menu - then the waiter came back and said the kitchen was closed - at 8:30 at night ? We were then told we could order off the buffet - so we did - horrible horrible food that was sitting around all day - the really bad part was a group of locals came in after us and got food ordered from the "closed kitchen". We were basically ignored by the waiters and had such high hopes for a night out in Vienna - I would not go here - not even for a glass of water. You'll get better food st McDonalds !!

Thank Msilverman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romana M, Manager at Zum Martin Sepp, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you for your feedback.
Unfortunately, we think you have been with us on "Wiener Weinwandertag" and it was very busy. The kitchen was not closed, we are very sorry for the misunderstanding. The kitchen was very busy and therefore we told our waiters to suggest our self service buffet.
But you are right, at this time our buffet was not attractive anymore because of unexpected business.
We are sorry, best regards from Grinzing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Martin Sepp also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zum Martin Sepp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing