We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep
Ranked #128 of 4,678 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$31
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: Traditional austrian restaurant working only with austrian organic products extensive wine list and excellent schnaps offer each night charming live piano music
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

I would recommend you book as it gets busy. We we lucky and managed to get a table. The food was acceptable and the wine was good. Not happy about paying 2.95 euros each for a few nuts and 2.25 each for a pianist that we could barley hear

1  Thank Lucyleak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

Asked in our hotel for a restaurant recommendation. Desk clerk said this place was his favorite. We got reservations. Good we did because the place was fully booked as we lift. The restaurant claims to have authentic Vienna food. I have Wiener schnitzel. We ordered this desert with fruit in it. All very good.

Thank rjrobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

First of all, I'm well aware and prepared that the person in charge from the restaurant will defend and put all the blame to me like what he/she did to other negative reviews!! So welcome, you arrogant!! You don't value your customers anyway.

This is my first time and definitely the last one coming to this restaurant. Not because of it well cooked food, nice atmosphere but the truly rude manager on duty with a disgusting attitude. Our experience during the dining was fine until the moment we asked for the bills. It seemed to be incorrect and over charged from something called "gratuity" that their people live partly with, according to what they gave claimed. I know it's not obligated by laws.
Do you think it's correct to add something directly on the tab without informing the customers in advance?
Do you really think every will be willing to pay such charges while they feel being forced?
Since when Austria has culture of tips? This is really pathetic.

I'm sure the customers would be more than happy to pay with all the service the having received without having to ask. But with this policy, it's not acceptable. Shame on you.

To make things worse, the manager on duty gave us a harsh reaction when we raised this issues to his attention and started talking so rudely to us that he might have kicked us out of the restaurant if he could have been able to.

I want everyone to be aware of this and avoid the place. There are much more nicer restaurants in Austria. This one will just give you the worst experience ever in Vienna or your entire life.

1  Thank matthieut85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexander s, Inhaber at Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Wrong Restaurant...
if you can send us a prove about Your accussations
i would fire the rsponsible Person and offer you full refund.
Do you mix up Austrian tax laws and Your poor english
with strange ideasand emotions
We have by law two different taxes
10% and 20% this has nothing to do
with gratuity or tip
We Charge as all top Restaurants a cover Charge of
2,95 per guest and in the area of live music
the enteratinment tax of 2 per guest.
No gratuity or tip is added to any invoice
except for pre booked groups above 8 guests
or groups by travel agents
but These bookings are signed and authorized in advance.
We would appreciate if you could send us any proof about Your
accusations and guarantee you full refund
if anything about Your Story is true.

merry Christmas and a happy new year

alexander & iris stauder
&
their White chimney sweepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

Great restaurant, start to finish. We had a bottle of gruner-veltliner which was wonderful. Several varieties of bread at the start, all delicious. I had the pork schnitzel with potato salad, daughter had the fried goat cheese and pumpkin soup, husband had the sauerkraut soup and the beef. Everything was so good, great quality food and we loved every morsel of it. Husband said that the soup was the best he's ever had. We each had dessert, I had some ice wine and husband had schnapps. Bill for all that fantastic food and drink was only €122. Matthias, our waiter, was fantastic. Great service, really friendly. Would not hesitate to go back.

Thank Teemul0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexander s, Inhaber at Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Thank you so much to go into all
the deatails of Your visit by even mentioning
matthias one top waitor of our wonderfull Crew
Looking Forward to spoiling you or Your
Friends in the very soon future

merry Christmas and a happy new year

alexander & iris stauder
&
their White chimney sweepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2017

This was my favourite restaurant in Vienna - Andre Rieu look a like waiter was amazing - gave us fabulous recommendations for both wine and food; and we weren't disappointed. Beautiful surroundings and delicious food - can't recommend this place enought.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank icklerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexander s, Inhaber at Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Spiro our Andre Rieu from Albania offers
the warmest Viennese hospitality with a Twist.... :-)
Anyhow there are many more Viennese originals
in our wonderfull Team
to enjoy and experience
Looking Forward to yur next visit

merry Christmas and a happy new year

alexander & iris stauder
&
their white chimney sweepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing