We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality, very good food”

Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep
Ranked #60 of 4,447 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: Traditional austrian restaurant working only with austrian organic products extensive wine list and excellent schnaps offer each night charming live piano music
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Had a very nice dinner here. The host, waiters, servers were all very warm and nice. Recommended some really good Austrian wines. Food was delicious. Highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wilson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexander s, Geschäftsführer at Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good to hear that you enjoyed
our kitchen , cellar and hospitality
even during the busiest time of the year
Your Kind appreciation is a big Motivation
to try it even harder

merry Christmas and a happy new year

alexander & iris stauder
&
their White chimney sweepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

They use the tag line "The Very Best of Austrian Cuisine", and it is very good. It is also "the very best of an Austrian Experience". From the moment you walk in you are immersed in rich wooden walls, high booths that deliver a nice degree of privacy and unwavering service. It feels like you have stepped into an "old-fashioned dining time machine" that delivers a pleasant experience. I think the only issue we had is that you feel a bit "nickel-and-dimed" with a rash of add-on charges, such as per person fees for piano music. It is worth a try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _ecclou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexander s, Inhaber at Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing Your impressions with
the trip advisor community.
Due to Austrian tax laws we have to clearify certain taxes
and duties.
This might be confusing but it is also very fair and transparent

merry Christmas and a happy new year

alexander & iris stauder
&
their White chimney sweepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Five ladies visited this restaurant today on recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed.
It is a very traditional place and the food was excellent but the service from our waiter totally made the experience memorable.

Nothing was too much trouble. There were 4 different types of bread - cheese, rye, walnut and bacon,all delicious.
We were then given a small taste of beef stew before our main course. One of our party is vegetarian and she was bought an alternative aperitif.
Suddenly the waiter was at our feet as he had noticed a napkin had fallen before we had and he replaced it.
The meal was very good and we took our waiters lead with food and drink and we were very pleased.
We finished with and would highly recommend the ginger schnapps.
All in all a very enjoyable time. We were made to feel very special and the attention to detail was fantastic.


Thank LynnFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexander s, Inhaber at Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a posting - Your Kind words
are the biggest possible Motivation for
our Team during this Peak Season.
Visit us again in the more quiet Season you
will be surprised
there is more to discover than you
can imagine


alexander & iris stauder
&
their white chimney sweepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Came here on recommendation of our airbnb host. The food, wine & staff were all superb. A real treat!

Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexander s, Inhaber at Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

... great when recommendations
meet expectations and experiences
looking Forward to spoiling Your Friends
or yourself again in one of the oldest
viennese Restaurants

merry Christmas and a happy new year

alexander & iris stauder
&
their white chimney sweepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

I would recommend you book as it gets busy. We we lucky and managed to get a table. The food was acceptable and the wine was good. Not happy about paying 2.95 euros each for a few nuts and 2.25 each for a pianist that we could barley hear

1  Thank Lucyleak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zum Weissen Rauchfangkehrer - The White Chimneysweep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing