We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - rooms in old wing outdated..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Saga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Hotel Saga
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Northern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great location - rooms in old wing outdated..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is slit in an old and new wing. I had a singleroom on the 5th floor, 515, in the old wing. No view and not able to open the windows. The only way to get the room cooled down was with the A/C = a lot of noise.. The bathroom was very small but clean. Staff gave good service. The best thing with the hotel is it's location - right downtown Tromsø.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new wing with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflies22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    136
    52
    13
    9
See reviews for
37
90
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed with international friends and we found the hotel superb at very reasonable prices - especially considering the cost of Norway!

Great location, although in a small town not such a concern, but a stones throw from the Northern most Cathedral, and the souvenir shop,

The bed/bathroom, were comfortable and clean,
Staff was very good and proffessional,
Food was very nice, and Sundays they have a 3 o'clock complementary tea/waffles which is great!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the river! Amazing and with clear skies you can look out for the aurora f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

If you want a hotel in the centee of Tromso and don't want to pay more than you have to, I can recommend this hotel. The rooms vary in size, and we were lucky to be given a large room in the old part of the hotel. It was clean and comfortable with a view over the cathedral. Breakfast was included, and was as about standard for Norway, with eggs, bread, hot dogs and assorted meats, cheese and fish and the free waffles available in the afternoon were really welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid February as a base for Northern Lights tours. I asked for a nice view & we were put in a room on the 4th floor with a great view of the Arctic Cathedral & the Bridge.The room was comfortable with a decent sized shower en-suite & very comfortable beds. Breakfast was included and was Norwegian buffet style with plenty of choice and coffee was available at all times. Although we were returning late at night, reception was always manned, and the bus stops for the airport shuttle are very near. You can comfortably walk to all the attractions in central Tromso.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view & they will try to give you one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiadreamer204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I loved my stay here. The staff were friendly and always ready to help, breakfast was plentiful with a lot of variety, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The reception staff were always eager to help us in going around Tromso.
The bathroom was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ru_Ma9Calcutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very friendly receptionist. Requested a room with a view and given one of the older rooms on the 7th floor. Warm, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Decent size bathroom with plenty of towels.
Spent three nights here.
Breakfasts were very good with wide choice of hot and cold dishes. Best coffee we have had in an hotel for many years!
Option each afternoon to make your own waffles and to spread them with strawberry jam and cream. Lovely. More freshly made coffee available if required.
All in all a nice reasonably priced hotel, well situated in a lovely city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is a great little hotel. We're in the middle of a week's stay here, and think it's great for so many different things.

Room quality: We have a small twin room with shower. It's warm, quiet, comfortable and has all we need

Shower: Great, roomy, hot, powerful, with the benefit of underfloor heating which we used to great effect to air our winter clothes

Hanging Space, Drawers: The room is small and there isn't room for more storage. That's fine if you know in advance. We came with only hand luggage anyway

Breakfast: It's a good Norwegian buffet breakfast. Plentiful, clean, tasty, excellent breads, good coffee, good selection

Waffles: Wow, free waffles in the afternoon! Just wow! So good, so necessary in mid winter

Dinner: We opted for dinner a couple of times. There's a hot dish and a cold buffet. We're talking of the type of food you want to come home to after a hard day's sightseeing. It's not gourmet, it's good value for money. Tasty and as much as you can eat.

Staff: All go out of their way to help, and in English, too. Top class service. If they don't know themselves, they know someone who can answer your question.

Internet: Free WiFi 24 hours a day. But why are you in your room?

Value for money: Top of its class

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gtbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 km away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 km away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Saga

Property: Quality Hotel Saga
Address: Richard Withs Plass 2, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Saga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Saga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing