We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveller rating
370
217
59
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
217
59
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location roast restaurant hotel door airport bus breakfast buffet amazing breakfast busy hotel family room junior suite tours start hurtigruten ship tours leave salmon easy walking distance wide selection excellent view i highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 669 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We visited here as a part of a recent Scandinavian trip. This hotel was booked for us as part of the tour, however I would certainly stay here again should we ever return.
The location is great, right by the harbour. Admittedly this does present the problem of th odd massive cruise ship blocking your bedroom view, but on the whole this was not that intrusive.
As many other reviews have mentioned, the breakfast is great, probably the best selection I have seen in any hotel anywhere. They are also very well catered to dairy alternatives (as is most of Norway and Sweden it seems) which was an unexpected bonus for my husband.
The room was larger than I expected given some of the reviews I had read (and we did not have a superior room). Bathroom was very small with shower only but the floor was underheated which was lovely.

There was also the bonus that all of our pre-booked excursions left from just outside the hotel - really convenient.
We did not have much interaction with staff, but they were veery pleasant on checkin/out. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElyFraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear ElyFraz,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review!
It really means a lot :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Super location in Tromso, probably the best.

Super friendly and professional staff. Breakfast is very good, self serve with fresh breads/meats and cereal and fruits basically everything you coukd want.

Rooms are functional, and we enjoyed boat watching from our large window which was lovely if the weather is very poor its a nice place to be.

It's a relaxed hotel, super clean and will absolutely go back there in the future

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornishpixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Cornishpixie1,

Thank you so much for the lovely review!
I'm so happy to see you enjoyed your stay :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

There was nothing that really stood out about this hotel for me. However that works the other way as well because there wasn't anything negative that stood out about it either! The location was the best feature and the room was overlooking the fjord (and the Hurtigruten terminal). You are within walking distance to most of the city and there are two car parks directly outside the hotel (one of them however needs an app only downloadable to Norwegian phones). The rooms were clean and basic and there is a decent offering at the breakfast buffet.
It has got to be mentioned that this is a very busy hotel!
Average hotel in a great location! Would stay again, but would prefer rooms to be slightly more modern.

Room Tip: High floor for better views.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Yanni,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review :-)
Hope you had a great time in Tromsø!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

Just been to Tromsø for a long weekend and stayed at the Scandic Ishavshotel which overlooks the sea, the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Booked a direct flight to Tromsø from Gatwick and returned via a connecting flight from Oslo.
I went on a couple excursions, one was a 5hr Fjords cruise and the scenery was breath taking, the other was a 7 hr Northern lights tour which I was amazed how spectacular the Aurora Borealis is.
It’s very expensive whilst eating and drinking out, I paid £13 for half a pint of lager.
I will be going back and would recommend this as a place to visit.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Dave K,

Thank you so much for the lovely review! hope you had a great time in Tromsø :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Hotel is located strategically just right at the Tromso Harbor. Our room has a very nice and breathtaking view of the harbor. Reception people were very friendly and courteous. Room is just basic and a but small for 3 people. No tissue was provided, except toilet tissue.

Overall it was a good stay since we just spent 1 night there and just enjoyed the view outside.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ria900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Ria900,

Thank you for the lovely review :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews