We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skansen Hotell
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter City Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Scandic Grand Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter Amalie Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$150
US$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
20
44
31
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
44
31
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight entrancevending machinefast wifiwarm roomrecommend this hotelairport buscity centrefree coffeesingle roomnorthern lightsthe main shopping streetwithin walking distancefew minutes walkbreakfast roomcomfy bedhotel is locatedperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 109 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed for four nights. On arrival, we were greeted with a very indifferent young girl. We had to pay our full tariff before we were shown our room (which I think is very odd). The room was small, but comfortable. The worst part were the pillows - I think they were 20 years old! Really lumpy and had that musty smell. We went downstairs and asked for a firmer pillow, but were given another 2 lumpy ones! Slept badly the whole time, which was pretty annoying as we had jetlag. I understand Norway is expensive, but good sleep should not be an 'optional extra' in a hotel. Shower seals were bad, so the bath mat was saturated every morning. At least they replaced towels, etc. daily. Wouldn't stay there again, would pay the extra for a better hotel. Breakfast was very good. The other staff were nice, but still very distant, which i found strange if you work in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finedinermelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early February and chose it based on being cheap enough to afford without going too downmarket.

The location is very good for the town centre, being a walk of less than 5 minutes to the main shopping street and a further 5 minutes takes you to the waterfront and several restaurants. The room itself is small but functional. The bathroom was excellent and had gently heated floor tiles and a spacious powerful shower but no bath. The bed was not so good, the mattress was too soft and the bedding was 2 small single duvets rather than a double. Pillows were totally inadequate. There was a wall mounted flat TV but it had only 4 channels - all Norwegian. I would have expected an English speaking news channel as a minimum.

Housekeeping arrived at seemingly random times and often we were in the room at the time. On these occasions they gave us some towels and didn't return when we were out. On days when we were out when they arrived beds were not made up and bed linen was not changed at all during a 7 night stay. Breakfast was provided in a small room with 5 tables seating 20 maximum and was typically Scandanavian. There was bread, cooked meats, tinned fish, cold boiled eggs, jams, pickles, pate, cheese (very bland) and muesli. There was a coffee machine and orange juice dispenser. On 3 out of 7 mornings the orange juice ran out and was left for almost 30 minutes before being replaced. If you like the option of a toaster, hot food items or breakfast pastries then look elsewhere.

The hotel has a decent size seating area beside reception with a pay per cup coffee machine and a vending machine selling crisps and chocolate. There is free wi-fi for all guests, just ask reception for the password.

We paid the equivalent of 600 GBP for 7 nights bed and breakfast and given the location and expensive nature of Tromso it was pretty good value for 2 people.

I am saying I would not recommend this hotel but neither would I advise you not to stay. It was OK. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richy280983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Situated near the bridge and within 5 minutes walk of Tromso's, er, city centre. There is wif-fi in the rooms and the breakfast is quite good. Staff were helpful and generous with offering to keep our luggage, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevewado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The hotel is not fancy but it's clean, quiet, service is good, breakfast is excellent, location is right in the center of town. The bathroom floors are warmed up, so it's pleasant to step out of the shower. Free Wi-Fi and computer in the lobby. You can get sandwiches for lunch at the breakfast room -- good option especially if you are planning to drive around the area, like we did.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aperel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Given the prices in Norway my 85 E / single sounded reasonable, but it is far from what you would get anywhere in Europe for this money. Tromso is a small town, so I did not realise that most hotels are in the central area :-).

Very basic hotel, room was quite rusty, definitelly needed a lot of fresh air, courtains not very effective against the overnight light. Braekfast just decent, the scandinavian way with dfish, cheese, boiled eggs, etc.

Since I was there to enjoy the Midnight sun I do not use the room to much, but a couple of hours.

I would recommend this hotel for definitelly no frills att all but overnight accommodation...although its lobby is decent, with nice armchairs and main street view.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvdima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews