We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,835)
Filter reviews
1,835 results
Traveller rating
1,032
547
153
70
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
547
153
70
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kate moss light dinner central station upstairs lounge evening buffet clarion collection afternoon snack free dinner included in the price fantastic breakfast top floor hotel breakfast superior room the hotel offers free coffee an expensive city breakfast is served
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 1,835 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2015

This hotel has a great central location, good kitchen, frender employees and good rooms.
I always stay here when I am in Oslo. Recommend the foigra burger in therestaurant after a busy day. The breakfast is also good with a wide selection of food to start off your day.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _dneb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2015

Dear _dneb2014,

Thank you for leaving such a great feedback from your last stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret. I am very pleased to see that we were able to make your stay memorable. We hope to see you back again with us soon.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2015

The only drawback (and this is so small that I rate the hotel as well worth 5 stars) is that the rooms are dark. This is in fact typical for all the hotels in this chain. So I might plan to bring an extra lamp next time I stay here. Because I do wish to stay here again: superb location, nice and friendly staff, excellent breakfast.

Room tip: You might wish to ask for a room facing the back yard if you plan to have a window open since one part of the hotel faces a busy street.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EspenSOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Dear EspenSOre,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to reach out and share your great comments. Your feedback really inspire us to continue personalizing each and every guest stay. Anything you need during future stays, please do not hesitate to contact our front desk or me directly and we will do our utmost to cater for your needs. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home in Oslo.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2015

Excellent food. Nice looking rooms, lounge and breakfast area. Many small details that makes a big difference. The sheep on the wall in the room, the books available in the lounge. Very friendly employees.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Kari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Dear Kari G,

I am so excited to hear that your experience at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret was wonderful. Many thanks for taking the time to share it with us.
It is extremely satisfying for all of us to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Great to see that you noticed the sheep on the wall. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2015

My friend and I fancied a weekend away exploring a new city and picked Oslo. We pretty quickly decided to stay at this hotel as the reviews were so good and who can resist the promise of free cake and evening meal.
We arrived at the central station and the hotel is really easy to find, only a 5-7 min walk away. We were checked in really quickly and even got some sandwiches as we had missed the evening meal. So that was a nice touch.
There was also tea and coffee facilities in the reception area and a bowl of fruit you could help yourself.

The room was great, some people on here have made comments on how small the rooms are but we had plenty of space to move around and use the desk and leave our suitcases open on the floor. No space issues. It was clean and modern, the bathroom was superb. Very clean and a modern wet room kind of bathroom. There was no wardrobe as such but some hanging space.
The minibar had drinks and snacks at ok prices, slightly expensive but for Oslo I think it was acceptable.

We eagerly awaited the breakfast the next morning as the reviews have been great. And we were not disappointed. There was a great selection of fresh breads, various cold meats, cheeses and fish. Jams, chocolate spread, yoghurts, cereal, smoothies and power shots. As for hot food there was bacon, eggs, sausages, omelettes and beans. I have stayed in a fair few hotels over the years and breakfast has always been ok but often hotel breakfasts are lacking in quality as they have to feed so many people. But this was without a doubt the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. The quality was amazing and everything was prepared so well and looked really tasty.

As for location this hotel is great to explore Oslo. There is shops and supermarkets nearby and you can walk to the inner city sights. We always popped back in the afternoon for the afternoon tea and pastries. These were served in the lounge on the 7th floor which was over 2 levels with a terrace. There was comfy armchairs and chairs and tables. Very cosy and welcoming. We helped ourselves to tea and mini croissants which were so yummy.

The light evening meal was also served in the lounge and with Oslo being quite expensive we made the most of it. We ate here every night. And again the food was great. There was a choice of a hot meal (over the 3 evenings we had spaghetti bolognese, salmon with potatoes n veg, chillie and taccos) and a soup as well as bread, cheese, cold meats, fish and salad. For a free meal this was outstanding both in choice and quality. Very tasty.
Drinks can be purchased for your meal and they are a bit pricey but then everything in Oslo is expensive.

And of course the staff were really friendly and happy to help.
Overall it was a great weekend away and if I could take this hotel with me to all the places I would like to travel to then I would!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jiras410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Dear jiras410,

Thank you so much for your very kind regards and for taking the time to share it with us. I am thrilled to hear that your most recent experience with us was above and beyond.
We strive for an exceptional guest experience for each and every one of our visitors. Your review is certainly a great testimony in this regard. I hope you will grant us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Please feel free to contact me directly prior to your next arrival, in case you should have any queries. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2015

We couldn't fault this hotel. Its position in the city centre is perfect, only a 4-5 minute walk to the main railway station and bus stops. The Oslo Information Centre is also right beside the station so all amenities are close by the hotel. The hotel is in a very grand Art Deco building and it seems that it has been recently renovated as everything is fresh, new and modern. We loved everything about the hotel, not the least of which were the meals provided within the price.

The breakfast buffet is probably one of the best we have experienced, and we have traveled a lot. The breads are sensational, and there is a dizzying array of cold meats, cheeses, condiments, eggs done any way you wish, bacon, sausages, croissants etc etc.

The evening meal consists of several hearty salads, which would have been just fine on their own (unless you are a major carnivore!) but then they also provide one or 2 hot dishes as well, so there is no excuse for going hungry. The quality of the fresh produce is very good.

Tea and coffee of different sorts are available to guests all day plus pastries in the afternoon which are nice to come back to if you are around the hotel area at the right time.

I am uncharacteristically going on about the food at the hotel (it usually isn't very important to us when we are exploring a new place) because for the 4 days we were in Oslo end of Feb/beginning of March it rained. So there was great comfort and attraction to coming back to the hotel early, getting a hot drink and relaxing in the warm and inviting environment.

The free wifi was strong and reliable.

We are very very impressed with the three Clarion Collection Hotels we stayed at during our trip to Norway to see the Northern Lights. We stayed in the CC Havnekontoret in Bergen, the CC Hotel With in Tromso and this hotel, the Folketeateret in Oslo. We loved each one of them and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else if we have a CC hotel to choose from.

They may seem a little expensive on first viewing them but don't be put off as the meals provided saved us a lot of money as Scandinavia is very expensive to eat out and it probably finished up overall being less expensive than if we had stayed in an ordinary hotel.



Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
2  Thank hobart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2015

Dear hobart_10,

Thank you so much for your remarkably comprehensive feedback. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community. It’s a great inspiration to all of us to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and our light evening meal. Also great to read that your stays at Clarion Collection in Tromsø and Bergen were memorable. We will do our best to exceed your expectations also the next time your are coming to stay with us. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly prior to your next arrival so that we can ensure it is as wonderful as the first one. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews