We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
371
165
61
29
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
165
61
29
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar grand experience the room service menu indoor pool fabulous location parliament building upgraded room only stayed one night fabulous breakfast huge selection air conditioning central location the heart of the city room was large royal palace public areas breakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 654 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights while exploring Oslo. The position is superb, in a central position on the main street. If you are coming from the airport, it's about 5 minutes walk from the Nationaltheatret stop for the Flytoget train (although make sure you come out of the right station exit). The hotel has lots of character, and our room, although not that large, was comfortable and well fitted: the bed was really good. The air conditioning was quiet, but seem to struggle a bit to cool the room during hot weather. There is free wi-fi, but irritatingly, it was unreliable, even in the lobby. We just had breakfasts in the hotel, no other meals, but the choice and quality at breakfast is really good. Service during our stay was generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Verulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Dear, Guest.

Thank you for taking your time to review us!

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Sometimes it's humanly necessary to step out of the hotel loyalty programs to spoil one's self Grand Budapest Hotel style at this bonafide movie-set perfect property. The architecture is stunning, furniture comfortable and antiquated with 1950s charm. You look for Doris Day or Princess of Monaco, Grace, but enjoy glamour that's cozy. I came in for tea and a look around the rooms and am staying here next visit as the rooms are well appointed, spacious, clean, glitzy and old worldly. Like a spy movie.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street for view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotherTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Dear, Guest.

Thank you for taking your time to review us!

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

The location is probably the best in town, with most major attractions within walking distance. The hotel was completely renovated over a year ago to give it a mixture of old world charm with modern facilities. Service was excellent at all levels with friendly and professional staff. It has to be the number 1 hotel in Oslo. The concierges were very nice but lack somewhat in experience. Excellent breakfast with huge selection.

Room Tip: The best views are over the square in front of the hotel. As there is no traffic allowed they are pretty quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frozzie-deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Dear, Guest.

Thank you for taking your time to review us!

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

My husband & I stayed our last night in Norway at the Grand, and it was perfect. Great service, very classy, great location right near all of the good shopping in Norway. We visited the rooftop bar and our bartender was super nice. Great cocktails! The room was very nice, neatly decorated. We ate breakfast at the hotel the next morning which was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarheelTravelGSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Dear, Guest.

Thank you for taking your time to review us!

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

The hotel is located on Karl Johan, which is the main road through Oslo city. It is close to the royal palace, and about a 10 minute walk from the train and bus central.
It is an old and distinguished hotel, quite luxurious, and you feel very welcomed when you get there.
The room I got was very lovely, and I even got a bathtub.
The only thing that I did not like that much is that it feels like a maze to get around, half-stairs and hallways that are hard to remember. And if you have heavy luggage it is a bit hard.

Wonderful breakfast at the restaurant that is next door to the hotel.
A lovely place if you can spend a bit of money, and want a luxury feel to it.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank StineMilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Dear, Stinemilla.

Thank you for taking your time to review us!

Your feedback is essential for our improvement and we are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay at The Grand.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews