We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
260
223
49
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
223
49
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews organic breakfast aker brygge four poster bed animal skins bridal suite steam room homemade granola boutique hotel eco friendly hotel rooms are small quiet street bath products lovely boutique nice neighborhood waterfront area royal palace family room
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 561 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Spent three nights at the Oslo Guldsmeden during a trip to Norway. The hotel, while not fancy or fussy, was a wonderful place to stay. The hotel has a slightly hipster, organic vibe about it. The rooms are comfortable with teak beds with reindeer hides on them and very nice organic mattresses. The towels are organic cotton, the toilet paper is made from recycled paper, the food for breakfast is locally sourced. The lobby and restaurant are filled with comfy leather chairs and chesterfields. The staff behind the desk were always pleasant and very helpful with issues that came up during our stay. We stayed in a family room which was two connected rooms with two bathrooms, a computer, and tv.

The location was very nice. Instead of being on Karl Johan's Gate which is a bit more congested and touristy, the Guldsmeden is in a more residential area of Oslo, Solli, minutes from the American Embassy and a short walk to Aker Brygge.

Breakfast was a buffet of a variety of organic breads, fruit, meats and cheeses, eggs, yoghurt, and some vegetable salad. Best to get their early to get the best selection.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Oslo is a great city, very relaxed and the waterside is beautiful. It is however extremely expensive for everything. If your travelling from the airport don't get a taxi you'll need a small mortgage instead take the train it's incredibly easy and takes you right to the centre of Norway. We stayed at the Carlton Guldsmenden it has loads of character. The rooms are a nice size and clean. Personally I think they need to do something with the bathrooms but they are perfectly OK. I have given this a very good because of its character which a lot of the other hotels lack but also its value for money given its central position.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandyfeet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located in the Frogner area which is mainly residential and quiet, but is conveniently close to Aker Brygge, the Royal Palace, and within walking distance of Frogner Park.

The hotel is beautifully decorated, and the staff is friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is also very good.

The rooms have comfortable beds and are beautifully decorated with lovely wooden floors but are not very practical:
- The room we were in was so small that we could not open a suitcase without blocking an entire side of the bed, so this meant one person had to roll in and out of the bed
- The cushions leave hairs all over the bed, so when we arrived and found a bed full of hairs we freaked out a little
- the sink and bathroom are very small making it difficult to manouever around

One meter more in length would have solved a lot of practical problems.

Having said that, we paid 106€ for a standard double room which was a great deal.

We would definitely consider staying again but in one of the larger rooms.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Elsa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016

I will preface this by saying that Oslo is an incredibly expensive city. This hotel was reasonably priced for the area. The location is excellent. Almost everything is within walking distance or a very reasonable uber ride. The setting is a bit more relaxed and residential. The staff is amazing. Everyone was very helpful, nice and welcoming. The rooms are a bit small, but well appointed. Many other reviewers mention that they are cozy which is an accurate description. The breakfast buffet was full of yummy, locally sourced options. I would definitely stay here again when returning to Oslo.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank pkennetthensel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

This place is a nice and different hotels. Can strongly recommend this to book.
Personally and cosy different stile inside.
People are weary helpful. Room is nice with fantastic soap and conditioning in shower. Great breakfast wig fresh bread, fruit, all ecological

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank MikaelKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews