We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,145)
Filter reviews
2,145 results
Traveller rating
829
890
324
69
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
890
324
69
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station opera house great location bella bambina old railway ironing room same building nutshell tour hotel entrance great breakfast free coffee airport express reception area karl johans gate public transportation rooms are small superior room
Filter
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 2,145 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2015

This hotel was an unbelievable value in a very expensive (but amazing) city. Breakfast was hands-down first class, and included in the rate. If coming from OSL airport, just take the train into the Oslo Central Station, walk out of the building and turn to your direct left. It is not easy to spot at first. The entrance is around the corner, but not well marked. The reception area had free tea and coffee running 24 hours a day.

When we left for our very early morning flight, they had a take away bag of food and drinks waiting for us. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bathroom was HUGE in our room. It is housed in an old railway station which makes it fun in and of itself. We would definitely return to this great hotel!

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TammyTravelsTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2015

Hey Tammy.

Thanks for staying with us!
We are delighted that you had such a great experience in our Hotel. We LOVE to impress our guests and our staff strive to be the best in class.

Glad you enjoyed our breakfast as well. Palm oil free and a lot of organic products, make our breakfast tastier, healthier and more sustainable!

We hope you will come back soon and discover even more what Oslo has to offer.

All the best
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located for the station and exploring Oslo. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price and was a buffet which had a wide range of foods.. Having breakfast included was a real bonus as food and drink was very expensive in Oslo! Also the free tea and coffee in reception was a nice touch. In terms of price most things were expensive in Oslo so unsure if the hotel was good or bad value! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

Dear guest.

Thank you for staying with us and thank you also for the review and comments.

We are super happy that you enjoyed the stay and that our product and service was rated at top level.
I truly hope that travels will bring you back to Oslo and that we will see you in our lobby again soon.

Wish you all the best and may 2015 bring a lot of fun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2015

After delivering my rental car at Oslo airport, we took a 23 minute train ride to Oslo S (central station). In a few minutes we were checked in at this very nice hotel, which is right next door to the train station. The rooms were spacious and modernly decorated (the wallpaper print was a bit over the top), with comfortable chairs and beds. From the hotel you just walk the Karls Johans gate past nice shops to the Slottet (Royal Palace). Also near the hotel is the beautiful Opera building. The breakfast at the hotel was very good. The staff was very helpful. Next day we took the train back to the airport. In short this is a great location to go when you have limited time to explore beautiful Oslo.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

Hey Edo.

Thanks a lot for you review and comments.

We're happy to hear that you liked our Hotel and that the staff and breakfast was the best thing together with the location.

Our art is different and very interesting, and some of them a bit crazy. We have 170 rooms and 113 of them are designed individually, so next time you're around I'm pretty sure you will have another room with different artworks.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

In the meantime, take care and have fun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2015

Great location if you come into Oslo for a day or two and then want to get back out as it is attached to the train station. Most of the buses and trams also leave from right in front of the hotel. Pretty standard, simple rooms. Good breakfast. Clean. Very simple lobby area, more limited services offered, but those that worked there were very nice and eager to help.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

Dear Eric.

Thanks for your review and comments.
Great to hear that you found our staff nice and eager to help! That's what we do. We just want to make people happy and when we do, it gives us so much energy and that is very contagious. :-)

We truly hope to see you back with us soon.

Take care and all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2015

We are a young couple who usually choose design or boutique hotels, so chose the Comfort Hotel Grand Central partly because it looked interesting and well designed. We were pleasantly surprised that despite the price and the fact that this is a chain hotel, it has the feel of something much more high end. The communal areas are a bit basic, but the room itself (we had a superior) was extremely large, nicely decorated and designed, and extremely clean. We particularly enjoyed the bathroom, which was very smart and had an excellent shower. No it isn't quite as stylish as the official photographs, but as we were paying a fraction of what you might expect from a boutique hotel, it wasn't at all disappointing.

When we arrived we did ask if we could switch to a room with a bath (I had seen photos on here!), but were told it wasn't possible. Slightly disappointing but not a big deal. The room was very quiet throughout our stay, though at time we felt it was a little chilly and the heating did not appear to be very adjustable – we had it on maximum the whole time and would have liked a little more heat when we came in from the snow!

Breakfast was excellent – really very good for the price. A full range of cooked food, cold ham/cheese etc, fruits, muesli and cereals, juices, baked goods etc. It was quite unfortunate that during our stay, as it was the Christmas/New Year holiday, breakfast was served until 11am everyday, except for the last day when it inexplicably changed to 9.30am. We were most disappointed as this was the day we were flying so were looking forward to the breakfast. We were told by the staff that it was a weekday so breakfast finished at 9.30, despite the fact that every other day we had been there it was also a weekday. I think there was some confusion, but it would have been nice to know this when we checked in and were told 'breakfast it until 11am'.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a budget, stylish option which is right in the centre of Olso with amazingly easy access to both the station and the rest of the city. It's also a 2 minute stroll to the Opera House, which is fantastic.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

Dear guest.

Thank you for choosing our Hotel!
We are delighted that you enjoyed it and that you rate us high on value for money.

We have 170 rooms and 113 of them are designed individually so next time you're around, you have another great and cool room.

The heating issue is now solved as it was connected with the renovation of the central station next door.

Welcome back to Oslo and we hope that we will see you at our Hotel again soon.
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews