We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,907)
Filter reviews
1,907 results
Traveller rating
594
970
264
57
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
970
264
57
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vending machine city box no frills train station self service checkin and checkout automatic check budget hotel the ground floor luggage storage common areas opera house extra towels rooms are basic checking in family room free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 1,907 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2017

City Box was a good choice for our weekend break in Oslo, cheaper than a lot of the Oslo hotels and much better than expected! The actual 'hotel' is quite large with a lounge area, a kitchen area and a cute cafe next door for breakfast and pizzas. It sounds like a youth hostel but was much nicer than that.

The room was small but cosy and had everything you needed. The bathroom floor was heated which was a godsend in December. Check-in was via a computer, but you could call someone for assistance if, like us. you get your details wrong!

Oslo is a lovely city and well worth a visit, especially at Christmas time, just be aware that it is very expensive, particularly for alcohol!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Christel S, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi Carolinus!

Thanks for your kind review of our hotel!

Always fun to receive feedback from guests that seems to understand our concept. We do our best to offer a simple and modern solution at what we consider to be a fair rate, and we are glad to see that you felt we offered just that!

Also happy to read that you enjoyed our lovely city during Christmas time :)

Thanks again for your recommendation, and we do hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2017

Fantastic location within quick minutes from the train station even with many bags! Walking distance to a lot of main attractions or to bus stop/tram stops. However, with the central location, it meant that it was somewhat noisy in the night as our room was facing the road but nothing that was too continuous to be too disruptive to our sleep.

We booked a Family Room. I know the website does say 18 sq m but it was really small. You need to be creative to lay out luggage for 4 people and give warnings before opening the bathroom door! Having stayed at the Family Room at Citybox Bergen (which was easily 50% larger), it was a really tight squeeze here. The amenities amenities in the room and the common areas though, made up for this.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trumommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Christel S, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi Trumommy!

Thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel!

Really cool that you liked our location and the amenities in our common areas :)

We do agree that some of our family rooms can be a bit tight if you have a lot of luggage and are many people staying in the room, but this is the cheapest option we offer for four persons. If you want more space, we would suggest two double or twin rooms :)

Thanks again for your recommendation, and we do hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2017

Hotel is 10 minutes walk from the metro station. Room is small but very clean and comfortable. Staff speaks good English. Quite a number of attractions within walking distance. I would recommend this to budget travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YSLOH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Christel S, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi YSLOH87!

Thanks for your kind review of our hotel!

Always fun to receive feedback from guests that seems to understand our concept. We do our best to offer a simple and modern solution at what we consider to be a fair rate, and we are glad to see that you felt we offered just that! :)

Thanks again for your recommendation, and we do hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2017 via mobile

If your looking for somewhere closely located to the central and cheap, this is the place to stay.
The rooms are VERY small. It is literally the size of a room, but it will do and not something to complain about. It’s clean, and the staff are really friendly. You can ask for extra towels etc at no extra cost. It is automated check in and out which can be quite confusing and i would recommend people pay with just card as there is no option to pay with cash so you have to contact a member of staff.

Modern and a great location. We walked everywhere!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ambersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Christel S, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Hi ambersal!

Wow! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel!

We do agree that the rooms categorized as "small" are indeed just that. If you feel the need for more crawlspace, we recommend upgrading to a standard room for only a small extra fee :)

Anyway very glad to read that you liked our location and that you found our rooms to be modern!

Thanks again for a fantastic recommendation, and we do hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2017

This is a modern hotel with fairly basic rooms which are nonetheless comfortable and clean. There are limited amenities, but there is a care/restaurant and you are right in the city if you need anything. Given the expense of Oslo in general this is a good value option. The location is a short walk from the station and the tourist boats for visiting the various museums. The trams are also a good option. I would recommend this hotel if you just need a decent bed for the night without any extra frills.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LKBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Christel S, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Hi LKBrown!

Thanks for your kind review of our hotel!

Always fun to receive feedback from guests that seems to understand our concept. We do our best to offer a simple and modern solution at what we consider to be a fair rate, and we are glad to see that you felt we offered just that! :)

Thanks again for your recommendation, and we do hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews