We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emotional and thought provoking place to visit”

The Nobel Peace Center
Ranked #42 of 341 things to do in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Nobel Peace Center is the museum about the NobelPeacePrize. Exhibitions, guided tours, debates and family activities. #VisitPeace
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I visited the centre with my boyfriend on our trip to Oslo as it's somewhere we were both interested to visit.

The photographic exhibition downstairs "Generation Wealth" was excellent. Really thought provoking and interesting. It's really well laid out with lots of information boards explaining the photographs and the stories of the people in them. It chronicles lives so different from the norm and how the people in them live, it really opens your eyes to another world.

The exhibition on the atomic bombs was small, but heart breaking. There are photos and artefacts on display that really brought a tear to my eye.

This is then followed by the exhibit on the Nobel Peace Prize Winners. It's so interesting to read about them and the work they have done.

Overall this is a very nice museum which sends out a very powerful message about the amazing work people have done in the world.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeline C, Staff at The Nobel Peace Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your visit! We appreciate your feedback. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"alfred nobel"
in 53 reviews
"peace prize winners"
in 53 reviews
"past winners"
in 42 reviews
"previous winners"
in 31 reviews
"world peace"
in 20 reviews
"photo exhibition"
in 15 reviews
"syrian refugees"
in 11 reviews
"permanent exhibits"
in 11 reviews
"oslo pass"
in 89 reviews
"gift shop"
in 50 reviews
"thought provoking"
in 12 reviews
"guided tour"
in 34 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 48 reviews
"city hall"
in 41 reviews
"small museum"
in 31 reviews
"aker brygge"
in 17 reviews
"great museum"
in 13 reviews
Filter

115 - 119 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

This museum was by far my favourite in Oslo. Really informative, thought provoking and interesting. The exhibition on previous Nobel Peace prize recipients is done very well via a walk through interactive display. I’m surprised by how underrated this museum is in the list of things to do in Oslo - i’d certainly recommend it!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank syh104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeline C, Staff at The Nobel Peace Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018 via mobile

a place full with shops inside,small items with great people which they get Nobel prize,a short visit is worth,beside you can visit nearby an old fortress and Oslo marina

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank BeniamitaBernadett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeline C, Staff at The Nobel Peace Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

The museum was certainly thought-provoking, but was a tad too politically biased for my taste. Pretty much any opportunity to slam the USA was seized, from The Wall exhibit outside, an exhibit on wealth and life styles of the rich (mostly from the USA), and the use of the A-Bomb in Japan. There's not a terribly huge number of things to do in Oslo, so I suppose a visit to this museum which is centrally located and gets you out of the cold is worth it, but if something else pops up I recommend you give some serious thought to the alternative option.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank RamblinJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeline C, Staff at The Nobel Peace Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. It is very interesting to hear how you experienced the center.
It wasn't our intention to slam the USA, and we're sorry you interpreted it this way. Allow me to clarify a few points.

When the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to ICAN, an organisation working to abolish nuclear weapons, we couldn't omit to mention the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. The focus was on the Japanese survivors and their participation in ICAN.

Regarding Wall on Wall, the USA are mentioned alongside many other countries: Northern Ireland, Spain/Morocco, North-Korea/South Korea, Israel/Palestine, Irak, Cyprus...

Finally, when it comes to Generation Wealth, the photographer, Lauren Greenfield is from Los Angeles and this is where her project started. The exhibition features also Dubai, Iceland, Russia and China.

I can only wish you had mention your experience to our Front of House staff, I'm sure an interesting conversation would have taken place.

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me if there's anything I can help with: ac(at)nobelpeacecenter(dot)org

Best,
Adeline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018

We like the Peace center alot. Very good pictures with a story to think about. And specially the Bomb museum was very much to think about. We used about 3 hours in the center.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Jens Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeline C, Staff at The Nobel Peace Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nobel Peace Center also viewed

 

Been to The Nobel Peace Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing