We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant basis for Oslo visit”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Sitting room
Sofa bed (Hovden BedInside)
Bed room 1
Bed room 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Oslo, Eastern Norway

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Turkish first
Any
English first
Carignano
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant basis for Oslo visit”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

In the house of Truls and Kare you live on a whole floor with a terrasse that has an amazing view over the Oslo Fjord. The hosts were very friendly and served us a bottle of white wine upon arrival. The house lies a bit outside the City center but train or bus take you there within 20 minutes. Those with a sleeping problems should make sure they sleep on the side of the Fjord.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the view from the terrasse
Liked least: the noise on the street side
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihgy
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular in every way”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The evening my family and I watched the sunset for three hours was one of the most incredible experiences I have ever had. The top of the house was spotless and amazingly our host changed our towels every other day. The house is across the street from the bus which runs very frequently (on a precise schedule) and takes less than 15 minutes to get to the center of town. The bus trip itself is along the fjord. The only caveat is that there really is no kitchen - only a refrigerator and coffee machine.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABodley
Pullman, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for a Vacation”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

(This review is partly identical to that of the Unique Seafront cottage, but I’ve added specifics regarding the Waterfront Suite.) We had the opportunity to stay in both properties owned by Truls and Kåre. Both are lovely vacation rentals and have their benefits and drawbacks. I am completely confident giving both properties “Excellent” ratings, but travelers should be aware of a few of the quarks of the stay. Remember, this is a family’s home – I know of no home that is perfect. But Truls and Kåre’s home and cottage get awfully close to a perfect vacation get away on the seafront of Oslo.

Truls and Kåre host two lovely properties – just as advertised – about a 15 min drive or bus ride (the stop is literally out the front door and across the street!) from the Oslo city center and from there, a short walk to the Central Station. These are two properties recently listed on TripAdvisor which is why there are no reviews as of yet. Our family of four was able to shop, eat, and travel to and from the house without a car! Truls and Kåre also went to great lengths to make our stay welcome and comfortable by providing their own “traveler’s guide” to staying at their home.

The two properties are nestled together on the waterfront, just off the main road. One is the cottage, which is literally on the waterfront with a pier that stretches out across the water. The other property is part of Truls and Kåre’s own home. It is the entire top floor of their house.

Here are some things specifically about the “Waterfront Suite”. This is a comfortably spacious upstairs apartment just as advertised. The living space is modern and comfortable. It also has the lovely view of the water – you look down on the cottage and then out onto the water. Although there is no cook top or oven, the microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator made making simple meals do-able. Truls and Kåre have gone out of their way to make plates, silverware and other kitchen necessities available. On top of that Truls (Kåre was actually out of town for the majority of our stay) went to great lengths to make us comfortable and provide anything additional we needed.

Our stay in the Waterfront Suite was relaxing and comfortable. While we weren’t directly on the water, the apartment makes up for it in its comfortable furniture and spacious rooms.

Similarly to the Seafront, I found negative reviews about the apartment and feel I should mention some of the quarks of the property. The bath/shower is nestled under the slanted part of the roof which makes it more of a bath than a shower. Some travelers noted their annoyance at not being able to stand up in the shower… Well… It’s really more a bath with a shower-hose added. Think of a Japanese-style tub… but it’s a European bath.

Nothing about our stay in the Waterfront Suite (in the “Big House”) was a negative to me. This place is advertised and well worth it. If I find myself in Oslo again I would rent from Truls and Kåre in a heartbeat. Not only was it a lovely stay but I feel like we made lovely friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and welcoming atmosphere
Liked least: Lack of kitchen -- can't really be changed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wander769...
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Vielen Dank für die schönen Wörter! Wir hoffen, daß wir uns auch in der nähende Zukunft sehen können!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trip64909...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Hyggelig besøk!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing