We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
50
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel antique furnishings adjacent restaurant the hotel manager royal palace small hotel large bathroom underfloor heating first floor fresh fruit comfortable stay main attractions train station suite city luggage
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 53 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018

This a very unique hotel. Old home converted into suites and good sized rooms. Service is impeccable and the restaurant/bar next door services great food and has excellent service. The service at the hotel in individualized and at the ready when you need them. Only downside is that their is no air conditioning (I stayed during a very unseasonable heatwave). I was thankful I had ground floor room. Staff was at the ready with a fan, which made staying in room okay.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank ru12bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Our stay at Camillas Hus was outstanding in all respects. The property is beautiful--very quiet and ideally located in the heart of Oslo right near the Royal Palace and surrounding park.

The location is also ideal for sightseeing in most of downtown Oslo and nearby, which is within walking distance down the hill to the central town district and the harbor or North to the Vigeland Sculpture Park. One can easily access the public bus and trolley system as well from a central stop only a few blocks from the hotel.

Mario, the hotel manager, is one of the best in the business, purveying sensible and accurate advice for sightseeing, public transportation and restaurant options throughout the city. Mario explained, for instance, how to buy a daily tram, metro and bus pass at the nearly 7-11 store during our stay.

He also has a tremendously welcoming and thoughtful manner, anticipating your every need, whether it be related to your preferences for breakfast or questions related to your accommodations.

Our room was outstanding--very quiet and well appointed, with everything we needed for a comfortable stay--great bedding with excellent featherbeds, and our room was complete with a bowl of delicious local strawberries.

Breakfast was excellent as well--with a number of different options served to order, including Nordic eggs with smoked salmon, breads, cheeses and meats, fruits, yogurt, most anything you desire.

Highly recommend a stay at Camillas Hus!

One overall note on transportation from Oslo Airport: Take the very affordable and modern, fast FlytoGet train to central station, then a short cab ride to Camillas Hus and repeat on your departure--taxis from Oslo Airport are insanely expensive and the fast train is the way to go.

Once you are in the city, public transportation is excellent--we took the tram to the other sculpture park (the Ekebergparken sculpture park) on the other side of the city, which has a great view, and walked down through the Royal Palace Park each night for dinner at the the harbor, which is very pleasant.

The hotel also has a very good restaurant as well.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WellTraveled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

If it can be perfect, then this one is! We had a fantastic time in this place. From the first minute at the reception, till the last goodbye when we left, everything was perfect. The small hotel is perfectly located in front of the palace garden, but a bit hidden behind an other building. Parking is easy just in front of the door. The welcoming is great. Mario will tell you everything you need to know probably in your own language. We had the smallest room, witch is still quite big and very quiet. The deco is classic but the materials used are of high standard . The breakfast is absolutely the greatest. And the restaurant first class. If you dream of a quiet, classic, comfortable stay, served like a king, this is the place . We loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francoise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2018

A historic building nicely located in Oslo with a very good restaurant next door. After we arrived and were welcomed in a very symphatic way, we strolled through the city center and had a drink at the waterfront. Leisurely we strolled back and had a very nice dinner outside in the garden. Well rested we started our drive into Norway the next day. I am all for Women's rights when embattled from a nice and luxurious place.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abraham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018

We arrived, soaking wet, from our walk from the train station. Mario, the elegant
general manager, greeted us at the small reception building on the property
and escorted us to Room 3, located on the first floor, one of two junior suites in
Camillas Hus. The room was lovingly restored while being upgraded for the 21st
Century. High ceilings with decorative moldings, painted wooden floors, antique
furnishings all redone in a subtle Scandinavian inspired palette. The large bathroom
has been updated with heated floors and a glass walled shower while maintaining
the old fashioned commode and claw foot bathtub.

Personal touches including a rose bouquet, fresh fruit replenished daily and books
on the family's history, Norwegian design and poetry made it feel like a stay in
someone's lovely country house.

Included is breakfast in the adjacent restaurant beginning with the typical Scandinavian breakfast of breads, cheeses, and meats followed by a choice of one of three hot entrees plus yogurt with honey, fruit and granola.

All carefully overseen by the multilingual Mario whose dedication to old world
manners and personal service is uncommon today and is to be treasured as special and unique.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fififlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews