We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
97
64
42
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
64
42
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oslo fjord wine cellar edvard munch min walk beautiful hotel nice setting breakfast and lunch rooms are nice parking place fjord view hidden gem course meal excellent wine room was large comfortable bed garden art
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 226 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2014

The hotel is charming and you will find an artistic expression in every wall and corridor. The rooms are decorated with paintings of many Norwegian and international artists. The coffee lounge is extremely interesting with colorful paintings hanging at the wall and the pillows in the sofas matching the main colors, forming a magic patchwork, too perfect to be just a coincidence.
Our dinner, the 5 course menu, was a rich experience, waking the senses with its perfume, presentation and taste. The wine proposed by the chef matched the food in a perfect way.
The view on the Oslo Fjord is amazing beautiful and worth the trip to Moss.

Room tip: Take a room with balcony and view on the fjord. The view is fantastic and there is no streets or any city noise between the hotel and the water front.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MV_Erika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunn1960, Daglig leder at Hotell Refsnes Gods, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2015

Thank you for your positve comments after staying with us. The colours of the pillows matching the main colors in the bar, forming a magic patchwork, is as you assume, not a coincidence, it is so nice to hear that you did appreciate this. I will bring your nice comments about the food and wine to the restaurantmanager and our headchef.
The view on the Oslo Fjord is amazing every day, except the few days a year with fog...Welcome back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2014

This almost 250 year old mansion of a hotel has been regularly updated without destroyng most of what must have been there + 200 years ago. Large nice rooms, great location on the Oslo Fjord, great food and good wine list, but the restaurant staff should have a quick course in attentiveness - apart from that, no reasonn to complain ! AND, don't forget to enjoy all the pieces of art discretely placed all over the property.

Room tip: The west side rooms have a great fjord view
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunn1960, Daglig leder at Hotell Refsnes Gods, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2015

Thank you for your nice feedback. It is always good to hear that our guests appreciate our rooms and the great location on the Oslo Fjord, the food and wine we serve. We focus on attentiveness everyday, that is extremely important, but now we will focus even more. Welcome back to us, I guess there are some of our more than 400 artworks you did not have time to see?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2014

We spent an autumn weekend in beautiful surroundings. A perfect room with a terrific view of the sea and a terrace to enjoy some wine! The staffs are very welcoming and they are both formal and informal at the same time. The restaurant was splendid! We will come back for sure!

Room tip: A walk to the galleries in the daytime is recommended.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Per M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunn1960, Daglig leder at Hotell Refsnes Gods, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

Thank you and welcome back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2014

at least this was the purpose of our visit. We were a party of 10 celebrating Our wives` 25 anniversary since meeting at a Conference.
Our rooms were small, but delicately designed and equipped. Opening the door to the balcony and you were able to breathe fresh air right from the Oslofjord and a breathtaking view to the sea. We were guided and shown most of the paintings decorating the entire hotel. Paintings by world-famous artists like Edvard Munch, Gulvåg, Weidemann, Widerberg, Inger Sitter, Nesjar, Nupen, Håkon Bleken, Opdahl, Parr-Iversen, Andy Warhol to mention just a few. I thought, if you are collecting paintings, why not buying your own hotel and use it as a gallery, too. Munchs "Lady in blue" was decorating the plate placed on each couvert - what a nice idea. Our five course dinner menu consisted of Carpaccio of beef, scallops & chorizo ragout, hake (what delicious dish), lamb, assorted cheese, vanille bavarin, chocolate Marquise accompanied by a varied selection of wines. We enjoyed most of the dishes served, while the lamb was to raw for our taste. Although we asked for a more well-done portion, most were served a new portion of raw lamb, again. By all means, the staff was very attentive and helpful and they did their utmost to make our dinner a very enjoyable one.
The wines. Well we liked very much Rabls Grüner Veltliner, and the Pouilly Fume, while the others were not that outstanding, as one could expect.
Very nice with the introduction ahead of each course. At least, they introduced the first three courses and then it looked like, that they had much to much to do.
We had lunch in a separate room, but although it was a very nice room but the small and low tables were rather inconvenient for lunch.
For breakfast, they are offering a very nice breakfast-room in a lush garden setting. Ofcourse, it was quite crowded, but their breafast meets all expectations.
It is not going to be an inexpensive weekend, but no doubt, it is a nice and cosy place to be.

Room tip: Try to get a room facing seaside.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GUMOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hier onder het antwoord van het Hotel Management op onze opbouwende kritiek: The breakfast staff was very sorry when they too late discovered it was no more juice and too little fruit, they had had plenty of time to fix it, but for some strange reason they did not, and they do really apologize.
The sous-chef was very unhappy when I told him about your complaints regarding the same soup every day, he had got the impression that you really liked the soup, and therefore did not ask for something else. For sure the waiters should have been more "pro active" and suggested the kitchen made an other kind of soup for you.
We have been through your complaints in all departments, to make sure that every one understands how important it is to follow the routines we do have, all made to satisfy our guests.
Thank you for your very precise and concrete email about your stay with us. Feedback from our guests is important.
We do always take complains and suggestions from our guests very seriously, that is the only way to be better, and we really want to do well.
I want to apologize for Saturday breakfast and late cleaning of your room, yesterday it should have been one more staff for breakfast and for cleaning, but for some reason we did not manage to see this before it was too late. The same happened Thursday evening, it was not possible to have enough staff on short time notice due to holiday, but the rest of the week we have been "overstaffed", but that our guests will not see. We do absolutely plan to have enough staff every day, we need to be able to make our guests happy!
I have repeated the routines for the staff how to clean in-house room, just to give new towels is not the correct way, I am sorry this happened to you.
If you have told the receptionist about the problems with the Wi-Fi I am very sorry if they haven't been in contact with NextGentel, the Wi-Fi is supposed to work properly, that's what we pay for and promise our guests. I will check this up tomorrow morning.
There is no problem to have different soups, or different dinner as long as the kitchen is told in advance, I am sorry that no one seems to have had in mind that you are staying much longer than our other guests, so please tell us next time you want to eat with us, and I promise the kitchen will prepare something else than what is on Grand Menu with pleasure.

The kitchen is closed after breakfast on Sundays all year, I do hope you were informed about this when you booked? If we do have guests on Sundays, the receptionist are supposed to suggest other places to eat, to order "home-delivery" for the guests or to make sandwiches. I can see this may not be satisfactory when you stay as long as you do.

Room tip: Kamers aan de westkant hebben prachtig uitzicht over het Oslo Fjord Andere kamers hebben saai uitzicht op binnenplaats en parking
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rudolf Edwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews