We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great relaxing holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property
Private heated pool with shaded pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private heated pool with shaded pergola
Boat Hammock Exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Private heated pool with shaded pergola
Boat Hammock
Exterior
Shaded eating and relaxing terrace
Kitchen
Dining area
Lounge /TV area
Four poster double room on ground floor
Lavender double bedroom
Sunflower twin room
Mezzanine games room
BBQ
Mellow Yellow
Sun rise over Royan
Chez Grand-Mere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Gemozac, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RachelS36...
1 review
“Great relaxing holiday home”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Chez grandmere is a lovely holiday home located in Gemozac a small town just 50 minutes drive from Bordeaux. Fiona and Calum were great hosts during our stay in July and the house is very well equipped with all the house essentials. There is a large supermarket only a 3 minute drive or 12 minutes walk away from the house and plenty of vineyards in the surrounding area. The pool is large and immaculately clean with plenty and sun-beds/hammocks for all nine of us. We especially enjoyed having our meals and drinks on the large terrace a night. Thank you Fiona and Calum for being so welcoming, we really enjoyed our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katieradl...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house in a fab location”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here with friends and children. In total 4 adults, and 5 boys aged between 7 months and 5 years. It was perfect for all our needs. The house is well stocked with things for the kids to do, DVDs, board games, table football, boule and loads of toys for the pool. It had a highchair for the baby, a cot and stair gates. And loads of plastic cups and bowls etc!
The pool was brilliant, closed off with a gate to stop the kids from wandering in there. It had loads of sun loungers and lilos, plus a parasol to keep the baby in the shade. It gets the sun the whole day. The temperature was fine for the kids to spend loads of time in there as well. And it had steps into the pool so our 3-year-old could stand up and splash in the shallows.
There's a large kitchen/dining/lounge area, and a huge outdoor table to eat at.
We were also left a welcome basket with chocolates and there was wine and beer in the fridge!
Fiona and Calum were very friendly and always on hand to help with any advice or info on where to go. And we often returned from a day out to see they had left us homemade sweets and cakes on our outside table, which was a lovely surprise.
The house is around 25 minutes from some good sandy beaches, and within the village itself there's a swimming pool with slides, several places to eat out, and a couple of boulangeries. You do need a car though to get to the supermarket.
We'd definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact it catered for our children so well, everything from an Ikea highchair, to lilos in the pool.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“These guys know how to do a holiday rental”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Calum and Fiona for a fabulous week. we thought the property was perfect your hospitality was humbling and you generosity unequalled. Fiona and Calum really went out of their way to make the stay comfortable and easy. Nothing was too much trouble. There is plenty to do in the town like a public swimming pool horse racing and even a big supermarket. We are very thankful for the meal you cooked on and the cakes you made it made our holiday that little bit sweeter.
Thank you Malinda, Paul, William, Thomas, Charlie and Gillian

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12teas
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant family holiday house”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four spent a week at Chez Grand Mere with friends and we had a fantastic relaxing time. Our twin boys loved the pool as did our friends' kids, it was a decent size and good temperature which was helped by using the cover every evening.

There's plenty of space for two families, we ate all our meals outside under the covered patio, it was warm enough to spend every evening out there tucking into the local wines. There's an area upstairs for children to play games including table football and a TV, although we didn't use it as the pool provided end to end entertainment.

Fiona and Callum were extremely welcoming and helpful, they even brought round home baked cakes for the kids and were always happy to provide any tips and advice on the local area.

The house is close to the heart of the town but is still secluded and quiet. Gemozac is a typical charming small French town with a few shops and restaurants. Our families felt very welcome everywhere we went including the boulangerie when we'd caused a lengthy queue whilst our children ordered in French! The market on a Friday is very good for seafood and definitely worth a visit. There's a large supermarket on the edge of town to stock up on everything you need.

We will be recommending Chez Grand Mere to others and will consider staying again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piebec
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely holiday with our friends. Really enjoyed Fiona and Calum's hospitality- they went above and beyond . Super house-beautifully decorated - everything you need -loads of fun in the great pool. Lots to do in the area. Would highly recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patriciar...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“This is a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have literally just come home from Chez Grand-mere, and am posting a review immediately to let others know what a fantastic place this is to stay. Fiona and Calum could not have been more kind and hospitable. The house is beautiful and the pool is AMAZING! There is a small water park one minute away from the house as well. We would come back in a heartbeat - my son wants to go straight back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Liked least: Nothing - literally there is nothing to fault
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Patricia,

Thank you for your kind review. You would be most welcome any time.

Calum
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanjmer...
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful family holiday home”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house was just what we wanted for our family holiday, clean, good sized bedrooms, plenty of storage, comfortable beds. The facilities were excellent; games, toys; DVDs and an amazing swimming pool. Fiona and Calum were fantastic hosts who were helpful and very generous. They had plenty of great advice of places of interest to visit and restaurants to try. We had a wonderful time in Gemozac - a perfect place for all our family to relax and enjoy. Definitely a place we would recommend for families of any age to stay at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing