We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Wine !!!!”
Review of Duke of Devonshire

Duke of Devonshire
Ranked #10 of 26 Quick Bites in Eastbourne
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Visited this establishment over the Easter weekend twice, the second time to watch the football on Easter Sunday, Staff need more training with regard to running a bar, asking who's next doesn't really work of course everyone is ! a good bar person knows who's next. Also running out of white wine early evening on a bank holiday was hard to believe but true, I appreciate it had been a busy weekend what with the boxing and football but really it shouldn't have been a surprise so think that maybe some forward thinking and planning for the future would help to make sure there is ample stock. There was however one young woman who worked extremely hard and was very polite a credit to this pub.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank HazyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 292 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

I visited the pub for a drink with my boyfriend. The friendly bar maid said she was new and asked if the drinks were ok which they were and a friendly bar man asked her to 'top up the gents drinks' which she did gladly. Later on a different male with a large black earring stomped past us and said loudly 'You can't vape in here mate and I am pretty sure my colleague has already told you' which they had not. He didn't even stop to let us respond having obviously become embarrassed after realising his mistake. He was rude, abrupt and needs to learn some customer service skills.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Oxspringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Good evening Oxspringer. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we’re pleased to hear that you did receive positive service. It is policy to not allow vaping on the premises which all staff are told to ensure is adhered to. We will pass the feedback onto the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

We ate here as a family of 4 (2 adults & 2 children) and had a good value meal. The food arrived in reasonable time, and looked good. Food tasted good as well. There was a nice and friendly atmosphere in the pub especially as this was a Saturday evening.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Fresh_Vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Thank you fresh vintage for your review. We’re pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the visit with us and appreciated the atmosphere we aim to have within the pub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018

Visited with family for evening drinks and to watch the Footie. Staff very friendly, service excellent. Drinks reasonable, me and my sister had the offer of double up on our spirits which worked out a lot cheaper.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank wongieUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Thank you for the 4 stars, we’re pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018

We had a nice lunch (did the 2 for £9.00 deal), and the food arrived promptly and tasted okay.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Thank you Jim for the review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke of Devonshire also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Duke of Devonshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing