We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy traveller”
Review of Haddon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haddon Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unhappy traveller”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel over this weekend. I had a single room which was so small I could not put my case between the bed and window.
Mostly the food was okay but yesterday, Sunday, I had the cold buffet only to find a hair in a piece of tomato. When I explained to the waiter his reply was: "it is only a small one". He then admitted it could be one of his. I told him however large it was it should not be there. I refused another side salad in fear of just the hair being removed and a tomato portion being placed in the original bowl.

Room Tip: Apparently, the twin rooms were larger compared to double ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank happytravellers2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    66
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
70
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were given a quiet room as requested, all the staff at the hotel were helpful and very pleasant. The food was excellent and congratulations to the chief, and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Juliet t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Been there three years running for a weekend break this year I'm going for 5 days the staff are brill nothing is to much trouble and the food is like home cooking nothing fancy but you always want more I would say its a home from home

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julieb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

First time to Eastbourne, but could not have chosen a nicer hotel for our 5 day break. Staff very pleasant, food and service very good, Position ideal . Altogether a lovely break. Will certainly go back.

Room Tip: We had a nice room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gwenda41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Great Hotel
The Staff are friendlily and helpful, we stayed two nights for the air show. We arrive at the hotel at 9 in the morning they were happy for us to leave our bags and when we returned to check in later in the day our bags were in our room.
They were very busy but greeted us with a smile and nothing was too much trouble.

Helpful on the phone before arriving with regards to parking as the road the hotel was in was closed due to the air show

Room Tip: We stayed in the frount of the hotel thought may have been Nosier no hairdryer in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Very friendly and welcoming hotel, food and service was first class. Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms quite small and dated, but very clean (single rooms are tiny). Very good central location for shops, buses, pier, tennis, theatres and bandstand. Will be back again in August/September.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAHLondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We traveled with a tour operator on a small break over several nights. Upon arrival at the hotel, the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, the room was both clean and more than adequate, the amenities were second to none and the food was outstanding with plenty of choice, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break. This has honestly been one of the best hotels I've stayed in the UK for quite some time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank denissellars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.1 km away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.2 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon Hall Hotel

Property: Haddon Hall Hotel
Address: Devonshire Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Haddon Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Haddon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing