We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Welsh hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We visited the hotel in the company of friends who had been going there for over 20 years.
It more than lived up to our expectations offering a standard of Welsh hospitality so rarely achieved today. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and tastefully furnished. The hot breakfasts were individually prepared from an adequate choice. No having to help yourself from an overheated buffet as is so often the norm today. Dinner was excellent both in terms of quality and choice. The service through out the hotel was exceptional with longstanding staff who greet returning guests as old friends. We were delighted and are returning again in June. We have obviously joined the army of regular guests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stirky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

I love this place it is over the top Victorian in inverted commas! Family run with staff that really care it is has that wonderfull comfortable feeling that so many of the boutique hotels would love to capture and bottle. It has an air of old age opulence but with all mod cons and understated but excellent customer service. Whilst not right on the seafront it is spitting distance from the sea but does have the impressive and looming Great Orme behind it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was our seventh stay at the Empire Hotel in Llandudno and we were once again welcomed by all the staff. We had been invited by some friends, who we had previously met at the Empire, to join them and we all had a great stay.
The Hotel is run with total professionalism and organisation with no queueing for breakfast or evening dinner no matter how busy they are, even to the extent of being able to choose your own table location.
The food and service are excellent and the choice on the evening dinner menu is so good that the hardest task of your stay is deciding which dish to choose.
We have stayed in different grades of rooms and apart from the size and differing views every room is beautifully furnished to a high standard and has everything one could require including the cleanliness.
Elesys hands on management and organisation in her refined and unobtrusive way is second to none.
We are very much looking forward to our next return stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were very impressed with our stay at the Empire. The room turned out to be a suite - separate lounge with a connecting passage (with bathroom off) to the bedroom, and was well-appointed and furnished, notwithstanding slightly tired paintwork. Plenty of space - the bed was sooooo comfy and high - the mattress was around my chest level and at 6ft+ that's a high bed! We never did find the ladders to get into it though. Bathroom was large and, whilst maybe not opulent, certainly very smart and again well appointed, including bathrobes and good quality toiletries. The oddity was access to the room - which involved going through the restaurant and service area to get to the lift...

Our 'deal' included dinner and breakfast, and both meals were above average; breakfast in particular was excellent, with locally-sourced ingredients freshly prepared - not the ubiquitous and usually poor-quality hot buffet. The lounge at the front of the hotel was comfortable and popular - and Sunday papers were available too.

All in all a lovely stay in a lovely traditional seaside town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salopwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Hotel was brilliant, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was lovely, bright and clean.
The location was superb, just minutes walk from the shops. There were plenty of car parking spots some under cover. The swimming pool was of a decent size.
We had breakfast there and found the food of very good quality.
On stopping at the Hotel it was quite obvious from some of the other guests that they had stopped there before and I could understand why they had returned, we will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have been staying here for about 20 years, and it remains a lovely place. Excellent bedrooms, nicely decorated and equipped, clean and comfortable. Very good restaurant with lovely food. Fabulous breakfasts, home made marmalade, the lot! Swimming pool as well (indoors and an outdoor one in the summer).

Room Tip: The main hotel is more convenient than the annexes, but the rooms are just as nice in those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I worked it out that I have probably spent over three months of my life at this hotel - spreading over the last 36 years- so it goes without saying that I think of the place as my real home from home.The place has always set the standard and although moving with the times and adding some modernisations it still retains a great Victorian atmosphere- without feeling at all dated or old fashioned. Most of the staff have also grown up at the hotel and have actually become a part of the place, it wouldn't be the same without them. Add great food, a great pool & spa area and the most delightful rooms and hey presto- the very high standard has been set! I have now decorated my home very similar to the hotel complete with white wood panelling so it's not too much of a strain when leaving!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCodfather2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,265 reviews
0.4 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,418 reviews
0.3 km away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
4.0 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
705 reviews
1.5 km away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Llandudno

Address: 73 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $200 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Llandudno 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Empire Hotel Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Empire Hotel
Empire Llandudno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing