We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunoon
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Dunoon Hotel Llandudo this weekend and it was supberb. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. Our room, a Superior Twin was excellent, spacious and very clean, very good value for money. The waiters in particular were first class, they were extremely attentive and clearly enjoyed what they were doing. The food was wonderful and more than enough in portion size, compliments to the chef. We will definitely book to go again next year.

Room Tip: Up grade to Superior Twin of Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HannahLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    85
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
101
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

stayed here sat+sun oct 2011 like staying in a set of foyles war,upgraded on arrival, room nice bathroom small, lift handy, meals very good.own car park , lot of older people staying here, if out after 23.30 take a late key! expensive, dinner £23.50 three course.would try the imperial for similar price

Room Tip: one overlooking gloddaeth st
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgmagicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
240 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Llandudno was the venue for our Rotary District Conference and this hotel was block booked for our club. The dining experience was superb and an excellent choice of wines. Decor and furnishing were traditional, but neat and tasteful. The manager Jacqueline and waiters went out of their way to respond to our numerous questions and demands. I saw a previous report that the hotel was starting to be mean. Admittedly, there were no mushrooms, but the choice and quality were good enough, with good portions. Unlike many of the hotels that you can end up with at conference locations, is one we would definitely go back to. The hotel is a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: We took a superior room which was well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I have recently stayed for 6 nights at the Dunoon, we have stayed a few times before and always enjoyed it, this time was a little different. Although we really enjoyed our stay there are a couple of things that we feel should be pointed out. We understand that everyone has to make some cut backs and this hotel is no exception, but be careful you dont lose your customers by making silly cuts that affect the standards. Example: The breakfast has been reduced to 1 slice of bacon, 1 small egg, 1 tomato and 1 sausage, there are no extras such as baked beans (never been to a hotel that doesnt have baked beans), hash brown, mushrooms or black pudding, not even as a pay extra item, very basic and disappointing. The evening meal was very tasty but the vegetables were a bit scarce, 2 cauliflwer florets, a few carrot sticks and sweet peas, only enough for one not two, and the sweets rather small. I suggest that they drop their prices to reflect the meal reductions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteDunoon, Owner at Dunoon, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
We're delighted to hear that this person enjoyed their stay and, of course, very much appreciate the generous rating. However, I just needed to correct one point of fact relating to the price of dinner: it is indeed £23.50 per person, however it's for a five course dinner (appetiser, starter, main, pudding and cheese) and includes tea or coffee. For guests staying on a half board package, the same five-course dinner effectively costs £16.00 per person (ie, that's the differential between our B&B and DBB rates).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Do not take the title as criticism this is a great hotel impeccable service, good food, and clean rooms. Good location just a short walk from the prom. An added bonus is the car park, always difficult to park if you stop in a sea front hotel. If you want a nice quiet holiday this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pemcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is a classic old-fashioned hotel for older people - it's rare to ssee children or youger people.
Comfortable lounge, good food, plenty of parking spaces.
plenty of well-appointed single rooms too.

Room Tip: book well in advance. regular visitors tend to get the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in a " superior double room" which was lovely and very spacious althought the bathroom was very small but adequate.It was spotlessly clean .The food was good and very well presented in a attractive dining room and the staff were all very helpful and pleasant.The hotel is a relaxing place,unhurried and with a very nice ambience.As other reviewers have said it certainly does appeal to the more senior age group!Almost every guest during our stay was about 20 years older than us(we are in our early 50s).It is also very well situated for the seafront,a nice easy stroll and the shops and restaurants etc.and car parking is plentiful and free outside the hotel.It was our first visit to Llandudno and we will certainly be back and will stay at the Dunoon,it offers very good value for money.I would also recommend the Leg of Ham deli and tea room,the deli does excellent take out baps ,baguettes etc made fresh to order,very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maisie018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 km away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
307 reviews
0.4 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
0.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
695 reviews
0.3 km away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
520 reviews
0.3 km away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunoon

Property: Dunoon
Address: Gloddaeth Street, Llandudno LL30 2DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunoon 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Dunoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing