We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned hospitality with modern additions”
Review of Dunoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunoon
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“old fashioned hospitality with modern additions”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Good location, within easy walking distance of shops. Rooms beautifully decorated and bed very comfortable. Very little noise from the road, just a few creaky floorboards at night.Food was well prepared and presented with a good choice of dishes. Staff were all helpful, even when confronted by guests who seemed determined to find fault. Bathroom was good with a strong shower and good quality towels. There is so much to see in town, so many shops and cafes to visit with wonderful views all around. A great break and we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room as there was little difference in the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacegran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    86
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
103
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Never been to wales before, the hotel was quite traditional however staff were really friendly had good knowledge of the area.
The first room that was given to us was really small we got another room given to us without a problem.
The molton brown shower gel and shampoo is a good touch.
The hotel is really clean, but could do with some decorating as there had obviously been a leak in the celing in our room which had gone down to walls.
The only thing I would say was get rid of the shower curtain, as it had started to smell, if there was a shower screen it would have been better.
Food was good couldn't get through the 4 courses.
Llandudno itself has not got a lot in it, walking the Orme was really good and the walk along the stoney beach was good as well. we were very lucky with the weather, mid november and we were out in tee-shirts. Good place to base yourself.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room as the standard is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Our fourth visit to this hotel and it didn't disappoint. Yes, traditional decor downstairs but very welcoming, warm and comfortable. Bedrooms beautifully decorated, pristine bath/shower rooms and again well heated.
The food is great!
We also read the review which thought that the breakfast menu was 'mean'. Can't agree with this at all. Terrific choice of cereals, fruit, cooked items, toast etc. None of us could have actually eaten any more of the cooked option but we felt that if a larger portion was needed then a pleasant request would be granted. Evening meals imaginative, tasty and good portions. Just try and vary the vegetarian option please!
Excellent service and helpful, friendly waiting staff.
We will certainly go again

Room Tip: Choose a side room towards West Shore for a lovely mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mundaych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Dunoon Hotel Llandudo this weekend and it was supberb. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. Our room, a Superior Twin was excellent, spacious and very clean, very good value for money. The waiters in particular were first class, they were extremely attentive and clearly enjoyed what they were doing. The food was wonderful and more than enough in portion size, compliments to the chef. We will definitely book to go again next year.

Room Tip: Up grade to Superior Twin of Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HannahLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

stayed here sat+sun oct 2011 like staying in a set of foyles war,upgraded on arrival, room nice bathroom small, lift handy, meals very good.own car park , lot of older people staying here, if out after 23.30 take a late key! expensive, dinner £23.50 three course.would try the imperial for similar price

Room Tip: one overlooking gloddaeth st
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgmagicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
242 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Llandudno was the venue for our Rotary District Conference and this hotel was block booked for our club. The dining experience was superb and an excellent choice of wines. Decor and furnishing were traditional, but neat and tasteful. The manager Jacqueline and waiters went out of their way to respond to our numerous questions and demands. I saw a previous report that the hotel was starting to be mean. Admittedly, there were no mushrooms, but the choice and quality were good enough, with good portions. Unlike many of the hotels that you can end up with at conference locations, is one we would definitely go back to. The hotel is a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: We took a superior room which was well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I have recently stayed for 6 nights at the Dunoon, we have stayed a few times before and always enjoyed it, this time was a little different. Although we really enjoyed our stay there are a couple of things that we feel should be pointed out. We understand that everyone has to make some cut backs and this hotel is no exception, but be careful you dont lose your customers by making silly cuts that affect the standards. Example: The breakfast has been reduced to 1 slice of bacon, 1 small egg, 1 tomato and 1 sausage, there are no extras such as baked beans (never been to a hotel that doesnt have baked beans), hash brown, mushrooms or black pudding, not even as a pay extra item, very basic and disappointing. The evening meal was very tasty but the vegetables were a bit scarce, 2 cauliflwer florets, a few carrot sticks and sweet peas, only enough for one not two, and the sweets rather small. I suggest that they drop their prices to reflect the meal reductions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteDunoon, Owner at Dunoon, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
We're delighted to hear that this person enjoyed their stay and, of course, very much appreciate the generous rating. However, I just needed to correct one point of fact relating to the price of dinner: it is indeed £23.50 per person, however it's for a five course dinner (appetiser, starter, main, pudding and cheese) and includes tea or coffee. For guests staying on a half board package, the same five-course dinner effectively costs £16.00 per person (ie, that's the differential between our B&B and DBB rates).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 km away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.4 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.5 km away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.8 km away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunoon

Property: Dunoon
Address: Gloddaeth Street, Llandudno LL30 2DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunoon 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Dunoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing