We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home , rural retreat with real...”
other travellers have booked this property
The patio / Barbeque area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The patio / Barbeque area
1 Shimdda Hir Cottage The Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
The patio / Barbeque area
1 Shimdda Hir Cottage
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
Kitchen
Breakfast Room
Breakfast Room
The Louge
The Lounge
Double Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llandudno, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nuttynodd...
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home , rural retreat with real fire and Aga!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We travelled here with our our grown up family five in all. We loved everything about Shimdda Hir from the location to facilites and that Tracy was on hand if needed.
Its close enough to access the facilities of Llandudno, a car is probbly a necessity especailly if you have younger children, but you feel away from it all.
My husband and son enjoyed fishing off the pier and beach, we all watched the fireworks off the promenade and had a wonderful meal at Carlo's in town.
Llandudno has an excellent selection of shops and cinema for rainy days but we sat and chilled in front of the fire watched movies, sat in the window seat and thoroughly relaxed.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shimdda Hir.
Thank you for the lovely review.
Best wishes
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooksman
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hideaway in Llandudno - close to the beach”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, close to the beach and yet secluded.
We took our 2 dogs and felt very comfortable having them there with us. So easy to take the dogs to the beach every day, (dogs allowed at the top part of the North Shore and they could have a really good run at the West shore beach).
Plenty of space for our children to run around and play; trampoline was well used!
Aga took a little getting used to but, we were dab hands at the end of the holiday with it.
Would definitely stay again at this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2012
Thankyou so much for your kind review. iI am really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and look forward to seeing you again in the future,
All the best
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claude d
Etampes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice stay in a cosy cottage”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We've had a very nice stay in this cottage. The location allows an easy access to Llandudno though a car is necessary. It's a very quiet place away from the main road. We really liked the genuine style of the house which is spacious enough for a family. We really appreciated the wifi nevertheless the kitchen utensils are a bit short for a family, a big size saucepan and frying pan would be helpful.
We would highly recommend this place to friends or relatives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The genuine style of the cottage
Liked least: The bedding
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2012
Thankyou for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at the cottage and hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mind Y
SomewhereInIreland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming, homely cottage”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This really pretty cottage hid a lot of mod cons that made it the best of both worlds. Jacuzzi bath, wifi, and digital TV shared space with slate floors, exposed beams and an Aga. I have never before stayed in a house with such a well-supplied kitchen. A couple of times, I bet myself something wouldn't be there, only to find it in a drawer.

The rooms were a good size, both in shared areas and bedrooms. The bathroom and master bedroom appear to have been recently refurbished. There is, however, only one bathroom.

The garden was welcome for the kids to run around and we used the picnic bench and trampoline on a couple of evenings.

The location felt private and isolated but was easy to find and close to Llandudno. It's half way up a hill, though, and about 40 minutes walk to the pier, so you might want to bring the car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2012
Thank you so much for your comments on trip advisor. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in Llandudno again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarec965
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in secluded but convenient setting”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Just returned from a week at Shimdda Hir with our daughter, her partner and 21 month old child. It's a lovely cottage just over a mile from Llandudno, which is a great seaside town with something for everyone, whatever their age. We loved it so much we are already planning a long weekend over the summer.

The cottage is down a lane with only 2 other houses: Shimdda Hir 2 and it's owner's house. It's lovely and quiet, with a good garden, though we needed to watch the little one, and looks directly onto the Little Orme. We also loved the Aga, which kept the house nice and warm (shame we needed that in June!) and the open fire. Tracy lives nearby and quickly replaced the router when a flash storm blew the fuse.

The kitchen was the best equipped of any holiday rental I've known, with good quality pans and all the tools you need.

If you're visiting, we strongly recommend the Bodofan Farm which is a short walk away, on the way to town. Free entry, open till 6pm, lots of friendly farm animals including llamas and lots of owls. The third time we visited, they had two of the owls out on leashes so my granddaughter stroked them. They do pony and tractor rides too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and relaxing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2012
Thankyou for your kind review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage, and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppersto...
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay at the Shimdda Cottage”
Reviewed April 2, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Myself and partner visited Llandudno with family for a long weekend break.

The location of the property is a beautiful drive in just a short distance from the main strip into Llandudno situated in its own private land.

The cottage is very traditional with warmly home comforts and bursting with bags of character. The kitchen contains an Agga which we found great fun to use and away from the more modern oven/hob. Plenty of garden areas to relax or have fun in.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a country retreat in a traditional style cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage, and we look forward to seeing you in Llandudno again. Kindest Regards Tracy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing