We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,068)
Filter reviews
2,068 results
Traveller rating
266
525
461
339
477
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
525
461
339
477
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet style national holidays bit dated plenty of choice kippers a sea view room short break great weekend stan pier singer prom
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 2,068 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous time at the Grand Hotel. Staff brilliant food lovely. Really nice room too. Plenty of things to do during the day and great entertainment at night. Would recommend to anyone. The lady on reception was helpful as was the cleaner and the staff in the restaurant.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Dirty rooms

Dirty carpets
Plastic breakfasts

Scruffy and run down.

Handy for the beach though

Over priced rooms

Would be better paying extra in a hostel.

Staff pleasant enough though over worked.

Suited for the over 70’s

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank stephen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Food good but self service canteen style. Male staff scruffy with poor fitting outfits. Bar lounge dirty old seats.
No welcoming atmosphere, maybe soft music would help. Newspapers and magazines as shops far away for handicapped or older people. A daily soup menu maybe for colder days. Bathroom had functioning problems.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank anglish2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, not only was it scruffy but our bedroom was very dirty. In particular the bathroom where the tile grouting was black in the majority of the joints. In addition the tiles in the shower were so dirty I could leave a mark with my finger. This was the same with the ledge behind the toilet. The towel rail was hanging off the wall.
The staircase to the ground floor had stains on the wall paper as well as the paper hanging off the walls.
We booked bed, breakfast and evening meal but was only informed when we booked in that dining was buffet style. There were other things that wasn’t right. I emailed the hotel and they offered a 2 night stay free of charge but we decided not to take them up on this as why should we stay in a hotel that, in my opinion, was the worst in the UK that we had stayed in over 30 years.
I also complained to the company we booked with, UK Breaks but despite them promising a reply within 28 days I haven’t had a reply after over 2 months.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dcmurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We booked for a reasonable price online - and then read the reviews here, wondering what on earth we were going to find!!
We were pleasantly surprised :-)

Yes “The Grand” isn’t as grand as it obviously once was and if you want to pay in upwards of £100 a night, there are obviously much more modern hotels.....

The staff were friendly, the room and bedding were clean, with big white fluffy towels & the location is fab - we had an unexpected sea view/balcony and enjoyed the entertainment!
We’d not booked breakfast so can’t comment what it was like.

If you go looking for peeling wallpaper you’d probably find it - just take the place as you find it with expectations linked to what you’ve paid...

(For Info - please just be mindful that parking nearby can be difficult - we couldn’t park at the nearby pay and display nor at Happy Valley, so ended up on the streets about 10 minutes walk away - but it was free!)

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rollonfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews