We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
57
160
114
78
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
160
114
78
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murder mystery weekend evening entertainment a bit tired clean towels tea or coffee single room restaurant staff shower cubicle friendly hotel weekend break great weekend enjoyable stay orme promenade
Filter
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 481 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Just returned from a weekend coach trip and stayed at the New Loretta. Having read some of the reviews before going, we arrived with a fair bit of trepidation! The location is good,on a wide street about three blocks from the sea front ,and the same to the town centre, but with lots of shops, pubs,churches etc close by. From entering the hotel, to leaving, all services were fast and efficient, with everyone we encountered very helpful, especially the restaurant staff, some of whom were obviously very new to it. The hotel looks as if it has been at one time a Victorian street of large terraced houses, and the hotel has come about by combining three or four of them into one large hotel, consequently it is a bit of a rabbit warren inside until you get your bearings. Our room was small and basic but clean, tidy, and warm. The communal areas were large and comfortable, with a nice conservatory running the full length of the building.There was a choice of meals for every course, which were plain, wholesome and plentiful. Our only slight problem was we asked for a carafe of the house red on the first night, and they didn't have any. We settled on a bottle of red, and then asked for the same again, but they only had the one bottle. They did though make amends by offering us a dearer bottle at the same price, and the next night had a plentiful supply of the house red! I would have to say, yes, the hotel is cheap and cheerful, you only get what you pay for, and we would go back, but only in short bursts.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthEastGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2009

on arrival and still on the bus we were asked what we wanted for our evening meal .then given our key to room which was the first night of openening after the winter ,the room was not hoovered the bathroom was very dirty and we were unable to unpack our clothes as the draws wer very dirty. the radiator had tape around it to stop a leak and a large wet patch on the wall coming from roof the paint work was very dirty.the meal and service was very below standered and after being out of the hotel for the day our door had been left open by the cleaner

Stayed: March 2009
1  Thank momo12TyneAndWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at the New Loretta Hotel. Room was clean, warm and confortable. Food was hot, tasty and good. Staff were helpful and friendly. All in all good value for the money.

Stayed: November 2008
2  Thank stephencheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Nov 20 2008
We have just been on a weekend 60's themed break at this hotel and had a great time.The hotel is comfortable,food was very nice and staff generally very pleasant.Entertainment was provided both night's and was enjoyed by all.We met some nice people on the weekend who all said they would do a similar break again,excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrmoseby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2008

having reads previous reviews we were a bit tentative about going,but I*m glad we did. we had a lovely time. Found the staff very friendly. Food more than adequate.Entertainment first class. Being quite a fussy person I do not say these things lightly. My husband who has had a stroke is not the best of eaters, but I must say he ate every morsel. As in previous reviews I have to say the houekeeping could have been better, but ,as we dont spend most of our time in the hotel I can get over that. There was 4 of us and we all agreed that we would go back. I would say to the owner if hes reading this have a word with your cleaners.Other than that agood holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews