We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Crown Pools

Crown Pools
Ranked #71 of 94 things to do in Ipswich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crown Pools has a competition swimming pool, leisure pool with wave machine and water jets and a gym. Currently undergoing a refurbishment.
Reviewed May 29, 2017

I often go to crown pools for one reason being that I get in there for free and it is local to me. I would never pay to go in this place even though it only costs a couple of quid. It has recently had a refurbishment however after this it hasn't changed how un-hygienic this place is. Before the refurbishment it had dirty yellow tiles all cracked and run down but since then it has now got dirty blue tiles. I found a spider and dirt in the pool which makes since considering whoever runs this place decided to put trees next to the pool so every so often when the wave machine goes of it drags more dirt into the pool- I don't think they ever clean this place because it smells of urine and it is incredibly dirty because every so often you fell other peoples hairs go over your foot or wrap around your legs. It seems that the staff are trained to be the most unfriendly and unhelpful they can possibly be. Even the other day when I went there the receptionist was eating a McDonalds. The worst swimming pool I have ever gone to BEWARE THIS COULD BE THE WORST SWIMMING POOL IN ENGLAND!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

The facilities are looking old & tired, especially the changing rooms & surrounding area. Whenever I've been, which is usually during the week after work, the changing rooms are filthy. This is the main reason which has put me off going!
However, the kids pool is great for the little ones.
The adult pool is good, very cold at times!

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

For £4.10 per adult you don't expect luxury so it's alright. We do go regularly with our 7 month old water baby. She loves it. The water is very warm in the baby pool / teaching pool. Pretty chilly in the big leisure pool though so not great to take babies in there which means she misses out on the fountains etc. There is a lap pool which have used before bubba which is good. Facilities are a bit worn. Under 2s are free.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Charley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

I lane swim here twice a week in the 8 lane 25metre pool and I always find the pool water very clean and chlorine to a minium. There's a warm temperature baby pool and a gradient leisure pool with a wave machine on every 20mins, with a fun slide at times.
Always best to check the pool timetable as one or more of the pool's could be closed to lessons.
Showers are mixed along with the changing rooms.
The steam room and sauna available for use to adults only. The only downfall is that a lot of money was spent on this place just a few years ago and the improvement could of seen a nice cafe area instead of vending machines! They have a small but good gym available and hold private parties. Overall a good pool and good family fun day out.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank rachey6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2016

Came to Ipswich on a day out during half term with 2 children (age 11 and 7). There is one good sized lane swimming pool - strict lane swimming, one baby pool - lovely and warm but full of tiny people and parents and the 'fun' pool with a wave machine - unfortunately this is just too small. Could be better organised if fun pool and baby pool were joined together and a water slide added.
Changing rooms and lockers were good, admission price was good.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank MarianL392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown Pools also viewed

Bramford, Ipswich
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Crown Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing