We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most splendid party accommodation you could...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Neptune

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lise T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most splendid party accommodation you could ever wish for”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We celebrated my 40th birthday party over a 2 night weekend stay with a mixed group of adults and small children at The Old Neptune, and I can honestly say that the house exceeded every expectation that I had when we booked it online. The rooms are all so charming and different, everybody had a wonderful time rushing through the house selecting a room for themselves. The kitchen is exceptionally well equipped, we self-catered and there was more than sufficient quantities of every piece of cutlery, crockery and cookware to go around. The 2 large diswashers are worth their weight in gold! The dining area served as a perfect foil for the formal dress theme we had on the Saturday night, with everybody dressed up to the nines. The photographs are fantastic, especially due to the fabulous setting in all the different rooms and communal areas. The lounge with immense fireplace was absolutely perfect for the afternoon 'snooze sessions', which allowed everyone to have a bit of a recharge. I think the majority of the group will look to book this spectacular venue for any subsequent celebrations. I also intend to revisit this place for future parties, I've deceided that I don't need the excuse of a 'big' birthday to celebrate in this kind of style!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charming character of the house itself
Liked least: A few rooms with zip single beds that could convert to doubles would have been good for our group (which had several single people). That way we wouldn't have had to exclude a couple of friends who could have shared a room, but not really share a bed
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiller44
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't Ask for More”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A large party of us including older children gathered for an Elizabethan weekend in this glorious Tudor house (or possibly earlier). We could not fault anything. Everything had been thought of and provided. The owners were great beforehand in answering questions and making suggestions. If we had any complaint it was that the directions to find The Old Neptune were hard to use and if that is the only thing one can find then that says a lot about the quality of this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We found the ovens hard to understand and use
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma F
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant venue for large party.”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Old Neptune for 3 nights as a group of 22 celebrating a hen party. Accommodation is perfect - caters easily for large numbers and feels like a home from home. Excellent Waterfront location close to bars and restaurants. Limited parking but owner provides some parking vouchers for nearby car park (5 mins walk) which is a nice touch.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzylok
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing historic venue for group booking”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you so much for our stay. We all absolutely loved the place and didn't want to leave. You have something very special in the Old Neptune.
It was absolutely perfect for our friend's 50th. I would not hesitate in recommending it. It is so perfectly equipped, we felt incredibly comfortable. The website pictures (although great) could not capture the magic of the property. We were a group of 21 adults and it housed us perfectly. We catered for ourselves on site as we have a number of cooks among us but can see it would be great for organised catering too.
We had little wanders around Ipswich but the main attraction was indeed the old Neptune itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: You are staying in a stunning piece of history!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing atmospheric gem in Ipswich”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at the Neptune for two weeks, with a changing cast reaching a peak of 22 (inc. 4 kids). The location near the waterfront is great for restaurants, and the spacious courtyard gives you an island of private serenity. In the sunshine you could almost be in a (tudor) Mediterranean villa.
Small plus points worth noting are that the kitchen knives were sharp, and the dishwashers actually cleaned dishes. We've stayed in too many high-end self-catering houses that have been let down in these areas.

One caveat - if you're tall (well, above 5'10 really), then you'll want to watch out for a number of low-flying beams. We mostly avoided concussion, but it was a close call.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisejbr...
Luton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tip-Top”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I hired the Old Neptune for a mid-week business trip and it ticked all the boxes.

First impressions on arrival were great. What a beautiful house with bags of charm and charater. It has great living/communal areas and the bedrooms are all very individual and finished immaculately. I loved how it felt like a labyrinth, with all its staircases and many tucked away rooms.

As a group of 13 we were lucky enough to have a room each but this house could easily accomdate many more people if sharing rooms.

The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed for our stay (once we had done a food shop) . The living room has an incredible fireplace and there were logs and kindling left for us. When we ran out of wood Peter kindly delivered some more later that day. The courtyard is stunning and the whole house wraps around it, I only wish we were here during summer so we could have enjoyed it more.
Great location, some found it a bit tricky to get to but I would suggest following the directions given by Peter to the Salthouse Harbour Hotel as the House sits directly behind it.

Peter also arranged for us to have a late checkout on our day of departure so we could have a meeting in the morning which was really helpful. The housekeeper and her team worked around us despite having another booking arriving only a few hours later.

I would not hesitate in recomending The Old Neptune for either a business or social occasion and I do hope to return here either with work or a group of friends.

Thank you Peter and the team :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dining room
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickybran
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Hidden away right in the middle of Ipswich Marina is this amazing 15th Century house. Every room is amazing and there's so much to explore. The house is really well kitted out with modern appliances, everything you could want in a large kitchen, a very comfortable living room with huge fireplace and large screen TV, a fusbal table, and to my delight a set of Technics turntables and mixer, just a shame I didn't bring my records. The beds are really comfortable and the bathrooms spotless, only let down by a lack of hot water, lukewarm at best. Otherwise it would have got 5 stars, but don't let that put you off staying at this amazing place.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: Cold showers.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review – your host emailed us that you all had a fabulous weekend. Sorry to hear about the hot water; one of the boilers had been set to a low temp which meant the water in 2-3 of the bathrooms was warm rather than hot - all the others were fine.

The whole heating and water system was upgraded 2 years ago to hotel standard so it was a real shame we only heard about it from the review as it was very simple to fix and we have a plumber and handyman who are always willing to come out if called.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing