We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Monday Lunch”

Aurora Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 466 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$52
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Aurora Bar and Restaurant is a dining experience, located on Ipswich Marina. Serving pan-European cuisine and with unrivalled views, Aurora is truly a destination venue.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We had a late lunch at 1.30pm when the restaurant was in full swing We ordered a fresh cooked chicken for 2 and I ordered a roast beef Sunday style lunch The chicken my family had was great by my beef was over cooked, tough and rather tasteless
The vegetables were very good for us all I suppose it’s a mistake to order a roast that was probably ready since 12 noon Our previous visit on New Years Eve was fantastic with great imaginative food I didn’t return my lunch and complain as I didn’t want to spoil the lunch out for everyone by eating later and separately

1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretary-Aurora, Front Office Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Good afternoon, thank you so much for writing this review. We are glad you brought this to our attention. We are sorry to hear about your roast beef. Its such a shame you didn't make a staff member aware on the day as this would have been swapped immediately. We understand that you did not wish to spoil your lunch but we hate to think of our customers being dissatisfied and would do our upmost to ensure you are happy. We do hope you visit us again. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 680 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This was my first visit to this restaurant, the food was excellent. I had pork belly nibbles, pan fried chicken and then the cheese board. My friend had duck and sticky toffee pudding. The staff we very friendly and chef is passionate about his food. It was a very quiet night but a lovely setting for a very enjoyable meal, will be coming back.

Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretary-Aurora, Front Office Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Aurora experience. The pork belly nibbles are super tasty and the pan fried chicken is a great choice. We would love to accommodate again in the future, may I suggest you visit us on a Sunday for lunch. There is a great atmosphere and you can really appreciate the setting on a lovely spring day. Thank you again for your time, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

was my first visit to this bar but my partner had been several times previously.
it's in a great location. but disappointed to have been issued a parking ticket at a car park that's for aurora.
was rejected an appeal even though i had receipts to prove i was in the bar paying for drinks/cocktails. due to this we shall not be returning to this place.. £100 parking fine for visiting an average bar is not my ideal night out

Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretary-Aurora, Front Office Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and your partner has revisited us on many occasions. We are however sorry to hear about your bad parking experience. We do sympathize that it is not ideal receiving a parking ticket although we must bring to your attention that our car park is clearly sign posted displaying the parking requirements. We offer free parking to our customers but you must ensure your car is registered upon arrival. This is clearly displayed within our bar area and we try to make all customers aware upon booking within the restaurant. An ipad is provided where you can input your car registration and staff are encouraged to show this to customers with parking requirements. In most cases we are able to appeal successfully so may I ask you contact us directly as we will do our best to get this resolved for you. Thank you again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

Went on a Saturday night and downstairs is like a club, with the DJ playing different music to the bar! Drinks were good and service was swift, although we sat down 40 minutes after our reservation time. Dinner was overpriced and the menu uninspiring. The food wasn't great - for £12 I don't expect one chopped up frozen-tasting scallop.

Toilets were awful - urine on the floor, blocked urinal and sink, hand dryer mouldy.

There are so many better places to for dinner, and at well over £100 for dinner for two, we'll keep away!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank greg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretary-Aurora, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Thank you for your review and your time. We always appreciate your feedback and will learn from your comments. We do remember your booking and it seems there was a misunderstanding with regards to timings. As for the food we can assure you this is not the case with the scallops. It is such a shame you didn't enjoy your starter, i'm sure your server would have been happy to offer an alternative dish. Thank you for bringing the music on the evening to our attention, if you could please provide the date then we will speak to the DJ palying on that evening and take your comments on board. We have many musicians, DJ's that perform here and try our best to appeal to all tastes. We are disappointed to hear about the male toilets, these are usually checked so thank you again for making us aware. Please get in touch to discuss this further callum@aurorabarsandrestaurnats.co.uk Kindest reards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

I had my 60th birthday meal with my family. Lovely atmosphere and setting, also spotless clean. Very friendly staff, but a little disorganised. Sat by the bar upstairs on 2 occations trays were dropped causing a right racket. Food was a while coming, a member of staff did apologise, this wasn't a problem as I quite like chatting between courses. I had a venison burger, unfortunately it was cold so I sent it back. A couple of minutes later it arrived back, I assume it had been heated up in a microwave as it came back to the table quickly. I would of expected a fresh order. I asked the waitress if it had been heated up in the microwave she said she thought not. I'm sure it was. I was offered something else but declined as the others in my party had almost finished. We all then chose sticky toffee pudding, it was cold hard and tasted more like chocolate brownie. I had a lovely evening with my family in a exceptionally beautiful restaurant. Alas my meal wasn't quite what I expected for my landmark birthday.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HappyoldGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretary-Aurora, Front Office Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Firstly I would like to wish you a happy belated birthday. I do hope you enjoyed this special milestone and i'm so glad you chose to celebrate here at Aurora. I am disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your food. The sticky toffee pudding is a very popular choice and a favorite on the menu at the moment so apologies that you did not enjoy it. In regards to reheating the venison burger I can assure you that this is most definitely not the case. May I ask that you contact us directly at the restaurant as we would be happy to discuss your experience in more detail. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aurora Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aurora Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing