We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveller rating
349
260
141
60
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
260
141
60
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park town centre nice hotel sunday lunch afternoon tea ironing board central location would stay again scones comfy bed cocktail bar superior room stayed for one night lovely room cooked breakfast full english couldn't do enough
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 834 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Surroundings - very good
Service- fine
Food- laughable

Very poor offering . It’s a shame , but they clearly don’t even aspire to match the quality of the surroundings with the food.

Two wafer thin , small slices of overcooked beef, with vegetables simply loaded onto the plate, along with the gravy ( note: not a single green vegetable whatsoever )

The starter of mackerel pate consisted of one quenelle of pate with some garnish.

Very meagre , poor quality fare.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank 359,282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Was visiting Darlington for 10 days from the USA to visit friends and family, booked this hotel as the description sounded great.

The hotel has no air conditioning, the best we could do was request a fan.
We had to change rooms 3 times, the first room had no fridge, the second room had a cheap mattress that was so soft, it sagged down about a foot when you sat on the edge of the bed. It was a cheap spring mattress that cost maybe no more than $200. The third room only had a 5' bed but at least it was firmer, this room also had some counter top unlike the first 2 rooms.
They do not provide face flannels, just large towels - very strange for a "high end" hotel.
The pillows were flat and were cheap foam, impossible to get comfortable with.

There were cracks in the walls and the outer window had rotten wood that was full of holes.

Great location - The end

Room tip: Choose a different hotel
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank computerdeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Arrived at 3pm & friendly speedy check in... four of us so we paid £30 pound each for two double rooms of which were perfect... we went out for rest of day & stayed out til late so just somewhere to lay our heads, breakfast was great i had full english with a poached egg but the rest of my friends had both the full english & continental of which they enjoyed... after checkout we sat in lounge & enjoyed drinks before our train & all staff very friendly. I would highly recommend the mercure as very central & comfortable.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank michelle e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

During my visit today I was given a tour. First of all the hotel is central to the town centre. The reception and bar are very nice but it’s the upstairs area that are very impressive. The original hotel features are great to see and afternoon tea looks a pleasure looking out into the town square and shopping areas. Very good value also.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ujjw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We went as part of a group and found the staff, on the whole, to be friendly and helpful. Rooms are nicely decorated and food was mixed, some meals better than others, but for a group it was ok. Some delays getting pre-ordered food some evenings, but usually not an issue. Asked for gluten free bread, and had to request every meal, but this is usual for a large hotel, they don’t seem to attempt to try to remember such details.
Only real concern was that one of us was disabled with mobility problems and hotel put us on 3rd floor, as far from breakfast room/dining room as possible and did not accommodate our request for a nearer room over the 4 nights we were there. This was despite them having had an advance request before we went.
Find it incredible to be told their rooms for disabled are on 4th floor. This hotel has had at least 2 major fires, but the disabled rooms are on 4th floor, receptionist seemed surprised we found this a problem.
Hotel is ok but not up to standard of the Accor hotels we’ve stayed in in other countries.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TravelfiendM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews