We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and interesting”
Review of Corarima

Corarima
Ranked #26 of 470 Restaurants in Wakefield
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful spicing, tasty meals, friendly service. Everything cooked fresh. Great for a hearty lunch or an evening meal. For meat-eaters like us the fact that the menu is vegetarian is irrelevant, we just like the great taste.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LauraJane597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture822241, Owner at Corarima, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Laura. That is exactly the reason we opened the restaurant. It was so nice having you at Corarima.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The entire menu (except two items) is GF and everything is vegetarian, the majority vegan. All incredible and will satisfy meat eating friends. The restaurant is run by a husband and wife team, with the wife providing the cooking whilst the husband/host running front of house. He is incredibly friendly and welcoming, and they both clearly take great pride in what they do.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank PeeWeeGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture822241, Owner at Corarima, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much and this means so much to us. We are absolutely honored to have here at Corarima and is a privilege to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Fed up of the meagre veggie choices in restaurants? Same old pasta and goats cheese tart offerings? If, what you'd really fancy, is an entire and diverse menu that's completely vegetarian (even vegan). Where the ingredients have the same provenance of fine dining establishments and where you can taste authentic, tasty food. I guarantee you've never tried anything like Corarima. Make a trip there asap and prepare to fall in love with Abyssinian food. Enjoy a fabulous atmosphere - the decor has been carefully curated by the owners and you'll want to take a piece of it home. Asamnew will give you the warmest welcome, like an old friend and his talented wife Rahel will make your taste buds dance. We're so fortunate to have this place in Wakey.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LanieGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture822241, Owner at Corarima, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Lanie and Ian and is always a pleasure and delight to have you at Corarima. Your support and encouragement means so much to us and can not thank you enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I discovered Corarima by accident a few weeks ago and decided to try it for my wife's birthday instead of the usual Pub, Bistro or Curry meal and we weren't disappointed.
From the moment we entered the restaurant we were made to feel at home. As two non vegetarians we welcomed the explanation of the menu and decided to go with the taster meal for two with a couple of extra side dishes.
The food was fantastic and fully and with the explanation by Asamnew of the dishes we throughly enjoyed our meal.
Finishing off the evening with a speciality tea and a abyssinia coffee we had a good evening.
Asamnew was very attentive to make sure we understood the meal and the concept behind the restaurant all the staff made us feel very welcome.

I would be very interested in learning more about the cooking courses that were mentioned, maybe a newsletter sign up form on your website would be a useful addition.

Would highly recommend this restaurant, for meat eaters as well, and I look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank andrewwN7537MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture822241, Owner at Corarima, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Andrew and Vicky for your invaluable support and encouragement. We will definitely do the course and will post it on our website and social media.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Visited Corarima with freinds one of whom is vegetarian on Saturday evening and from the moment we entered we were welcomed with open arms the service is second to none and the owner is passionate about the food your about to eat, We opted for a selection of sides to have as starters which I suggested to the owner to put on the menu as it's nice to try a selection of tastes if you haven't been somewhere before, The mains I opted for pumpkin stew and others had a tofu stew and a combination meal, All were outstanding the flavours were something I've never experienced before the flaxseed dip is a must, Been a meateater I thought I would miss meat but it never crossed my mind, We came as customers and left part of the Coraima family, This meateater will be back.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank thebaileybearuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture822241, Owner at Corarima, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you so much Andrew and it is an absolute pleasure serving you and your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corarima also viewed

Ossett, Wakefield
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Ossett, Wakefield
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Corarima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing