We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“... Another Review of a Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“... Another Review of a Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have written previous reviews on this hotel as I use it often. Everything before still stands, only stay here if price is right, otherwise you can use the express next door.

However since my last stay this hotel have introduced a themed buffet evening on Wednesdays which, if your lucky enough, to be staying over on a Wednesday will be a great treat for you.

The gym/pool attached is still a great addition for the hotel. The staff are also still very helpful and chatty which is a nice touch given most hotel staff are not interested.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomppayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review.

Our theme nights are starting to get a lot of attention - with the Indian Night definitely the most popular.

So much so, that we are thinking of making every Wednesday: Indian Night!

Also look out for Steak Night, and Sunday Lunch - both coming soon!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    228
    121
    51
    38
See reviews for
144
149
29
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
261 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed here one night every week for the last 4 weeks for work and on the whole it ias been great.

There is a fitness room and pool on site, rooms are quiet and comfortable, and the breakfast buffet is great (priced ad £9.95pp).
.
Staff on reception are very helpful and welcoming and recognised me by the 3rd week, and made sure I was in a double bed without asking, as someone had switched me to single beds (whcih is naughty as I had booked a double).

If I had a couple of small whinges they would be that the hairdriers in the drawer are in the most awkward place and don't really stretch properly so I now bring my own, and also that checkout in the morning can be painfully slow, although as a trade-off, there is a nice member of staff that offers to make you a take-away cup of coffee for your journey, which is a very nice touch. Or you can make one yourself as the table with all the tea/coffees etc is right by the entrance door.

By the way, I now know they offer automatic check-out if you use the form in the pack in your room, or ask for a form when you check-in, so I will be doing that in future.

There is a Harvester pub about 4mins walk away that is reasonably priced if you don't want to eat in the hotel restaurant.

Book early for the best price...Will be returning here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words.

As I write, Gemma, Reception Manager here at the Holiday Inn is briefing her team on the "Express Check Out" facility that we offer. Essentially (as you say) just check your bill through the TV in your room, fill in the form, and leave it in the little box located at Reception.

Some of our regular guests actually settle their accounts the night before which can also save time.

We like to have a quick chat with our guests in the morning - but completely understand that some want a very quick getaway. Hope it works for you (Don't forget to grab that coffee off us though!)

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

spent 3nights for my - - birthday with my family could not fault any of the obliging and friendly staff the food was great there were games for the kids and i liked the fact there was an interacting manager who actually cared for the guests. Thanks for making a birthday to remember. Keep up the good work would definately recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
So so pleased that we helped you to make some lovely memories of your Birthday.

I really hope that we see you all again soon.

Kindest Regards and Best Wishes

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontypool
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very friendly & helpful staff particularly at the reception desk.
Had booked a double room but told that they were all taken, asked for an upgrade room & this was given.
The staff at the breakfast area were not as courtious but overall I would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
You are so kind. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

However, the gloves are off now - my Breakfast team have taken the challenge to be more courteous than the Reception team (a little friendly competition never hurt anyone)!

Really look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed for one night recently. We had worked all day, had some issues with long queues at Heathrow and had driven for about 3 hours, so were ready for a shower, something to eat and a good sleep when we arrived.

On arrival there was nobody at reception. The foyer / bar is open plan, so the barman, once he noticed us came over and said he had called the receptionist who was “ busy and on his break”. The receptionist “ Luke” arrived and checked us in . He did not tell us the room number, but said it was written on the card. ( note I later asked about this, and keep in mind there was only us at the reception desk, and was told that it is company policy not to tell guests the room number in case someone else overhears; a new one on me!), We went up to the room indicated on the card but the door was locked. I went back down to reception, only to find Luke had again disappeared “ on his break”. The barman once again recalled a somewhat grumpy Luke who agreed that the style of his script had indeed misled us, and then, in direct contravention of the rules, told me the correct number. It had taken over 30 mins to check in and get to a room about 60 m away from our car by this time.

The rooms are lovely, the bathrooms well equipped and the hotel in a really nice spot, very convenient for anyone travelling in the area on, as we were, breaking the journey down to Cornwall. We had a lovely pizza in the bar and breakfast was excellent. Other than the receptionist the staff were attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: Check the number before you leave the reception desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you so very much for posting a review.

Luke and I are really sorry that our communication was not better.

Indeed, following our conversation when you checked out, we have strictly re emphasised to the whole of Reception the need to write room numbers on key wallets very clearly during check in.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed so much of your stay, and I am sure we'll get check in right for you next time.

Once again I offer my sincerest apologies

Best Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This has been by far the best of my recent stays in holiday inns. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was very good. Rooms satisfactory, all in all would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieaburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thats absolutely wonderful to hear. We are all keeping your review in mind as our objective is to be the best! - so we'll keep working hard (it's great that you think we're on the right track)!
Hope to see you again soon.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Desreves full marks in comparison to the other places I have stayed at in Taunton. The staff are maybe a little over the top being freindly (feels a bit false) but fair play to this hotel, food was very good, room very warm and clean.

Staff in the restaurant appeared to be working very long hours (doing early breakfast and late evening meals) but full credit to them as they did a cracking job.

Nice touch too with "coffe to go" at the entrance.

Very good hotel and will be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Brawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
I am delighted that you had such a good stay, and thanks very much for posting such a kind review. I am also delighted with my team, and promise you that they are a pretty genuine bunch who really do get a kick out of providing great hospitality!

Look forward to seeing you again when you are next down Taunton way.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
6.5 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
2.7 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.6 km away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 UK - Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing