We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Hall Hotel & Spa(Sutton Coldfield)
US$125
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield(Sutton Coldfield)(Great Value!)
US$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Sutton Coldfield)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Birmingham Streetly(Sutton Coldfield)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Clover Spa & Hotel(Birmingham)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Butler's Arms(Sutton Coldfield)
Moxhull Hall(Sutton Coldfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
194
140
67
69
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
140
67
69
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuecouldn't do enoughcooked breakfasthotel is situatedtired and in needtrouser presssat navsunday lunchlovely settingplenty of parkingfrom start to finishfollowing morningcanalmarqueemariemotorwaydj
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 538 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Some time since i last stayed here and must admit it was looking a little tired and dated.Warmly greeted at reception and had a room across the courtyard which was spacious and warm but in need of some attention.The stairway was scuffed and worn.
Made myself comfy in the small lounge and did some work.Wifi access was handy.Had a bar meal where i was working which was just okay - nothing special.
Very peaceful location so a good night's rest was almost guaranteed.Would consider it again if in the area but a refurb would be of great benefit!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

Since your stay we have introduced a new bar menu with more variety on this.

Your comments relating to the decor of the hotel have been passed onto the hotels directors.

The hotel is gradually decorating and updating room facilities and this is an ongoing process.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I recently stayed for 1 night at this hotel. The staff were superb, nothing was any trouble and it was clean. If you are going to the NEC it's only about 20 mins away and easy to get to. THe downside is that it is now dated, it could do ith redecorating as the wall paper and furniture look as though they date back to the 70's. It could do with new windows as they are a little draughty and you can hear a bit of traffic. I wouldn't stay here again but it's ok for 1 night if your travelling through. The price I paid was reasonable but I certainly wouldn't pay the actual room rate..... Worth about £35 a night, room only. Breakfast was £9.95 each and although the food was lovely, it wasn't worth that, £6 I can understand, but certainly no more, not unless you can really pig out....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback.

I am pleased to hear that the staff at Marston Farm looked after you.

I have passed your comments on to the hotels directors relating to the decor of the hotel.

The hotel is gradually decorating rooms and upgrading bedroom facilities. It appears that on this occasion you were not allocated one of these rooms.

Please let me know if you are in the area in the future so that I can arrange a preferential rate in one of the updated rooms so that you can see what we have been up to.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Given the experience as a present and booked ahead. Hotel very quiet at 3pm mid week but friendly staff were ready for us and set us up in a lounge with Tea, Cheese, Ham and Tuna sandwiches and scones with jam and cream as well as two other cakes. Sandwiches a bit chilled but on the whole it was a relaxing experience and the staff as I have said were very cheery and you felt like you were welcome. Lovely setting by the side of a canal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank araf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments about the hotel.

I have passed your comments onto the chef about the slightly chilled sandwiches.

Once again thank you for your feedback I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Friendly staff and very quiet, rooms in need of a refurbishment with peeling wallpaper
and laminate on bottom of wardrobe missing. Cleanliness was good however the food left masses to be desired. Breakfast that we had was awful, i gave my compliments to the chef for managing to ruin the easiest meal of the day, scrambled eggs were runny, sausage was just or not cooked, bacon was BBQ flavour, grilled tomato was not warm let alone grilled and mushrooms on my sons plate was massive while i had 3 on mine. Black pudding was good!! The toast that my wife eventually cooked on a toaster with only one side of elements working (see previous post) was probably the best bit of breakfast. To be fair to the hotel they did refund the cost of breakfast on the bill for all of us without any arguments.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my apologies that breakfast was not up to our usually high standards.

Unfortunately on that particular morning we did have a problem with the main oven in the kitchen.
Further to our conversation after your breakfast we should have communicated this issue to our guests.

We have since purchased a secondary oven so that should there be any equipment failure we have a back-up.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for your positive comments about the staff and i look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and, other than the fact that parts of it are a bit tired (some might say that this is part of its charm!) it's hard to fault. It scores on tranquility (it's amazingly quiet given that it's so close to the M42 and I love the fact that there are narrow boats cruising by), location, friendliness of staff and the gem of a courtyard. The dinner food remains of a good standard and they were able to cater for a party of around 20 again, but this time at very short notice. However, the breakfast was a bit "iffy" with no fresh fruit salad, dry scrambled eggs and a toaster which only toasted on one side. Despite this, it would actually be good to spend more than just the odd night here, because it would be a lovely place to just relax in - and we're planning to do just that in the autumn.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garybons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel this autumn, where I am sure breakfast will be at its normally high standard and you can try out our new toasters


Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews