We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights-26th./27th. April. Booked because this hotel was on the list for a restaurant experience we had been given as gift & was in an area not previously visited. Looking @ some of reviews made us a little apprehensive, but glad we ignored them, as other than weather, had 1st. class stay. Staff v.friendly & helpful, room ( 35) spotless with v. comfy bed (best nights sleep for years) & good powerful shower. Food was excellent, good quality & well presented with reasonable choice for dinner & breakfast.
Several reviewers mention decor being tired, which if you want ultra modern it probably is, but we found it in keeping with hotel atmosphere & V.relaxing. Would not hesitate to revisit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the dining experience and ambience of the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Brook Marston Farm Hotel in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to make a booking.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    120
    57
    60
    51
See reviews for
105
151
6
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Some time since i last stayed here and must admit it was looking a little tired and dated.Warmly greeted at reception and had a room across the courtyard which was spacious and warm but in need of some attention.The stairway was scuffed and worn.
Made myself comfy in the small lounge and did some work.Wifi access was handy.Had a bar meal where i was working which was just okay - nothing special.
Very peaceful location so a good night's rest was almost guaranteed.Would consider it again if in the area but a refurb would be of great benefit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Since your stay we have introduced a new bar menu with more variety on this.

Your comments relating to the decor of the hotel have been passed onto the hotels directors.

The hotel is gradually decorating and updating room facilities and this is an ongoing process.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I recently stayed for 1 night at this hotel. The staff were superb, nothing was any trouble and it was clean. If you are going to the NEC it's only about 20 mins away and easy to get to. THe downside is that it is now dated, it could do ith redecorating as the wall paper and furniture look as though they date back to the 70's. It could do with new windows as they are a little draughty and you can hear a bit of traffic. I wouldn't stay here again but it's ok for 1 night if your travelling through. The price I paid was reasonable but I certainly wouldn't pay the actual room rate..... Worth about £35 a night, room only. Breakfast was £9.95 each and although the food was lovely, it wasn't worth that, £6 I can understand, but certainly no more, not unless you can really pig out....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback.

I am pleased to hear that the staff at Marston Farm looked after you.

I have passed your comments on to the hotels directors relating to the decor of the hotel.

The hotel is gradually decorating rooms and upgrading bedroom facilities. It appears that on this occasion you were not allocated one of these rooms.

Please let me know if you are in the area in the future so that I can arrange a preferential rate in one of the updated rooms so that you can see what we have been up to.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sutton Coldfield hotels

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Given the experience as a present and booked ahead. Hotel very quiet at 3pm mid week but friendly staff were ready for us and set us up in a lounge with Tea, Cheese, Ham and Tuna sandwiches and scones with jam and cream as well as two other cakes. Sandwiches a bit chilled but on the whole it was a relaxing experience and the staff as I have said were very cheery and you felt like you were welcome. Lovely setting by the side of a canal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank araf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments about the hotel.

I have passed your comments onto the chef about the slightly chilled sandwiches.

Once again thank you for your feedback I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Friendly staff and very quiet, rooms in need of a refurbishment with peeling wallpaper
and laminate on bottom of wardrobe missing. Cleanliness was good however the food left masses to be desired. Breakfast that we had was awful, i gave my compliments to the chef for managing to ruin the easiest meal of the day, scrambled eggs were runny, sausage was just or not cooked, bacon was BBQ flavour, grilled tomato was not warm let alone grilled and mushrooms on my sons plate was massive while i had 3 on mine. Black pudding was good!! The toast that my wife eventually cooked on a toaster with only one side of elements working (see previous post) was probably the best bit of breakfast. To be fair to the hotel they did refund the cost of breakfast on the bill for all of us without any arguments.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my apologies that breakfast was not up to our usually high standards.

Unfortunately on that particular morning we did have a problem with the main oven in the kitchen.
Further to our conversation after your breakfast we should have communicated this issue to our guests.

We have since purchased a secondary oven so that should there be any equipment failure we have a back-up.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for your positive comments about the staff and i look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
261 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and, other than the fact that parts of it are a bit tired (some might say that this is part of its charm!) it's hard to fault. It scores on tranquility (it's amazingly quiet given that it's so close to the M42 and I love the fact that there are narrow boats cruising by), location, friendliness of staff and the gem of a courtyard. The dinner food remains of a good standard and they were able to cater for a party of around 20 again, but this time at very short notice. However, the breakfast was a bit "iffy" with no fresh fruit salad, dry scrambled eggs and a toaster which only toasted on one side. Despite this, it would actually be good to spend more than just the odd night here, because it would be a lovely place to just relax in - and we're planning to do just that in the autumn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garybons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel this autumn, where I am sure breakfast will be at its normally high standard and you can try out our new toasters


Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Cannot fault the welcome, staff attitude, service, cleanliness, location (in open countryside around one mile from the Belfry golf course), or food, but some areas are oh-so-tired. The black and yellow hazard tape covering threadbare stair nosings may have prevented tripping, but did nothing for the overall ambience. The room, spotlessly clean and pleasantly warm, had the kind of decor last seen in a 1960's Blackpool backstreet B&B and I'm not sure that the three round-pin, unfused lamp-plug would pass a PAT test. The cracked bath panel and asthmatic extractor fan stood out, more so because the shower was excellent and the bathroom a shining example of what level of cleanliness is possible in a hotel, given a conscientious approach and a little care and attention to details.
Meals were taken at a small table where the outer edges sloped so much that the jug of water, thoughtfully provided, seemed in imminent danger of overflowing once set down and the wicker chairs' legs were working loose, threatening to deposit my meagre 12 stone frame on the floor if I moved too quickly.
Those parts of this hotel we experienced are in desperate need of solid investment in decor to bring it closer to 21st century traveller expectations and accurately to complement the exemplary professional attitude of the staff. An hotel with much potential, sadly let down by niggardly underinvestment in infrastructure.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing M6 motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments about the staff.

Since your visit the furniture in the restaurant has received attention,

In relation to your comments about decor, the hotel has been decorating areas of the hotel.
Your comments have been forwarded to the directors of the hotel so that the issues highlighted can be factored into the long term maintenance plan.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back top Brook Marston farm hotel in the future.


Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
7.5 km away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
6.6 km away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
7.1 km away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
1.5 km away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
6.5 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Su...
#4 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Marston Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Marston Farm Hotel

Property: Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Address: Dog Lane | Bodymoor Heath, Sutton Coldfield B76 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Marston Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century farmhouse is in quiet countryside on the Birmingham, close to the M42. It has free parking, a tennis court, a restaurant and a bar. The Brook Marston Farm Hotel is less than 2 miles from the Belfry Golf Resort and 10 miles from Birmingham International Airport and the NEC (National Exhibition Centre). It was once owned by Sir Robert Peel, former Prime Minister and founder of the police force. Hotel Rooms: 37. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity.ca, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Marston Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marston Farm Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing