We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
435
281
90
27
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
281
90
27
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burghley house lovely hotel hotel grounds the ground floor a large car park eggs benedict bottled water wedding venue road noise two night stay small bottle wedding reception large room enjoyable stay breakfast was excellent stayed here for two nights well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 840 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2017

We were at a wedding at the Willian Cecil and had booked a room the hotel had saved for guests. We were in room 5. The room was a strange shape and the bed was put at an angle for it to fit. The problem wS there was very little room for anything else!!! It was very hot to sY the least and having the windows open made it very noisy. The fan was an industrial size which took up the rest of the floor space. The bathroom and separate toilet were roomy which was ok. So my problem is that the rooms advertised are nothing like the room we had so we were very disappointed and for the price I think it wS overrated. My advise is don't get room 5 because it is very small ....

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Dear Jill,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room during your recent stay. All of our bedrooms are visible to see online in our gallery I do hope this was suggested to you at point of booking.

Where possible, should our guests experience issues with our bedrooms, we always try and move our guests during their stay. I do hope you raised your issues with our Reception Team.

I do hope you will visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Peter Brighouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2017

Lovely car park, garden like. Quirky hotel although reception is under a staircase. Room lovely & old fashioned. Food fabulous in restaurant, I recommend the duck breast. Breakfast really good. Staff really nice. Will definitely be back to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back as front rooms have a little traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DMS650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for telling us about your recent stay. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially our breakfast an your evening meal in our 2 rosette restaurant.

We moved our Reception to the new location a few years ago to allow for the wonderful seating area which is located immediately as you enter the building :)

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Brighouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

This impressive Hotel is steeped in History as is the entire town.
Mainly 1600's build old stone properties.
Exceptionally polite and attentive staff.
We were only staying 1 night en route to the Lake District, but they still upgraded us to a superior room with a 4 poster bed.

The cost is not cheap, but it's worth it.

High quality dining is available, but not cheap. We choose the short walk into town to a nearby pub also owned by the same chain. This was also good.

No hesitation in recommending this Hotel. Spoil yourself.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WestHamEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

I am pleased to read that our staff went the extra mile to ensure you had a wonderful stay in our establishment. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional customer service & it is wonderful to read such lovely feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Brighouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

The staff service at this hotel was so good. They volunteered information , helped with luggage , held open doors ,were friendly ,offered to book restaurants and so on . The room up a lot of stairs was lovely ,well-equipped with quality teas , ground coffee and bathroom accessories . Beds were comfortable and all was clean. The restaurant food proved to be very good . It was very enjoyable .

Room Tip: Ask about room accessibility as some are a long way and have difficult stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank acward24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review - our entire team will be thrilled that they all made such a great impression.

I do hope you will visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Peter Brighouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2017

We usually choose the Cecil's partner Bull and Swan hotel just down the hill but this time the Cecil had a good deal for the night we needed. It is a smallish hotel in a lovely building with neatly groomed grounds and well situated at the Southern edge of the beautiful town with everything within easy walking distance. The staff are pleasant and our welcome was warm, the room had everything we needed including a small bottle of Elderflower spirit next to the comfortable bed. We ate dinner elsewhere but our breakfast at the William Cecil was superbly cooked from a varied menu of locally sourced products.
We used the bar for a late drink and didn't get any sign that the late-ish hour was inconvenient to the staff - not always the case in many hotels.

Room Tip: We had the Capability Brown room toward the rear of the building so no traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripkit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

I am pleased to read you both took full advantage of our location and enjoyed exploring our beautiful town.

I will pass on your lovely comments to our entire team :)

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Brighouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews