We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“first Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The North Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The North Hill Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“first Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Used this Hotel to indulge a curiosity as to how Colchester had developed since I was stationed there back in 1980.
Checked ratings against trip advisor and decided to use this hotel I was not dissappoinrted, had the room at the top of the building it was nice and fresh not tired like so many places I have stayed in this country.
The room itself was large, roomy, with a huge shower and Plasma TV, the bed was also very comfortable, perhaps because I was on the top floor or because it was a week-day there was no street noise coming in and I had a great nights sleep.
Also did evening meal and breakfast here and both were top quality so I did not mind paying a little more than usual.

Room Tip: Top floor room is reached through quite tight and winding stairs there is no lift so if you have pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterTigerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    73
    19
    6
    0
See reviews for
25
99
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here for one night in March. We managed to book the last available room on a Saturday night. The room was spotlessly clean throughout and well presented. Our only issue with the room was the small shower which was very flimsy and difficult to get the right temperature (could just be me). The staff were very friendly and helpful with a very speedy checkin. The bar and restaurant were very busy in the evening, which is also a good sign.
There was a lot of noise from the bar late at night on top of the noise from people leaving the bars in town but this didn't bother us as its usually us making the noise.
The breakfast was excellent served by polite friendly stay was the best part. All in all a great place to stay and we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back...or the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

A very pleasant hotel with an excellent restaurant. Breakfast was especially well done - all freshly cooked. Not many hotels in UK (in my experience) provide freshly squeezed orange juice and the bacon was memorable. Evening meal was also very good.
My single room was a bit too small but the double was fine except for the peeling paint on the ceiling above the shower. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freeroddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWarehouse, Owner at The North Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Once again its good to hear where we are getting it right and areas for improvement. I am going to get that ceiling sorted next week!!

We have set a high benchmark for our breakfast since opening 3 years ago and I am so pleased to hear that we are still getting it right.(there is nothing worse than waking up to a 2nd rate slightly warm buffet breakfast!)

Many thanks

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed in the twin room at the North Hill Hotel in March. The room was booked for me and my best friend as part of her hen weekend.

Very impressed by this little hotel. Check in was easy as could be. I particularly liked the relaxed atmosphere in reception (which is accessed via the Green Rooms restaurant). Our bags were carried to the room by the very courteous chap who checked us in. All the staff we encountered during our stay were all, without exception, polite, relaxed, helpful and friendly.

The room was lovely. Located on the ground floor but away from the main building and with its own front door, the twin room is almost like staying in your own little cottage. The room itself was spacious, clean, very well presented, with all the usual amenities you would expect in a good hotel.

The bathroom was small, but again, well appointed, clean and modern. The only criticism I have about the room is that the pressure in the shower wasn't all that (which pretty much sums up how good this hotel is, if that's all I've got to complain about).

I always seem to write about food in my reviews and this one is no exception. Breakfast at the hotel was out-of-this-world amazing. Cooked perfectly, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious.

This is a great little hotel. It's perfectly located, evidently well-run, a little on the expensive side but it's more than justifiable, given the quality of the accommodation and service they offer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friendly_traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWarehouse, Owner at The North Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thanks for your kind and helpful comments and I've sorted that shower (pressure was high but valve was getting stuck)


Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

What a beautiful, comfortable and friendly hotel.We were very much looking forward to our stay last weekend (24/02-25/02) Nothing was too much trouble. We were warmly welcomed by the young gentleman on the desk and allocated room 25.
The rooms were perfect and very comfortable. The only negative was the fact of slight water damage on the ceiling of the bathroom and a bulb not working, but otherwise it was well worth the money paid,
Breakfast was most delicious the next morning and presented with style. All local produce and cooked to perfection.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request room at rear of hotel and from other reports the front can get noisy, particularly at weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWarehouse, Owner at The North Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Once again its good to hear where we are getting it right and areas for improvement. I am going to get that ceiling sorted next week!!

We have set a high benchmark for our breakfast since opening 3 years ago and I am so pleased to hear that we are still getting it right.(there is nothing worse than waking up to a 2nd rate slightly warm buffet breakfast!)

Many thanks

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Blanca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We spent two nights here and found the hotel to be extremely well presented, clean and well maintained. The suite itself was very new and comfortable, quiet and warm. The usual TV channels were available, tea coffee facilities spot on.

The major plus for us was the breakfast which was fantastic - cooked from fresh local produce as opposed to re-heated rubbish - plenty of food to keep you going throughout the day.

The staff were friendly and welcoming too.

I would stay again without doubt.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in the Mini Suite for 1 night, last weekend. The bedroom and bathroom were lovely, - spacious, very clean and comfortable and well equipped. All the hotel staff could not do more to be of help and made us very welcome. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday night which was also very good. The location was great for the local shops and bars too! Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try the mini suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norsey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWarehouse, Owner at The North Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Hi and thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you liked the mini suite, we are getting lots of very positive comments about them!

Sorry to many previous reviewers for lack of response It seems trip advisor are taking some very careful steps to make sure only registered people are allowed to respond (I am obviously now registered!) Can I just say one BIG thank you to the previous reviews that I have missed.

We will continue to do our best.

Many thanks

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.7 km away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
12.5 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#9 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.1 km away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Hill Hotel

Property: The North Hill Hotel
Address: 51 North Hill, Colchester CO1 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Colchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The North Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The North Hill Hotel we strive to provide a convenient and friendly place to stay in the heart of the old Roman Capital city which is full of character, but softened behind a modern clean exterior. We are commited to giving a consistant friendly service to all our guests in a way which will surpass any previous expectations of value in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The North Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Hill Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing