We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...”
Review of Frankie & Benny's

Frankie & Benny's
Ranked #283 of 544 Restaurants in Colchester
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Frankie & Benny's serves up the best of New York Italian cuisine to offer you big flavours and massive choice. Whether you fancy a juicy chicken burger or an Italian classic, we've got something for everyone! We've been a much loved restaurant for over 20 years and offer families a place to go for a fun, comforting meal where you can enjoy some well-deserved, chilled-out family time. We cater for all needs with a huge gluten free menu, a wide offering of vegetarian dishes and host of healthier, lighter bites. So try one of our mouth-watering Freakshakes or grab a beer with friends and enjoy a home-from-home meal with us - see you soon!
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Felt like it had gone downmarket since eating here last. Menus look cheap, limited choice. Ordered fish and chips. Wasn't the worst I've ever had but probably second worst :( Fish was obviously frozen, dry and unappealing.
Horrible.
Won't be back :(

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank 50IsTheMagicNumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 484 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Visited today . Breakfast ( the big one ) £9.99 changed the name from Papa Grande and now no toast included and reduced portion size and yet the price of drinks have gone up. £2.75 for a glass of orange juice

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank notfussyusually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

I visited with family which included a nine year old girl ....we weren’t greeted at the door so walked over to the waiter he told us to get back to the door and wAit ...then got asked if we had read the door that said limited menu as gas had ran out so only pizzas available ..luckily that’s all the 9 year old wanted ...the waiter was rude with our order as we wanted an adult pizza not child’s pizza ...I think they just wanted to close up and get everyone out and made us feel uncomfortable

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank candyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner out, our server Lisa was really polite and friendly. Food was ok could have been a bit hotter.
The thing what upset us was when suddenly me of the waiters started screaming around the restaurant to his colleague about football score.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2018

We took our 8 year old twin niece and nephew one Saturday. Seemed dirty and lacked atmosphere. Waitress service good and fast but the food was very ordinary and the children’s meal looked terrible. It arrived on a large plate which made it look like there was not much food. Paid with debit card which wasn’t taken from account until 2 and half weeks later. Very disappointed. Won’t be returning.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank pickers48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie & Benny's also viewed

 

Been to Frankie & Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing