We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
32
26
14
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
26
14
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree upgradeb and ban evening mealon arrivalposter bedbreakfast was excellentbreakfast roomfollowing morningexcellent value for moneyyogurtscotlandstopoverratesjourney
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 83 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for the night whilst doing the Reivers Way cycle route.

The owner was very obliging and put our bikes in the central courtyard.

The room was large and comfortable with en suite shower.

Evening meals are available but are mainly Indian cuisine. The nearest town is Longtown and there is a bus that stops right outside the guesthouse.

We ate in and it was very good. Drinks are available from the bar.

Surprisingly we slept very well despite the A7 running right past the front of the guesthouse.

Breakfast was very good and the place was good value for money.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank MontyWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We booked this B&B as it's really close to the M6 and we were breaking our journey back from Inverness. The exterior is not promising, it's a bit tired and needs a spruce up to make it more welcoming. The owner is a lovely man who made us feel really welcome.

We stayed in Room 2, which is a smallish double. There is an evident need for some attention to detail, for example, the bathroom was clean but the window frames were a bit grubby, something that would take a few seconds with a wipe. One of the towels was also still slightly damp from being laundered, but this was not a problem.

The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well, a bit of noise from the bust road outside but it's not too much on that side of the building. We had to leave early due to our 7 week old baby, so missed breakfast. The free WiFi signal is also very weak in Room 2.

On the whole, the place is a bit dated and considering the market (on the way to Scotland we stopped at the Holiday Inn in Newcastle with a huge immaculate room with two double beds for £10 more than charged here) a bit of TLC would make this a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Weaselbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

We booked this accomodation 3 hours before we arrived as a last minute resort as there were no accomodation in Edinburgh due to the Hyland Show so we decided to stay in Carlisle instead on our way up. This place did great for the night. We booked two rooms, one single ensuite and one double ensuite. Both were pleseant and exceeded our expectations considering the value. The owner was expecting us on arrival and was very courteous throughout our stay. We didn't have chance to have breakfast as we overslept but when checking out the owner asked us if there was anything we would like and got us some milk and cereal. He was very nice and a very good host. If I am in the area I would defininately visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NewGuineaIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room 2 which was an ok size double. We were told at check in that the price only included continental breakfast which isn't what we were led to believe when booking. But the breakfast was a perfectly fine continental so free is free. The shower was tepid for me and cold for my husband. The wifi was not strong in the room, we had to go near reception to use it.The carpet in the main areas is a bit dated and maybe the whole experience reminded us of Fawlty Towers.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kiwimaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2016

We break our long haul to Scotland and Carlisle is a good distance to do this.
The Lynbank was easy to access from M6. First impressions was looked a bit tired but inside was good and Emir the host was very wecoming and helped a lot as my husband has limited mobility at the moment. Because we were late for dinner and no other form of refreshments he allowed us to finish our picnic in his guest lounge where we could have drinks and most important my husband had the football on??? Breakfast was good.Value was very good. Would definately consider overstopping there again.

Room Tip: The room we had was good and spacious but I didn' see others.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews