We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynebank Guest House
Ranked #38 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed here for two nights the room had a four poster bed very clean. We ate at the hotel on the Friday night had an Indian meal it was amazing first class would recommend the food to anyone wanting to come in from the outside. Good prices. The owner is very friendly on hand to help day or night the price included a full English breakfast will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Excellent clean hotel nice friendly owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunderland_girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for the night whilst doing the Reivers Way cycle route.

The owner was very obliging and put our bikes in the central courtyard.

The room was large and comfortable with en suite shower.

Evening meals are available but are mainly Indian cuisine. The nearest town is Longtown and there is a bus that stops right outside the guesthouse.

We ate in and it was very good. Drinks are available from the bar.

Surprisingly we slept very well despite the A7 running right past the front of the guesthouse.

Breakfast was very good and the place was good value for money.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank MontyWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We booked this B&B as it's really close to the M6 and we were breaking our journey back from Inverness. The exterior is not promising, it's a bit tired and needs a spruce up to make it more welcoming. The owner is a lovely man who made us feel really welcome.

We stayed in Room 2, which is a smallish double. There is an evident need for some attention to detail, for example, the bathroom was clean but the window frames were a bit grubby, something that would take a few seconds with a wipe. One of the towels was also still slightly damp from being laundered, but this was not a problem.

The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well, a bit of noise from the bust road outside but it's not too much on that side of the building. We had to leave early due to our 7 week old baby, so missed breakfast. The free WiFi signal is also very weak in Room 2.

On the whole, the place is a bit dated and considering the market (on the way to Scotland we stopped at the Holiday Inn in Newcastle with a huge immaculate room with two double beds for £10 more than charged here) a bit of TLC would make this a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Weaselbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We booked this accomodation 3 hours before we arrived as a last minute resort as there were no accomodation in Edinburgh due to the Hyland Show so we decided to stay in Carlisle instead on our way up. This place did great for the night. We booked two rooms, one single ensuite and one double ensuite. Both were pleseant and exceeded our expectations considering the value. The owner was expecting us on arrival and was very courteous throughout our stay. We didn't have chance to have breakfast as we overslept but when checking out the owner asked us if there was anything we would like and got us some milk and cereal. He was very nice and a very good host. If I am in the area I would defininately visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NewGuineaIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room 2 which was an ok size double. We were told at check in that the price only included continental breakfast which isn't what we were led to believe when booking. But the breakfast was a perfectly fine continental so free is free. The shower was tepid for me and cold for my husband. The wifi was not strong in the room, we had to go near reception to use it.The carpet in the main areas is a bit dated and maybe the whole experience reminded us of Fawlty Towers.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kiwimaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We break our long haul to Scotland and Carlisle is a good distance to do this.
The Lynbank was easy to access from M6. First impressions was looked a bit tired but inside was good and Emir the host was very wecoming and helped a lot as my husband has limited mobility at the moment. Because we were late for dinner and no other form of refreshments he allowed us to finish our picnic in his guest lounge where we could have drinks and most important my husband had the football on??? Breakfast was good.Value was very good. Would definately consider overstopping there again.

Room Tip: The room we had was good and spacious but I didn' see others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Clean, friendly and comfortable. We stayed for one night on our way to the Highlands.

We didn't eat evening meal here but breakfast was good. Traffic didn't bother us and we were by the road in a great room. Really good value for a stop over. Would recommend

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank hobbsey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.3 km away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
683 reviews
1.4 km away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#6 of 20 in Carlisle
1,084 reviews
2.6 km away
Willowbeck Lodge
Willowbeck Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotby
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,075 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,459 reviews
4.6 km away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynebank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynebank Guest House

Address: Westlinton, Carlisle CA6 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range: $85 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynebank House Rooms & Restaurant is situated on the A7 tourist route, a short drive from Carlisle town centre & the M6. Recently awarded the highly coveted 4 Star Guest House rating from Visit Britain (November 2014) Refurbished to a high standard during 2014, all our bedrooms are beautifully furnished and equipped, we are also licensed with bar and conservatory and offer our on-site Restaurant (opening Spring 2015). All bedrooms are en-suite with tea making facilities, television, linen and quality bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lynebank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing