We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
33
27
14
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
27
14
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an evening meal on arrival breakfast was excellent full english breakfast breakfast room following morning excellent value for money scotland amir rates
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 85 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

I stasis here with a friend on a motorcycle trip to Scotland. The room was spacious and clean. We spent a plesant evening in the bar. Breakfast was ok and overall value for money was very good. The owner allowed us to park our bikes in view of the entrance and we felt they were safe for the night. Goo stop.iff point for travelling into Scotland.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jamescprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

Myself my husband and daughter went away to Gretna and have a wee overnight stay here. Lovely wee place very quiet room nice 4 poster bed really comfy breakfast lovely overall lovely wee place. So will pop by again next time we are by that was

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jobandtob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile

We booked this stay the day before, mainly due to price. It's in an ideal location for a stopover on a journey between Scotland and England.
We were met by Amir who was very friendly, he advised he had given us a free upgrade as he felt the room we had booked might be too small with the dog.
(We did have to pay an additional £10 for the dog which is a bit on the expensive side for this type of b and b)
The room was very large, one double and two single beds with a spacious shower room.
There were tea and coffee making facilities and Amir kindly gave us a jug of fresh milk as we weren't keen on the milk cartons.
Although we could hear traffic, it didn't disturb our sleep too much.
The shower cubicle was spacious and I really enjoyed my shower.
There was a choice of cereal,fresh fruit,yoghurt and fruit juice followed by a setcooked breakfast,which included bacon,egg,sausage,cherry tomatoes and fresh mushrooms. It was all cooked well, the only downside was the sausage, but I am fussy about sausages and it wasn't the best.
For the price we paid this was definitely value for money

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 616LAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

Brilliant spot! Despite I was on crutches and had to go up the stairs but a staff member said did say if he could he souls give us a down stairs room but they was none! Room was spot on and clean. Food was lovely

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sinead-Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2017

As has been mentioned in previous reviews the owner Amir is a pleasant chap. From there it went downhill. The room is very poorly insulated from road noise from the A7. Unless you're a really heavy sleeper you'll need earplugs. The cleanliness (or lack of it) was more worrying. Most surfaces hadn't been dusted and the things you would hope to be clean weren't including the kettle and the tea tray. The TV was grimy and there was food left behind one of the bedside cabinets. It was patently obvious the shower and window frames had seen weeks of neglect regarding any sort of housekeeping. If you think I'm exaggerating see the photographs. I mentioned all this to the owner at breakfast and he said he had someone who worked part time cleaning but I said they weren't doing their job properly. I paid £42.50 which was good value but had I seen the rooms poor state of cleanliness I wouldn't have booked.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynebank H, Owner at Lynebank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Dear Guest thank you very much for your comments, I took your concerns seriously but I would like to say my concerns about your stay, as you have mentioned that you paid 42.50£ for your stay for a room usual price is £75 with full English breakfast, the amount of damage you have done to four poster bed is over 80£ . I have reported it to Booking.com as well with photos. I should have charged your card for the damage. I don't understand what you were trying to do with the bed probably (making a swing) which is shame. I don't welcome such guests in my B&B. If you was not happy with the state of the room you should have mentioned it during your stay and leaving nasty comments on tripadvisor, it is considered a bad practice. I can send you the photos of the bed for your record. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews