We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
55
130
158
104
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
130
158
104
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tired and in need pleasant stay full english breakfast comfy bed excellent value for money revamp castle stopover
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 595 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the county hotel with friends for a stag weekend. Have to couldn’t really ask for much more . Easy check in. Tv in room. Beds comfy enough. Tea and coffee for the morning after. Best part is the location . Step out the front door and you are on the main drag perfect for stumbling back after a night on the sauce. No complaints from any of the boys and the staff looked after us well. Yes it could be doing with some cash spent on it but pound for pound very good value!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank marcsc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl W, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear marcsc0tland,

Thank you for your comments!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.... We hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We've stayed here in the past and knew what to expect. We like it because it's got character and isn't all steel and glass. This time we were on the top floor right on the corner of Botchergate and The Crescent. We expected it to be noisy, and it was but it gave us a great view of the world going by in the early hours of the bank holiday weekend. We know the hotel has no control over the noise so we accept it.
The only negative we found this time was that the bath towels were taken, but not replaced. The flloor was creaky and I felt bad for the people underneath.
On the plus side, parking is free and plentiful, the staff are always amenable. It is a great but noisy location, and the rates can be excellent compared to nearby hotels. We're looking forward to the refurbishment but hope it keeps some of it's character.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MissHavisham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl W, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MissHavisham69,

Thank you for your review!

The hotel does have character and lots of history.
we are centrally located and so we do experience noise, unfortunately this is out of our control, we do offer free earplugs to light sleepers, available from Reception.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at county hotel 3 nights and all bar bank holiday Sunday had noise from outside but other than that we had a good sized room that slept 3 very clean and staff very welcoming and helpful ,breakfast very good value for money

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank 2,013,503,822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl W, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 2013503822,

Thank you for your kind review!

We do hope you return to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Room was dark even with the lights on. Window on the bathroom was boarded up with cheap ply board, the sink taps were missing the disks to say which was hot and cold, holes in the grout in the bath/shower. Bedside lamp not working.
Paid £12 for breakfast and was not worth it. Dishes and glassware were not entirely clean.
Water pressure poor.

Room Tip: Unless this hotel gets a renovation go somewhere else.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank TracyL1749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl W, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tracy L,

Thank you for your comments!

We are due a full refurbishment very soon and hope you will return in the future where we can better meet your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Booked in for overnight stay, check in was quick as it was a large group.The room had everything you needed but was very basic. Hadn't the best night sleep, mattress was very soft. The shower was a mixer,off the bath taps and took a while to get the temperature right.The hotel was clean enough and bar prices was reasonable.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl W, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Brenda R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the hotel is due to commence a full refurbishment at the end of October where bathrooms will be updated.

We hope to welcome you back again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews