We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Compact accommodation, friendly host, appealing...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Robin

Robin our cottage with..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robin our cottage with..
..open plan living space, double bed room,
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Robin our cottage with..
..open plan living space,
double bed room,
and walk in shower.
The entrance to the garden with..
fish pond
and
the picnic area.
Through to the lower garden with..
view over the fells.
Some wild life:
our hens and
flowers.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer2...
Merrijig
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Compact accommodation, friendly host, appealing location on the Solway.”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our host Steve was helpful and friendly. The cottage is small and stylish, but equipped with the minimum of requirements for a week-long stay. Equipment we had become used to during our tour of Scotland - freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, mirrors outside the bathroom - are lacking here. We managed of course. We were able to use the freezer in the main house and there is at least one efficient laundry in Carlisle. The location is beautiful, historic and well placed for exploring the Solway Coast, Hadian's Wall and even the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wifi did not function
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
We are sorry to read that you were missing equipment you were used to on your travels. We strongly advise guests to read the website. The content of the web site describes the area as well as the features and fittings of our cottage. This helps to choose a listing that is appropriate to your needs and would avoid disappointment.
Our place is equipped to the space available which in turn is reflected in our price.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missssssy...
1 review
“Stylish accommodation, Very welcoming host”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The accommodation was stylish, clean, tidy beautifully decorated & well equipped the enclosed garden accross the lane was great for sitting watching the fish in the pool and feeding the very friendly chickens the owner was very welcoming and friendly to approach & gave us a guided tour of the facilities and grounds. Robin was everything we wanted a great location with wonderfully peaceful surroundings also not far from Carlisle, can not fault anything apart from the wifi connection being very weak however me & my partner had a comfortable and relaxing short stay and look forward to going back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Mary...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Spotlessly clean. Very warm and friendly hosts.”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent service. Spotlessly clean. Lovely hamlet with Solway Firth one side and the Lakes the other.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Efrobishe...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, modern and lovely owners.”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was everything we wanted from a relaxing countryside getaway. The accommodation was beautifully decorated and extremely clean and tidy. There was everything we needed and was perfect for what we wanted. The owner was very welcoming, friendly and very approachable if we needed anything. I would highly recommend this and would definitively go back and stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thank you for your positive revue it was our pleasure hosting you. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you caught the first three sunny days of 2015, over Valentine's day. Wishing you many more happy getaways and you are always welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynIn...
Guisborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb accommodation and a very welcoming host”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a three night stay at the beginning of September in this beautifully converted dairy at the rear of the owners' farmhouse. Raphaela is a friendly, interesting and very welcoming host and the stylish, well presented cottage met our needs ideally. The gift of prosecco to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary was a very kind and much appreciated gesture. For us the location was perfect, a few minutes from Carlisle but a world away in terms of peace and tranquility. The Carlisle-Settle return rail journey was stunning and we enjoyed exploring the history of Carlisle Castle and Hadrian's Wall. In all, we had a comfortable and relaxing short stay in a fascinating area. Many thanks to Raphaela.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and cleanliness of the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet and spacious
Liked least: wifi dodgy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Robin cottage. It was our pleasure having you and thank you for your positive review.Hopefully you will have many more exciting hours in the air (around here?)and that we might see you both again on another occasion. All the best for you both, Raphaela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TonyCogan
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice clean accommodation in a rural setting.”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our hostess, Rapheala, was a great host and very attentive to our needs. The apartment - a converted dairy - is modern and clean. It is a 15 minute drive from the pleasant town (or small city) Carlisle. Being situated in a farming environment, it does have a few farmyard smells which you need to get used to, but if you feel like a few days away from he city, then this just adds to the atmosphere. One of the great advantages of the property is its proximity to somr amazing sites and musejms along Hadrian's Wall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Raphaela's welcome, supply of fresh eggs and generous use of washing machine.
Liked least: Nothing - all good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing