We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Faultless. Recommended without hesitation.”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear Elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear Elevation
Front Elevation Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Rear Elevation
Front Elevation
Living Room
Kitchen/Living Room
Kitchen.
Dining room.
Sitting room.
Double bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Approaching the house from Ballater.
Salmon leaping at the Falls of Feugh, Banchory.
Walks for ALL the family !
Burn O'Vat, Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve.
Harry Potter's steam train over Glenfinnan Viaduct.
Spectacular Dunnottar Castle, Stonehaven.
Pretty Stonehaven harbour.
Balmoral Castle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
KeenHiker...
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Faultless. Recommended without hesitation.”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The short story is that I loved staying at this cottage and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday cottage near Ballater.
The longer story is that I have been to Ballater many times over the past few years and really good quality holiday homes near to Ballater are hard to find. This cottage has it all - it is large and spacious, very well equiped, has plenty of parking, great views, is within 5 minutes of central Ballater, yet in attractive countryside, and is perfectly clean and tidy. I can't think of anything that I did not like. I suspect that at the moment this is the best holiday cottage available within easy driving distance of Ballater. The owners were very helpful and informative, and the key pick-up etc was very easy indeed. The new extension is exceptionally well-done and provides lots of light, yet cosy space. Actually I wouldn't mind being there now! I especially liked the river view.
I can also highly recommend Ballater and the immediate region. It is the most beautiful part of Scotland that I have ever visited. The stretch of the Dee and the nearby Glens are wonderful. And Balmoral is just down the road. Ballater now has a number of very nice restaurants and a charming little high street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very large and spacious.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Wow ! Thanks for a fantastic review ! We can't think of anything else to say other than " come back again " !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Aberdeen Cottage was a delight. Very comfortable and the new extension really opens it up into a bright big kitchen/living area with a lovely view. Ideal location. Very picturesque from both sides of the house. Lots to see and do in the area. We look forward to another visit some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bright open homely feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Double bed. We are used to a King size. Just nit picking now.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
So pleased you liked it and enjoyed your stay - we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milliesmu...
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb first class cottage..absolutely Perfect!!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our stay at Aberdeen cottage exceeded our expectations, beautiful immaculate holiday home with everything we could possibly wish for. Gavin & Sue were excellent from the get go and made the booking so pleasant with great communications. I would not hesitate to rec'mend this gorgeous house to anyone. The large fenced garden had the most spectacular views and I spent most of my mornings sat outside taking in the scenery. The cottage is located close to the village but with the feeling of complete privacy. Gavin & Sue thought of everything right down to a little welcome pack which was such a nice touch. My only regret is that we had to leave....I can say in all honesty this was one of the nicest relaxing holidays I have ever had..Thank you so much Gavin & Sue.xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I totally loved everything about the cottage...beautiful
Liked least: Having to come home!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Aberdeen Cottage, the perfect Highland getaway”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We found Aberdeen Cottage to be a most comfortable holiday home, it is very well equipped everything we needed was catered for.
The lovely day room was a real feature of our stay as we had wonderful weather we were able to open the large double doors and fully enjoy the garden and further views to the mountains behind.
We highly recommend Aberdeen Cottage.
Thank you to the housekeeper for the very enjoyable pack of local goodies.
Sheila & Christopher

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location was great, with Ballater and shops just a short walk away
Liked least: no problems with anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thanks for your kind words. Look forward to seeing you again sometime. Gavin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakkeruit
Sneek, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great & charming cottage and location!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We've had a wonderful stay! Beautiful scenery and a cottage with all comfort a person needs. It was also nice that we could sit outside and enjoy the birds etc. Great for walkings, nearby the cottage. And Ballater was lovely, juist at walking distance.
Gavin: thanks for having us and the answers by email!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thanks for your kind review of your stay at Aberdeen Cottage. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Gavin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suebilly
1 review
“Comfortable, relaxing and a great location”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was the third time we have stayed in Aberdeen Cottage, it is a wonderful house in a great location! The new extension is a real bonus as it is now more spacious but still very cosy. Gavin & Sue the owners have thought carefully about what people need while staying there. The location is particularly good with almost everything being within a short walk. We will definitely be back for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed another holiday at Aberdeen Cottage and that you appreciated the new extension.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hank L
Fussa, Japan
1 review
“Perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

From the very beginning Gavin was very helpful. The whole process was very smooth. House was a perfect (and comfortable) place to stay for exploring the highlands. We plan on staying there again in the future.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Glad that you had a good time - your are quite right, it is a fantastic area. See you again. Gavin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing